![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite Alpha Firmware
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7464 |
Don't feel bad about it - it works very nicely now. :) (Gets that feeling of been there, done that...) Edit: And FLASH ERASE ALL got implemented too. :) Edited 2021-06-02 05:16 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10000 |
a10 PicomiteV5.07.00a10.zip SETPIN n, DOUT/DIN PIN(n)= ?PIN(n) all now working for simple digital I/O n can be a pin number (1-41), a variable, or a GP id (e.g. GP25) pin 41/GP25 is the LED. By default this is the heartbeat but it can be controlled by setting SETPIN 41,DOUT or SETPIN GP25,DOUT To return to use as the heartbeat use SETPIN 41,heartbeat or setpin GP25,heartbeat |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6211 |
Now is probable a good time to warn users: ALL IO pins are strictly 3.3V only Just like the RPi. No 5V tolerant pins. Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3299 |
Flashing a pin working: PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.00a10 Copyright 2011-2021 Geoff Graham Copyright 2016-2021 Peter Mather > setpin 21,dout Here2 8, 21 > do: pin(21)=1: pause 1000: pin(21)=0: pause 1000: loop Out of curiosity, what is "Here2" supposed to indicate? PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Plasmamac![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 31/01/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 570 |
Same here ![]() btw : love the flash list with the first line . Plasma |
||||
Plasmamac![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 31/01/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 570 |
setpin (GP25,dout) print pin(GP25) schows :268659952 Plasma |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6211 |
Strange number formatting: (redone to make it easier to see the problem). dim float x,y,z x = 5 y = 0.000001 z = x-y print z x = 50 y = 0.000001 z = x-y print z x = 5 y = 0.000001 z = x+y print z x = 50 y = 0.000001 z = x+y print z > RUN 4.999999 49./99999 5.000001 50.000001 Jim Edited 2021-06-02 13:41 by TassyJim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10000 |
a11 PicomiteV5.07.00a11.zip fixes reported bugs Correct, and also the Pico doesn't support open collector outputs NB timer now accurate to the uSec from a10 onwards Also remember new alphas are likely to bugger program stored in flash as I add new commands and the tokens change Edited 2021-06-02 17:19 by matherp |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6211 |
No open-collector is a bugger. I see lots of external transistors/fets Do you have any insight into the interrupt capabilities of the IO pins? Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7464 |
If working on a breadboard connect Vbus and Vsys with care - they carry the input voltage. 3v3 can give 300mA output. Also, watch the IO current capacity on the Pico. The *total* IO output current is only 50mA, so don't plaster the poor little thing in 20mA LEDs. 3mA is plenty for most LEDs now. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10000 |
Just about to play with this - what are you after? OC you can simulate by switching between output low and input but the 3.3V limit is absolute |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4815 |
removed Edited 2021-06-02 18:02 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9458 |
Got mine going easy-peasy. The setup idea of just copying the UF2 file to the 'Flash drive' that the PICO shows up as, is pure elegance. ![]() Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7464 |
Yep - that has to be the easiest firmware upgrade of anything. Bar the token changes during development it doesn't affect what's stored in flash either. It's great. :) If you leave Tera Term connected throughout, on the command screen, it simply restarts after the upgrade and prints the new message. Adding a reset button is nice. Hold it down, press Bootsel & release. Ready for programming. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9458 |
I have also tried removing uUSB plug and replacing - restarts fine. I note that some have had issues here. I am removing the plug fast, and replacing it fast - PICO restarts fine every time. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9458 |
TT works just fine, but GFXterm(my go-to term) refuses to talk to to the PICOmite in any way at all. No matte the baud-rate. This is interesting. TT and GFXterm are essentially terminal emulators, so I would have expected both to respond. Rob? (GFXterm writer) Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10000 |
a12 PicomiteV5.07.00a12.zip MEMORY should now work analogue input available on pins GP26,GP27, and GP28 (setpin n,ain) This is based on the setting of temporary OPTION VCC which defaults to 3.3V ? PIN(TEMP) to read the die temperature of the chip FLASH ERASE ALL is useful for new releases MMEDIT didn't either until Jim did something Edited 2021-06-02 20:34 by matherp |
||||
disco4now![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 18/12/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 965 |
SDCARD (A12 version) When FILES or ? MM.INFO$(SDCARD) are entered a second time then the second one fails with Error : Pin 4 is reserved on startup. If SDCARD is present its OK. You need to do an OPTION RESET to recover from it. > ? mm.info$(SDCARD) Not present > ? mm.info$(SDCARD) Error : Pin 4 is reserved on startup > option reset > files Error : SD Card not found > files Error : Pin 4 is reserved on startup > Edited 2021-06-02 20:53 by disco4now Latest F4 Latest H7 FotS |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4815 |
@Peter, Do you use version control. Can you make a delta between a1 and a2 ? I am currently spending time to find a cause for the pi not running with anything newer than a1, without knowing in what area's to look. What did you change ? I am offering to send the board over to you. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10000 |
PM sent. No version control during alpha phase - sorry |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |