Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:48 10 May 2025 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite V6.00.02 release candidates - all versions

     Page 9 of 44    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 07:59am 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  where I specify other pins (CS, RD, WR)  ?


manual - page 59

  Quote  Function FIELD$ does not always return the right field values. I do not have any logical explanation for the result.

Space is not a valid delimiter. This should be specified in the manual. From Geoff's code

   while(p[i] == ' ') i++;                                         // trim leading spaces

Edited 2025-03-22 18:18 by matherp
 
toml_12953
Guru

Joined: 13/02/2015
Location: United States
Posts: 390
Posted: 02:18pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  phil99 said  
  Quote  OPTION MILLISECONDS doesn't appear in OPTION LIST
I think it is a temporary option that does not get saved.
In a program put it near the start. If you want it all the time put it in Sub MM.StartUp.


In the manual there's a check mark in the Permanent column. It's not a big deal, though.
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 529
Posted: 03:49pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I may found a bug...

Pico 2 latest Firmware

OPTION AUTORUN ON (I think this may be important)

I was logging some data into a logfile.txt and tried to open it with:


load "logfile.txt"


To then edit / view the file in the Editor but ...  all crashed and

Error: Too many labels - erasing program

appears all the time, I tried to reflash (even with older versions, same text and I can not quit this with CTRL + C ... So the device is in an endless loop of this error.

I can't find the clear flash file to ressurect the pico 2 ... I thought it is always in the final release on geoff.net.. But it isn't... Can someone point me to the file please?

Greetings
Daniel
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 03:58pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You are trying to LOAD a text file which MMbasic then tries to parse as Basic and blows up.
To edit a txt file use EDIT file.txt

Moral of the tale - don't try and LOAD arbitrary files
 
twofingers
Guru

Joined: 02/06/2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1526
Posted: 03:59pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Amnesie said  ... Can someone point me to the file please?...


2024-11-03_203836_clear_flash RP2350.zip
Regards
Michael
causality ≠ correlation ≠ coincidence
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 529
Posted: 04:06pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  You are trying to LOAD a text file which MMbasic then tries to parse as Basic and blows up.
To edit a txt file use EDIT file.txt

Moral of the tale - don't try and LOAD arbitrary files


Yes Peter I know (really), this was just a typo accident - my fingers were faster than the brain   ! I really wanted to write "edit"... I just wanted to mention this here, because I think one should be able to get out of this endless error loop. Now I cleared the flash and everything is fine again. But maybe you could prevent from the endless loop (the error warning is ok, but the errorloop is problematic, without clear flash file, the Pico is bricked.  

Thank you Michael for the clear flash file!  

Greetings
Daniel
Edited 2025-03-23 02:11 by Amnesie
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 04:11pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

As I've said  multiple times it is impossible to trap every possible situation.
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 529
Posted: 04:20pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  As I've said  multiple times it is impossible to trap every possible situation.


Okay, understood. But maybe adding the clear flash file to the final releases would be helpful  

Greetings
Daniel
 
homa

Guru

Joined: 05/11/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 459
Posted: 08:05pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  I've updated RC6 if you want to download. This includes a much better implementation of diagonal line drawing with a width > 1.
Prior to this release diagonal lines could only be 1 pixel wide. This version implements the ability to specify the line width. Previously horizontal and vertical lines could have a defined width and the x1 and y1 coordinate define the top-left pixel of the thick line. i.e. the line is to the right of the specified position or below it on the screen.

This makes no sense for thick diagonal lines where the line should be centered on the origin pixel. To maintain compatibility with existing code you specify this by setting the width as a negative number as in the example below.
This will display a clock in colour on the RP2350 but only in black and white on the RP2040.
...

I love this addition! I can live with the negative value as an idea, but would prefer a breaking change and rather see the negative value for the old behaviour (just my humble opinion).

With the antialiased version of line aa, the width already worked, but unfortunately the display is still not as nice and rectangular as it is now with the normal line version.
Will there be an improvement here?
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2415
Posted: 09:11pm 22 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  OPTION AUTORUN ON (I think this may be important)... and I can not quit this with CTRL + C ... So the device is in an endless loop of this error.


The solution is - don't use OPTION AUTORUN ON.
This is safer, it gives you time to use CTRL-C.
Sub MM.Startup
  Pause 2000
  Run
End Sub
 
goc30

Guru

Joined: 12/04/2017
Location: France
Posts: 435
Posted: 01:20am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
  Quote  where I specify other pins (CS, RD, WR)  ?


manual - page 59




Your documentation is unusable because it's outdated, imprecise, incomplete, and sometimes downright false (example: managing the 2350B with SSD1963).

And stop your arrogant tone; it's tiring, impolite, and pretentious.

Learn to create reliable documentation and you'll be able to play the role of an IT expert.
I have 50 years of experience in industrial IT, and yet I'm still learning something new every day.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 08:34am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You asked a question

  Quote  where I specify other pins (CS, RD, WR)  ?


I took the time to look up in the manual where it was answered and referenced it for you.

As always we update the manuals at the point of a new release. I included new functionality to support the RP2350B using different data pins for the SSD1963 in the new code for this comming release so that isn't in the manual.
I took the time to scrape the beta thread to include a summary of the changes in the first post on this thread - yes my example had an extra comma - but the definition was correct. The question on the other pins was fully covered in the manual.
I do this for fun  with no financial motive and don't have the time to write an essay in response to every question and I don't pretend to be an expert in documentation. If you don't like my answers don't ask any more questions.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7503
Posted: 09:26am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@goc30 (and others who may get confused with the manuals)

You have to understand that what we are seeing on this forum are all pre-release versions until a final release is done. As such any, or even all, of the commands are subject to change. The only time they can be regarded as stable is after a final release, at which point the manual is updated. It isn't practical and, in fact, would be the wrong thing to do to continually update the manual during the development stages.

I have tried to do "catch-up" files during development and I can assure you that it's not a lot of fun when you hit a point where there is a sudden surge - things can change two or three times daily.

If you want a stable release that follows the manual then please don't get the pre-release versions at all. Don't even consider it. The manual *will not* be accurate for those. :)  During the alpha, beta and release candidate stages this forum *is* your manual and it's up to you to find the information in it.

Also, please note that matherp does not write the manuals. When he is satisfied with a final release he passes any changes through to Geoff, who handles that side. I'm sure there must be a fair amount of work for both of them at this stage. This is one of the reasons why there is a separate thread for comments on the manuals.

Thanks.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru

Joined: 05/04/2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2927
Posted: 09:28am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Peter,

I have some spare time today and want to hook one of your RP2350B DIL modules to a 9” SSD display.

Please can you give me a quick steer on the pin connections; and confirmation that the latest firmware version number is stillRC6 (unless you have plans today for another ?).

Many thanks for any reference to an SSD connection guide…
 
bfwolf
Regular Member

Joined: 03/01/2025
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
Posted: 09:31am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  goc30 said  
Your documentation is unusable because it's outdated, imprecise, incomplete, and sometimes downright false (example: managing the 2350B with SSD1963).

And stop your arrogant tone; it's tiring, impolite, and pretentious.
...


@goc30:
I think your comment is, to say the least, "a bit inappropriate."

You should show a little more understanding for Peter and Geoff!
Picomite and MMBasic are "leisure projects." These are two dedicated people who sacrifice their free time to enthusiastically create something that benefits the public. They don't earn any money from it, yet they strive to create something great. Of course, bugs arise, and especially during the development phase of a new release, there are naturally discrepancies between the software and the documentation!

And sure, sometimes Peter writes comments that make you realize he's "annoyed"—but that's kind of understandable: He's happy that the new release is "almost finished"—and then bugs or incompatibilities are discovered again—and the search and work starts all over again.

With that in mind, though..

@Peter, @Geoff: Again many thanks for your work and efforts!

bfwolf
 
electricat

Senior Member

Joined: 30/11/2020
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 295
Posted: 10:32am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You boys take it too serious.
A bottle of wine is the key to unlocking the deeper truths  
I think this is exactly the case you are observing (hope, my quess is right   )
My MMBasic 'sand box'
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1140
Posted: 11:07am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Pete needs to keep responses short and to-the-point or he'll end-up down endless rabbit holes. If I don't get a response, I take it as RTFM or "think about it and use your common sense"  

Up to date documentation means that development has ceased.
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1140
Posted: 11:09am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  WhiteWizzard said  @Peter,

I have some spare time today and want to hook one of your RP2350B DIL modules to a 9” SSD display.

Please can you give me a quick steer on the pin connections; and confirmation that the latest firmware version number is stillRC6 (unless you have plans today for another ?).

Many thanks for any reference to an SSD connection guide…


This interests me. Please keep us informed with the progress  
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 11:32am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Many thanks for any reference to an SSD connection guide…


All the information is already available - has no-one understood that I don't believe in spoon-feeding

The manual pages 59 and 60 + the new option for the RP2350B only of specifying the start pin of 8 or 16 contiguous pins for the data.

  Quote  Additional parameter for OPTION LCDPANEL paralleldisplaytype (e.g. SSD1963_7[_16])
OPTION LCDPANEL display, orientation [,backlightpin] [,DCpin] [,NORESET] [,DB0pin]
The new parameter only applies to the RP2350B and allows the starting pin for the 8 or 16 data pins to be specified (defaults to GP0)
e.g. OPTION LCDPANEL SSD1963_4_16, LANDSCAPE,,GP36,,GP2
This allows SSD and other parallel displays to be used on the new 64-pin DIL development board
 
Arne
Newbie

Joined: 05/01/2025
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
Posted: 11:38am 23 Mar 2025
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

LCD Display 320x240, observations:

For „OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE [font [, fc [, bc [, blight]]] [,NOSCROLL]“ you must enter a number for the font. If you input commas only you get a failure message (no automatic entering of default value).

If you have selected the option „NOSCROLL“ and enter LIST PINS the output to the console does not stop at the last line of the screen (PRESS ANY KEY… is not displayed). Therefore you cannot see the previous page.

Arne
 
     Page 9 of 44    
Print this page
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia.
© JAQ Software 2025