![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Armmite H7: Full release & documentation
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9483 |
5000ms pause generates the same error. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6219 |
Try this modified program: It uses DIN instead of INTH. You have to hold your paw on the button long enough because I only test once per cycle. It does mean you can use pin 7 as an input when using autorun but not as an interrupt. Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
KeepIS![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 13/10/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1828 |
I tried it like that initially, BTW "option autorun on" should not be in the listing, that was a mistake by me when posting. Changing from pin 7 to another pin makes no difference. Exactly the same error. I also just had a total lock-up, MM.edit was transferring the small file when it lost the connection, after that it would fail to do any transfer of a program and totally loose the connection, managed to catch an error about failing to erase. After that nothing I could do would allow MM.Edit to connect - full reboot of the PC and all. So I tried typing NEW in Tera Term and it bought up an error "failed to erase flash memory" Had to reprogram the dam chip to get it to work again - something strange going on here? NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks |
||||
KeepIS![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 13/10/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1828 |
Could someone load ST-LINK and do a target file compare with memory, there is a block in red that is different, all 0 instead of F, BTW I did a full chip erase before re loading the Hex file. Perhaps it's normal but I would like to be sure. NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6219 |
There is the one block as you describe so I wouldn't worry about that. How are you powering it? I have external power. Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9483 |
Jim - your code works. Only problem is, that now CTRL-C won't stop it, and reset just autoruns the code again, and now there is no way to stop the running code. I had to hold the USER button and press RESET to get the ARM-mite back again. With a simple do/loop code and AUTORUN ON, I get the same problem - you can't CTRL-C break the running program, and the only option is a full reset via the USER and RESET buttons - which completely wipes the program in memory, so this is a bit of a problem. ![]() ...unless CTRL-C does not work in the ARM-mite? Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
KeepIS![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 13/10/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1828 |
Thanks Jim, that is the same as mine, Grogster, that was the initial problem. BTW just powering it via USB at the moment, heavy duty USB cable and the ports on the PC are high current, above normal spec. I'm going to do more tomorrow, very tired and sore at the moment so just on the laptop in the house for the evening. NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks |
||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9483 |
Yes, you are right - you did mention that at the top of this page. Sorry, my eyes must have skipped over that bit. However, we are both seeing the same problems, so that is a good thing, as it means it is not your board or computer etc. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
KeepIS![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 13/10/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1828 |
Yes, nice to have others willing to test so quickly. Fortunately I have two boards but I'm leaving one in it's virgin state until I get everything running, very handy to compare. NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6219 |
Grogster, You could have stopped my code by holding down the user button long enough. I agree that not being able to ctrl-C to stop is not good. One for Peter who is going to be pleased that there are now a lot more testers! Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10066 |
Thanks for the testing and feedback. I'll make a change so that OPTION AUTORUN give an error if included in a program. It does a write to 128kBytes of flash whenever you change an option which takes time and could cause all sorts of issues so it is better if I block it. Ctrl-C works perfectly when autorun is on - the program aborts as requested. BUT it then runs from the beginning again ![]() This may be tricky to fix as the code appears to be correct so there is something different about the STM32 that I haven't understood. I'll fix this once I understand it. In the meantime testing a pin and then exiting is a good workround. |
||||
KeepIS![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 13/10/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1828 |
It's a shame there is no way to make Ctrl-C turn Autorun off, I've had issues in the past with the MM-100 in some cases. Thanks for the great work you are doing - I'm not worried about spending lots of time testing before I get to put it to some real use, it will be worth it in the end and nothing compared to your work time and knowledge needed in coding and porting this. Mike. NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10066 |
OK found it - try this 2018-09-25_191711_Armmite1.3.zip |
||||
KeepIS![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 13/10/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1828 |
SetPin 7,inth,aa1 SetPin 137,dout Do Pause 1000 Pin(137) = 0 Pause 1000 Pin(137) = 1 Loop Sub aa1 Print "end" End End Sub why does autorun cause an error on restart but the program runs fine when run is typed at the prompt. error is label not found. Mike NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10066 |
In technical jargon it is called: a bug Try this: 2018-09-25_202858_Armmite1.3.zip |
||||
KeepIS![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 13/10/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1828 |
Thanks, I'll download the new version in the morning. NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks |
||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9483 |
While playing around with the ARMmite tonight, I find that the editor does odd things quite often. As you are typing, it will suddenly move to the next line and you typing continues. If you try to backspace, the cursor does not move, but typing another character moves the cursor along. Pressing F1 to save works, but then the code is corrupted if you go back into the editor. I am using Rob's GFXterm. It might be the problem. I will try with TeraTerm tomorrow, and also update to the latest you posted here. Has anyone else with an ARMmite seen that kind of odd behaviour in the editor? I am treating the ARMmite as an Alpha release at this stage, so I know there will be bugs to chase. But you have created a very powerful MM, Pete! ![]() Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
CaptainBoing![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/09/2016 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2139 |
Hello Peter, hope you are well. 2018-09-25_223439_code.zip I have been playing with the ARMmite for a day and I left a bit of code running just to exercise it and it throws an "out of memory" error on a Function define line, as shown below: > RUN 946685842 01-01-2000 00:17:22 946685843 01-01-2000 00:17:23 946685844 01-01-2000 00:17:24 946685845 01-01-2000 00:17:25 ... 946685962 01-01-2000 00:19:22 946685963 01-01-2000 00:19:23 946685964 01-01-2000 00:19:24 [218] Function Now(opt As Integer) As string ' d$ is a dummy string to make the function syntax work nicely Error: Not enough memory > seems to run for around two minutes each time. Code is attached anything you need me to do please say. regards h |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10066 |
Oops: One optimisation too far ![]() Please find attached V5.04.31 which rolls up the various bugs found since 5.04.30 2018-09-25_234603_Armmite1.3.zip STILL NOT CORRECT, MORE WORK REQUIRED - COMPILER BUG!!! |
||||
CaptainBoing![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/09/2016 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2139 |
Hi Peter. same error at the same spot - sorry. ![]() always on the 1020th attempt if that helps, odd because it isn't doing anything spectacular. ![]() The below is simply a tight loop to print the Now() return value, no delay ... 01-01-2000 00:19:44 01-01-2000 00:19:44 01-01-2000 00:19:44 01-01-2000 00:19:44 [219] Function Now(opt As Integer) As string Error: Not enough memory > I have pared the code right back to just the following: do Print now() loop Function Now(opt As Integer) As string If opt=0 Then Now=Date$+" "+Time$ Else Now=Right$(Date$,4)+Mid$(Date$,3,4)+Left$(Date$,2)+" "+Time$ EndIf End Function |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |