![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Picromite 5.05.04: Buster + Pi4
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
led-bloon![]() Senior Member ![]() Joined: 21/12/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 207 |
@volhout When you ssh into the Pi try: raspberrypi.local port 22 (this is assuming the hostname is raspberrypi -> default) Then the IP is irrelevant. led Miss you George |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3319 |
Can you point to a link which explains this? I had a pi-ZW to which for some reason I couldn't connect using the headless wifi process, so I set it up (on the SD card) for serial console using header pins and connected via putty (and I was then able to set up the wifi). But the serial link didn't give me an IP to connect to (so far as I know). That's why I'm interested to see in more detail what you did. Edited 2019-10-15 22:36 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4860 |
Hi Lizby, Here is the post I used: https://desertbot.io/blog/headless-pi-zero-ssh-access-over-usb-windows There are several others, just google "pi zero headless USB" describing the same. It did not work for me immediately, until I configured this new network port to "shared between 2 computers". Probably because I did not install avahi (Linux) or Bonjour (windows). Currently I (Linux) check the new network port with ifconfig. The new network port always has 10.42.0.1 on my laptop. Your milage may differ... Then I use nmap to scan for the pi zero an note it's IP address nmap -sS -p 22 10.42.0.0/24 Then I ssh into it using it's IP address. ssh pi@10.42.0.xx password "raspberry" I think the above runs automatically when you install avahi/Bonjour, so you can ssh into the pi using ssh raspberrypi.local I hope you can use this... Volhout Edited 2019-10-16 01:17 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3319 |
Good link--thanks for that. Now I just have to figure out exactly what I would want to do with a Pi-zero not on my network. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4860 |
The pi zero is full of surprizes. Just discovered that the analog video output is enabled when there is no hdmi connected. I had picture on an old TV. Terminal screen. Lets see if we can find a keyboard, an a wired ethernet interface, or wifi dongle... PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
ceptimus Senior Member ![]() Joined: 05/07/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 130 |
I'm running V 5.05.04 on a Pi Zero W using the HDMI screen. print MM.Device$, MM.Ver Pi-cromite running on H/W version: 9000C1 5.0504 I've noticed a couple of things in the Editor (EDIT) The F3 (Find) function works first time with the prompt: Find (Use SHIFT-F3 to repeat): ...but Shift-F3 actually makes the program RUN (same as F2) rather than doing a 'repeat previous search'. I also tried the F6 key (what the DOS version of repeat search uses) but that does nothing. Not a major problem, but unlike other 'mite editors, pressing Home twice doesn't take me to the top of the file, nor End twice to the bottom. |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4860 |
Hi Picromasters, After several evenings trying to connect my pi zero to the internet, wired, and wireless, just to get pigpio installed, I am on the edge of giving up. Tried Raspbian lite first, and bought a wifi dongle. Drivers where missing. Bought a wired usb-ethernet dongle. Drivers match, but get no ip adress when connecting to router. Folowed several threads that deal with modifications of /etc/dhclcd.conf.. tried fixed ip, nothing worked. Today installed noobs, and full raspbian. Again, no success. In dmesg saw that ethernet swiched on/ off carrier constantly. Tried powered hub, no succes. Bought 3A usb power supply, no success. All in all I spend some 50 dollars on this 5 dollar pi, that should only run MMbasic headless. Is there someone who can provide me with working image of buster lite with pigpio (and MMbasic)? I will be gratefull for ever. Volhout. PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
PeterB Guru ![]() Joined: 05/02/2015 Location: AustraliaPosts: 655 |
G'Day Volhout. I have an advantage over you blokes. I have no idea what I am doing. But this worked for me. I could send you my SD card or a copy if you like. Peter guymcswain/pigpio-client Code Issues 0 Pull requests 0 Projects 1 Wiki Security Insights Document your code Every project on GitHub comes with a version-controlled wiki to give your documentation the high level of care it deserves. It’s easy to create well-maintained, Markdown or rich text documentation alongside your code. See pricing for teams and enterprises Install and configure pigpiod Guy McSwain edited this page on May 9 · 8 revisions Install from Raspbian package manager sudo apt-get update sudo apt-get install pigpio pigpiod -v This last command display the version of pigpio installed. If not the latest … Install latest version If not already installed, you'll need the build-essential package sudo apt-get install build-essential Next, run the following shell commands and grab a cup of coffee: rm master.zip sudo rm -rf pigpio-master wget https://github.com/joan2937/pigpio/archive/master.zip unzip master.zip cd pigpio-master make sudo make install Running sudo pigpiod -s 1 \ # GPIO sampling interval in microseconds -f \ # disable pipe interface (ie PIGS) -n 10.0.0.11 # connect exclusively to this client This will fork pigpiod and run it in the background. A better way is to run pigpiod as a service so you never have to attach a terminal to the RPi controlling your IO. Running as systemd service wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/joan2937/pigpio/master/util/pigpiod.service sudo cp pigpiod.service /etc/systemd/system sudo systemctl enable pigpiod.service sudo systemctl start pigpiod.service Henceforth, pigpiod will start and run whenever the system is rebooted. Note, Raspbian ships pigpiod.service with remote connetions disabled (-l option). You will want to edit the service file to remove the -l option and add your other preferred pigpiod configuration options. See all pigpiod parameter descriptions here. Here's an example of what I'm currently running: [Unit] Description=Pigpio daemon After=network.target syslog.target StartLimitIntervalSec=60 StartLimitBurst=5 StartLimitAction=reboot [Service] Type=simple ExecStartPre=/sbin/sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_time=300 ExecStartPre=/sbin/sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_intvl=60 ExecStartPre=/sbin/sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_probes=5 # Don't fork pigpiod ExecStart=/usr/local/bin/pigpiod -g ExecStop= Restart=always RestartSec=10 [Install] WantedBy=multi-user.target Pages 4 Home Install and configure pigpio daemon APIs Error Messages Clone this wiki locally © 2019 GitHub, Inc. Terms Privacy Security Status Help |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4860 |
Hi PeterB Thans for the procedure you wrote down. I cannot perform this procedure since the first "apt-get" needs internet. My problem is I cant connect my pi zero to internet. That is a problem for pigpio package. MMbasic can be copied onto the card, but pigpio needs to be installed. I tried downloading the zip for pigpio and install it manually, but it requires also other packages that must be installed from the internet. I am not sure what capabilities you have to clone your card. Simplest would be to use any linux system and us "dd" to make a ".img" file and put that on dropbox or so. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
PeterB Guru ![]() Joined: 05/02/2015 Location: AustraliaPosts: 655 |
Sorry, I should be more careful. I think I just plugged my OTG cable into a USB to ethernet cable to my modem and it just worked but it was a couple of weeks ago and I forget these things. I do have a linux machine (and zorin) so I will see what can be done. Failing that, if you are not in too much of a rush I will send you my sd card. I'm not sure I will ever use my pi stuff. Peter |
||||
Tinine Guru ![]() Joined: 30/03/2016 Location: United KingdomPosts: 1646 |
Quick question re: Picro-mite: I haven't really followed because I'm not crazy about the relatively slow-booting of an OS but I remember, ages ago, mention that serial comm's were a bit flaky. Is this still the case? What is the maximum BAUD? |
||||
PeterB Guru ![]() Joined: 05/02/2015 Location: AustraliaPosts: 655 |
Volhout. I did warn you that I am not particularly clever. I have had a quick look at dd etc. If it is OK with you, how about I put all my pi zero stuff in a box and send it to you. I am fairly sure I will never get into pi so the stuff will sit in a box for ever. I got the stuff as part of my DUMB DISPLAY thread which has come to an end. If you pm your address I will see what I can do. Peter |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4860 |
Hi PeterB, Thank you for your help. But please wait a little. I found someone in the city I live in, who has a PI3. I will try to use his pi3 to install pigpio on my sd card. Then put it back into my pi zero.... I have confidence that works. Volhout P.S. I am overwhelmed by your offer to send a complete pi all around the globe (Australia - Europe) just to get me up and running. PeterB, you're a nice man. PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
goc30![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 12/04/2017 Location: FrancePosts: 435 |
Hi to all If you have some problems to install mmbasic, don't forget: on strech, new mmbasic don't work (it work only on buster), you need to install older versus (2018-12-09) and before re-install Pigpio (you must also delete ".option" file) |
||||
PeterB Guru ![]() Joined: 05/02/2015 Location: AustraliaPosts: 655 |
V. my offer is still open but I am bothered that you are unable to connect to the internet. So, I went through the procedure again to remind myself. To Install mmbasic on RPI ZERO Down load raspbian buster lite to win7 desktop Format SD card. I used SD Card Formatter. Use balenaEtcher to burn buster to SD. Insert SD into RPI and test. Move SD to linux machine. Download mmbasic .zip Add pi/micromite folders to home on SD. Open micromite and move mmbasic.zip to it. Unzip mmbasic. Move SD to RPI. Connect RPI to internet using: USB OTG cable to USB to Ethernet cable (which has 3 USB ports) Ethernet cable to MODEM. Plug in keyboard. Follow instructions from my earlier post. I think they came from Peter Mather. goc30 says mmbasic and pigpio should be in the same folder micromite. And just show you learn something every day, I know what pigpio means. You must be almost there (or mad ![]() Peter |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4860 |
Hi PeterB, With help of the Pi3, I managed to update the buster_lite image with pigpio. The version that get's installed is 71 (7.1 I guess). Copied mmbasic onto it. mmbasic started without any error codes. Tested some pio pins with a simple blink program, all fine. set pi zero up for autologin and start up mmbasic at poweron. I am testing the image now, if all works I will post the image so all benefit. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
PeterB Guru ![]() Joined: 05/02/2015 Location: AustraliaPosts: 655 |
G'Day Volhout As usual, I am confused. That's my normal state. I don't understand what the pi3 was needed for but if it works who cares? I suspect I am now stuck with an ice cream container full of pi bits. Peter |
||||
PeterB Guru ![]() Joined: 05/02/2015 Location: AustraliaPosts: 655 |
G'Day Volhout again I think I understand why you needed a pi3. You needed to connect a keyboard and the pi zero only has 1 USB connector. The device I used is below and the bloke handed it to me with the words "you need it for a pi zero". I do wonder if a USB hub would have done just as well ![]() The pi cost $10 and the cable $25 but as I tell my wife "If I played golf or had a mistress it would cost more" USB 2.0 NETWORK ADAPTOR WITH 3 PORT HUB Cat. Qty 1+ Qty 4+ Qty 10+ USB 2.0 YN8407 $24.95 $22.35 $19.70 USB 3.0 Type-C YN8409 $39.95 $35.90 $31.90 Peter the slow learner. |
||||
PeterB Guru ![]() Joined: 05/02/2015 Location: AustraliaPosts: 655 |
Good morning All I have finished playing with PI and now have several bits in an ice cream container and they will stay on the floor unless somebody wants them. If somebody wants to get started with RPI ZERO this is your chance. I will post them for free but Australia will be cheapest. PM me if you are interested. Peter |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4860 |
Hi Peter, Sorry to replying so late. It was due to Being frustrated with the pi zero. I thought I had it all worked out, and it did work. But at the next reboot the pi refused to start. In my head a fuse burned and I put the pi aside in an ice container, and I am not going to use of anymore with raspbian and mmbasic. The thing refuses to cooperate. It was all in all an expensive disapointment. We both have an ice container with pi part. And both are disappointed. Lets drink to that.! PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |