Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 14:17 12 May 2025 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Armmite H7: Full release & documentation

     Page 5 of 13    
Author Message
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1834
Posted: 08:00am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post


  Quote  I searched for a large clear connector pin-out layout but haven't found any as yet

The manual for the Nucleo has good diagrams. You need "UM1974 - User manual STM32-144 boards"


Thanks but I already have that, I specificity wanted the two edge connectors in high detail, I took a photo and cropped the two edges, I wanted to add the processor pin number to the labelled edge connectors, all done and now I'm ready to get everything fitted up and experiment with a lot more ease.

Thanks.
NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 08:12am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  CaptainBoing said   I have had a couple of hang-ups from the terminal session during testing which I put down to USB problems, dodgy cables getting nudged etc. seen it all before. But tonight I have determined these are actually crashes.


hmmm... the plop thickens. I set it all going last night and turned everything off and went to bed, this morning it is still blinking the red led.

Only difference this time is no terminal session connected to the USB (unlikely to be a problem and all the other stuff turned off. So now I am suspecting power. That might also explain the total lock up with reset doing nothing... maybe... if I stare long enough at it.

going to leave a terminal running but with minimal other stuff on, then turn on things one at a time... I suspect an LED light connected to a hub - which doesn't explain any power issues on a direct USB connection to my PC, but maybe both are on the limit. This bad boy can ask for a lot of juice (600mA+)

Let's see what we find

h
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 08:26am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
Note, if you use an external 5V supply to the Nucleo (details in the manual) you can disconnect the ST-link USB connector and it will keep runnning. You can then also connect a USB/UART to the console pins (PD8,PD9) and communicate with the board like a normal Micromite.


this is the way I would go long term, I use a standard console connector with the USB thingie at the PC end standardized on a 3.5mm stereo jack for everything on the other. Means I can admin the devices with my phone too.

Does the console output get "cloned" to PD8/9 by the firmware or are they taken to the ST-Link board on the nucleo?

cheers
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10068
Posted: 08:41am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Does the console output get "cloned" to PD8/9 by the firmware or are they taken to the ST-Link board on the nucleo?


They are the console connections - you can remove SB5 and SB6 if you wish which disconnects them completely from ST-LINK but a USB/UART seems to work fine with the USB unplugged
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 08:43am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks, I looked through the nucleo doc for this info but I must be blind or something.

cheers
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1834
Posted: 08:47am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Apology if I'm cross referencing incorrectly, in the Manual Should RS be Pin-57 (PG1) and not PG11?


SSD1963, 16-bit ILI9341 Connections
Touch and SDcard connections as above
DB0 Pin-141 (PE0) DB8 Pin-59 (PE8) WR Pin-125 (PG10)
DB1 Pin-142 (PE1) DB9 Pin-60 (PE9) RS Pin-57 (PG11)
DB2 Pin-1 (PE2) DB10 Pin-63 (PE10) RESET Pin-127 (PG12)
DB3 Pin-2 (PE3) DB11 Pin-64 (PE11) RD Pin-128 (PG13) *
NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 08:51am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  CaptainBoing said   Thanks, I looked through the nucleo doc for this info but I must be blind or something.


checked again, section 6.9... dammit
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10068
Posted: 08:51am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  in the Manual Should RS be Pin-57 (PG1) and not PG11?


Yes: I'll fix it in the manual - thanks

  Quote  checked again, section 6.9... dammit


I use the circuit diagrams for this sort of thing - easier to find the info neededEdited by matherp 2018-09-27
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 09:20am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Morning Peter.

Got another odd one for you. Isn't a problem but the corrupt character might signal something darker...

Try running this tiddly bit of code:

dim integer n,dir

n=0, dir=0



Obviously the error is the comma on the last line but whence comes:




EDIT: just tried this on a MkII 44-pin jobby and it does the same - this looks like a long lived wrinkle in the root MMBasic code so @Geoff also

Edited by CaptainBoing 2018-09-27
 
Paul_L
Guru

Joined: 03/03/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 769
Posted: 09:34am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I don't think you can use the comma as a statement delimiter, you have to use a colon.

Try this:


dim n%, dir%
n=0:dir=0


Of course, the assignment is redundant. The dim command will probably automatically assign zero to integer variables.

Paul in NY
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 10:12am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Paul_L

you are correct, of course, but that is not the point I am illustrating. The error was correctly picked up but the message contained a corrupt character (should have been an "=")

h
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10068
Posted: 10:42am 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  The error was correctly picked up but the message contained a corrupt character (should have been an "=")


Definitely one for Geoff (to ignore?). I suspect this is because the "=" is tokenised and the error message is printing the token. If I'm correct this may be too difficult to fix to be worth the effort.
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 12:09pm 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

yes, Small matter, so long as you are both aware.
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1834
Posted: 11:41pm 26 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Two questions about SD card readers.

Q1:
All the pictures I've looked at for the SSD1963 5" and 7" (including Geoffs pictures) have small surface mount pads for an IC next to the SD card slot, but no IC is mounted there, I assume that the Card Slot works like this with the Armmite_H7?

Q2:
I know the interface SW was changed along the way and my next question is, will the small Arduino SD card boards work with the Armmite_H7? If not, is there a specific card reader I need. I know this may have been mentioned before but I can't find it among the many posts.

Mike.
NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6221
Posted: 12:02am 27 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The missing IC on the displays is not needed for the SDcard reader.
There are some displays that have the touch panel and IC missing and I wouldn't want to end up with one of them.

The SDcard uses SPI so any arduino module or similar will be OK. I have some with nothing except pullup resistors and others with a voltage regulator and even an IC. (The IC might be a level-shifter, I haven't looked) Some have the pinouts for 4 bit interface while others only have the SPI pins available. All seem to work OK. My preference is for the full size cards and an adapter for the microSD. It suits fumbling fingers better.

The only problem I have is with a 4.3inch display but I am sure that it is the display PCB that is causing grief. It has issues on my MMX as well.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1834
Posted: 03:12am 27 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim, that confirms everything. I have the correct displays, both 5" and 7" and have used all on the MM+ with touch, just never tried the SD holder on the LCD's before.

Mike.
NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1834
Posted: 04:47am 27 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just tried hooking up the console, external power, PD8- 77, PD9 - 78 and GND connected (RX,TX,GND), using a CP210x, I have a few, tried another, no go.

Problem, If I press the reset button I get the CPYW info from the armmite received into the terminal window, so RX is fine, however it does not respond to anything sent from the terminal program?

Checked leads, swapped, same, USB CN1 on H7 has nothing plugged in.

Thoughts.

Mike.



NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1834
Posted: 05:34am 27 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Fixed - I removed SB6 and everything runs, looks like some boards or USB-TTL boards don't like the link to CN1.Edited by KeepIS 2018-09-28
NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1834
Posted: 06:45am 27 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just tried an SD card - used PG2 for the CS line and all others as per the latest manual.

Set option sdcard 87

Type files and I get SD card not present.

Option list shows:

OPTION SDCARD 87, why the comma, does it want a card detect pin, there is none on the reader.

SD reader is an Arduino compatible running from either 5v or 3.3, I'm running from 3.3v.

SD card is a 4gb used in the MM-100. Where have I screwed up?
Edited by KeepIS 2018-09-28
NANO Inverter: Full download - Only Hex Ver 8.1Ks
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2139
Posted: 06:55am 27 Sep 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Check section 6.12 of the nucleo user guide here and the circuit diagram figure 16 at top middle.

The console output comes from the processor and SB5 & 6 take it to the ST-Link daughter board. These two links sever that connection.

With TX (out from the processor, it would work as the line is split between the morpho connector and the ST-Link virtual com port (USB) controller. But the same it true of the input, so your input to the RX line of the processor would be fighting with the same line from the ST-Link.

hth

h
 
     Page 5 of 13    
Print this page
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia.
© JAQ Software 2025