![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Launch of Annex WiFi RDS
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Depending on what you want do, it can be easy or complicated. For sure if you are looking at something like 10 print "hello" 20 goto 10 maybe Annex is not for you ..... |
||||
Tinine Guru ![]() Joined: 30/03/2016 Location: United KingdomPosts: 1646 |
The mention of PID has piqued my interest. Are we capable of KHz loop rates? Can't seem to find details. |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Rates of around 500 Hz are achievable with a precise timing. More ( around 1 Khz) is possible but with a strict loop without timer. Anyway, even if the timing is not very precise the PID works well as it computes internally the time between the samples. |
||||
Poppy![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 25/07/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 486 |
You do not get what I mean! So just forget it! ![]() ![]() | ||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Hi all, for all who want try, there is a beta version for the ESP32 available on the Annex Website . Merry Christmas. cicciocb |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3300 |
Annex32 is indeed a powerful BASIC development system for a pretty inexpensive wifi module, with, among many other things, easy "push" updating of sensor values on a web page. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 723 |
Installed ESP32, some Windows Errors when starting ( Win10 ) but it works. Flashed ESP32 and loaded Sample Program. Are the demos in the download package, could not find them.....? Merry Xmas Edited 2019-12-24 18:47 by atmega8 |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3300 |
No demo programs are at present included in the ESP32 flash, but many of the ESP8266 demo programs will work (perhaps with renaming of pins), and there are many snippets in the online help site for the ESP32. Anything particular you're looking for? Edited 2019-12-25 01:06 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Tinine Guru ![]() Joined: 30/03/2016 Location: United KingdomPosts: 1646 |
My M5Stack stuff just showed up; very nice. Unfortunately, I'm away from my Windows systems so unable to test. Any way to give us an idea of the performance of the ESP32 relative to, say the MM @ 48MHz? I read that the ESP8266 version is approximately 25% to 50% of the MX170 performance. Regards, Craig Edited 2019-12-25 01:25 by Tinine |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3300 |
Annex32 is faster than Annex for 8266, but still slower than the MM28: ABC 800 single precision 0.9 1.8 6.0 5.9 6.3 11.6 19.6 2.9 ABC 800 double precision 1.2 2.2 10.0 10.6 11.0 17.8 26.4 14.4 IBM PC 1.5 5.2 12.1 12.6 13.6 23.5 37.4 3.5 Apple III 1.7 7.2 13.5 14.5 16.0 27.0 42.5 7.5 VIC-20 1.4 8.3 15.5 17.1 18.3 27.2 42.7 9.9 ZX81 in "fast mode" 4.5 6.9 16.4 15.8 18.6 49.7 68.5 22.9 Maximite 0.016 0.144 0.196 0.205 0.354 0.512 0.721 0.310 Maximite with line Nos 0.016 0.131 0.193 0.194 0.245 0.393 0.582 0.241 Maximite without line Nos 0.016 0.111 0.173 0.173 0.192 0.336 0.525 0.220 MicroMite 40MHz 0.028 0.18 0.285 0.289 0.644 0.892 1.346 0.376 MicroMite 48MHz 0.023 0.15 0.237 0.24 0.536 0.744 1.121 0.313 MX470 120MHz MMBasic 0.013 0.082 0.135 0.135 0.265 0.380 0.597 0.174 Micromite EXTREME 252MHz 0.006 0.042 0.065 0.072 0.125 0.185 0.267 0.12 STM32H7 @ 400MHz 0.002 0.02 0.034 0.037 0.062 0.086 0.129 0.059 Annex32 0.059 0.332 0.577 0.536 0.694 1.083 1.999 1.014 Annex8266 0.075 0.423 0.716 0.661 0.87 1.432 2.425 1.056 From here and here . I had to recode the empty gosub, and hope I didn't mess up anything. Print "Annex8266 Benchmark tests" Print " " Print "Benchmark 1" t = millis For j = 1 To 1000 Next j t = millis - t Print t / 1000 Print " " Print "Benchmark 2" t = millis j = 0 BM2: j = j+1 If j < 1000 GoTo BM2 t = millis - t Print t / 1000 Print " " Print "Benchmark 3" t = millis j = 0 BM3: j = j+1 a = j/j*j+j-j If j < 1000 GoTo BM3 t = millis - t Print t / 1000 Print " " Print "Benchmark 4" t = millis j = 0 BM4: j = j+1 a = j/2*3+4-5 If j < 1000 GoTo BM4 t = millis - t Print t / 1000 Print " " Print "Benchmark 5" t = millis j = 0 BM5: j = j+1 m = j/2*3+4-5 gosub empty If j < 1000 GoTo BM5 t = millis - t Print t / 1000 Print " " Print "Benchmark 6" t = millis j = 0 dim ray(5) BM6: j = j+1 m = j/2*3+4-5 gosub empty For q = 1 TO 5 Next q If j < 1000 GoTo BM6 t = millis - t Print t / 1000 Print " " Print "Benchmark 7" t = millis j = 0 dim ray2(5) BM7: j = j+1 m = j/2*3+4-5 gosub empty For q = 1 TO 5 ray2(q) = m Next q If j < 1000 GoTo BM7 t = millis - t Print t / 1000 Print " " Print "Benchmark 8" t = millis j = 0 BM8: j = j+1 m = j^2 blog = LOG(j) csin = SIN(j) If j < 1000 GoTo BM8 t = millis - t Print t / 1000 End empty: return Edited 2019-12-26 01:44 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Tinine Guru ![]() Joined: 30/03/2016 Location: United KingdomPosts: 1646 |
@lizby Whoa, many thanks for going to the trouble of the entire benchmark ![]() Any idea whether the Bluetooth is supported? I haven't seen any mention of it. Regards, Craig |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3300 |
I have not noted that Bluetooth is supported, but it's a big system, and I'm not familiar with all of it by any means. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
panky![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 02/10/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1111 |
Can confirm that the beta version of Annex32 works on the ESP32-CAM module - this little module includes a 2Mpix camera and is remarkable value for about 8 bucks. At this stage, the camera is not supported under Annex32 as far as I can find out and there is only a few GPIO pins broken out on this unit but it does offer a cheap entry to the ESP32/Annex32 arena to 'play' with. ![]() ![]() panky ... almost all of the Maximites, the MicromMites, the MM Extremes, the ArmMites, the PicoMite and loving it! |
||||
Plasmamac![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 31/01/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 572 |
it makes so much FUN . Thx Francesco. ![]() ![]() ![]() Plasma |
||||
Pluto Guru ![]() Joined: 09/06/2017 Location: FinlandPosts: 374 |
I have enjoyed playing with Annex 1.40 for a couple of days. ![]() Annex makes it very easy to send data between ESP8266 modules or via the router, but what about if I need more "remote" than the reach of my router (over internet)? What do I need to have for that? (I guess that I need some kind of a homepage on a server hotel or ?) I have very little experience about HTML and the details of internet protocols before starting to play with Annex! I feel that Annex is opening up a completely new world to me. ![]() ![]() |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Hi pluto, I invite you to joins the group Annex Group where you'll find all the information and support you require. cicciocb |
||||
lew247![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 23/12/2015 Location: United KingdomPosts: 1702 |
Has anyone figured out how to get Annex WiFi RDS to connect to a router? I've spent 4 hours truing to get it to do it and it will only set it's own network up It ignores what I put in the boxes |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3300 |
I've done this more than a dozen times. I don't see anything evidently wrong. What happens when you click save, and then after a moment, in a browser, connect to 192.168.1.250? If nothing, power cycle and try again. If still nothing, do you still see 192.168.4.1 among your wifi IPs/APs? Does an IP scanner like AdvancedIPScanner show you anything unusual. Which ESP module? PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
lew247![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 23/12/2015 Location: United KingdomPosts: 1702 |
Esp8266-01 When I reboot both the pc and the ESP I still have the 192.168.4.1 I've just gone through the whole process again and I used an IP scanner and it's actually on 192.168.1.65 I can connect to it now but it's still showing on the config page as 192.168.1.250 |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3300 |
I have no idea how that could be explained. I'm looking at one on 192.168.2.75, and that's what the config page shows. So if you're on 192.168.1.65/config in the browser, "IP Address" shows 192.168.1.250? PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |