Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:22 30 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Launch of Annex WiFi RDS

     Page 2 of 5    
Author Message
cicciocb
Regular Member

Joined: 29/04/2014
Location: France
Posts: 70
Posted: 02:35pm 07 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all,
for Cyberlab :
Probably your module works only in DOUT mode and your incorrect parameter (-fm gave) simply push esptool with the default flash mode (that is DOUT in annex.bin).

You can simply use the utility, check "advanced options" and select DOUT.
Then you'll be able to flash the module including the data.


For Quazee137:
The wifiless version is diametrically opposed to the philosophy of Annex so there are no chances for you.

The concept is to be able to program and admin modules that are installed somewhere in non-accessible places or without requiring to open boxes and connect cables.

I invite you to join the annex forum here and have a look at the FAQ here for more details.

cicciocb
Edited by cicciocb 2019-04-09
 
CYBERLAB
Newbie

Joined: 08/08/2017
Location: Mexico
Posts: 26
Posted: 07:49pm 07 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hello ciccocb, yes it is working! thanks!Edited by CYBERLAB 2019-04-09
 
tomxp411
Newbie

Joined: 04/04/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Posted: 06:14pm 08 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi, I'm looking at and appreciate this project - it might be just what I was looking for to program the ESP8266.

The only question I have is whether there's functionality for directly sending and receiving UDP packets and TCP streams. I am trying to build a terminal server, which would allow a Maximite, RunCPM, or Altair to be controlled remotely via a Telnet client. I'm a little unclear, even after looking at the documentation, about how the sockets system works.

Usually, I'd expect to see something like:

Connect(address,port,callback)
Listen(port,callback)
Send(message)
Received(sender, message) // signature of the callback method for received data.

But I can't find anything in the API that seems to deal with TCP or UDP packets.
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 06:19pm 08 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That is really cool!!!

espbasic was just the beginning!

THX
 
cicciocb
Regular Member

Joined: 29/04/2014
Location: France
Posts: 70
Posted: 07:04pm 08 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi tomxp411,
Annex supports both UDP and TCP (http).

There is a little example in the documentation on how use the UDP here :
UDP event

In addition the AnnexToolkit contains a page dedicated to the development of the UDP:




For the TCP (http), there are several examples in the documentation on how use it.
You can find more information here :
URL Event

cicciocb
 
tomxp411
Newbie

Joined: 04/04/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Posted: 05:52pm 09 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  cicciocb said   Hi tomxp411,
Annex supports both UDP and TCP (http).

For the TCP (http), there are several examples in the documentation on how use it.
You can find more information here :
URL Event

cicciocb


Does this allow you to open a TCP port and send data asynchronously? It looks like this only supports HTTP, which is not what I need. The example doesn't explain how to read the raw data from the incoming packet or how to send data without packaging it up as an http request or response.


Edited by tomxp411 2019-04-11
 
cicciocb
Regular Member

Joined: 29/04/2014
Location: France
Posts: 70
Posted: 06:22pm 09 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  
Does this allow you to open a TCP port and send data asynchronously? It looks like this only supports HTTP, which is not what I need. The example doesn't explain how to read the raw data from the incoming packet or how to send data without packaging it up as an http request or response.


The example shows how use the http.
Basically permit to exchange easily between web pages and Annex using AJAX.
Depending on your application you could use http as this can be completely async.

Using a TCP connection will involve all the complexity linked to the establishment and the maintain of the connection so, probably you may just use the UDP that is very simple to handle.
 
tomxp411
Newbie

Joined: 04/04/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Posted: 08:24pm 09 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  cicciocb said  
  Quote  
Does this allow you to open a TCP port and send data asynchronously? It looks like this only supports HTTP, which is not what I need. The example doesn't explain how to read the raw data from the incoming packet or how to send data without packaging it up as an http request or response.


The example shows how use the http.
Basically permit to exchange easily between web pages and Annex using AJAX.
Depending on your application you could use http as this can be completely async.

Using a TCP connection will involve all the complexity linked to the establishment and the maintain of the connection so, probably you may just use the UDP that is very simple to handle.


So that's a no, then?
 
cicciocb
Regular Member

Joined: 29/04/2014
Location: France
Posts: 70
Posted: 08:41pm 09 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There is http and UDP.

If you want a direct TCP is not (yet) supported simply because using http is much easier.

Maybe you could explain a little bit about your application.
How you want connect to the module?
 
tomxp411
Newbie

Joined: 04/04/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Posted: 10:42pm 09 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm building a terminal server, also called a "WiFi modem."

This uses either raw TCP or Telnet connections (Telnet has some device negotiation stuff on the channel) to communicate with a Telnet or terminal client on a PC or Linux computer, or another terminal server hooked up to a serial device.

Basically, this replaces the USB cable or serial cable when you want to connect to a Maximite or Micromite from a desktop computer. It can also be used as a replacement for a dialup modem for vintage computers, like the Commodore 64 or Apple II to connect to Internet BBSs.

Here's an example of someone using a WiFi modem with a Commodore 64:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fX3k6EZsZCM

Here's the Altairduino playing "Star Trek":
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfuq8hTsoiI


What I'm trying to do is build a similar module for the Color Maximite that I can solder directly into the "sea of holes" and connect to COM1 or COM2 internally.

Then I'm going to use the Maximite as a wireless terminal for the Altairduino, access the Altair from other computers (even remotely over the Internet), and use the Maximite as a terminal to access BBSs on the Internet.
Edited by tomxp411 2019-04-11
 
cicciocb
Regular Member

Joined: 29/04/2014
Location: France
Posts: 70
Posted: 08:55am 10 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Probably what you need isESP-LINK

You can also write your "Star Trek" programs directly into Annex.

After all, it's basic.
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 07:36pm 10 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,

when will online Help be available on your Website?
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 07:37pm 10 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Site is unavailable
 
cicciocb
Regular Member

Joined: 29/04/2014
Location: France
Posts: 70
Posted: 09:54am 11 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Atmega8, sorry for the late answer.
The site is OK now, still don't know why it was down yesterday.

 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 10:34am 11 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  cicciocb said   Hi Atmega8, sorry for the late answer.
The site is OK now, still don't know why it was down yesterday.




Hi, everything is workin ok now.

seems ist was a temporary problem.

Please let me ask one question regarding annex and web access to the applications.

I made a litte sample project wit a DS18b20.
When switching from editor to output menue (http://10.1.47.11/output?menu) i can see my temperatures but on top of the page also the complete menue..
Ok for development, but not for the application i want to programm.

How can i achieve only to see my html output , but not the menue?

THX

Dietmar
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 10:36am 11 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The Code:



'Simple web page showing the information
'from a DS18B20 sensor
PIN_Sensor = 4 'pin used for the DS18B20
t$ = tempr$(PIN_Sensor, 1)
onHtmlReload DoPage
gosub DoPage
timer0 5000, update
wait

DoPage:
cls
html TextBox$(t$) + " ° Celsius"
return

update:
t$ =tempr$(PIN_Sensor, 1)
Print "The Temperature 1 is ";TEMPR$(PIN_Sensor, 1) ; "°C"
print t$

refresh
return

end
 
cicciocb
Regular Member

Joined: 29/04/2014
Location: France
Posts: 70
Posted: 11:03am 11 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The menu in the output page can be removed checking the option "Menu bar Disable" present in the config page :





Edited by cicciocb 2019-04-12
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 11:07am 11 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Works like a charme ;-)

THX for your rapid response!
 
Quazee137

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 522
Posted: 11:18pm 11 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post


cicciocb

I played with it for a few days and it's great. I'll play with it more later as
the current project is a paid for project and as your site states this can not
be used for paid projects

Page 3 of this post I asked "Can I use the firmware (.bin) and code I write on
non personal projects?" ???

Another project will not allow code to be changed without direct contact to the
equipment for security reasons. It can not have internet access. There are a few
ESP8266's setup as honeypots to catch hacking attempts to the main system.

I did get ESP Easy to work as needed. I can now send GPIO states back and forth
from unit#1 and unit#2. Next is to secure the link. Using rules is very different
than writing code as your locked into what they have for you to use and how to use
them.

Even with ESP Easy it took me a few days to get it working. The wiki is setup as if
you know all about the setup / protocols. If one is totally new to all this it's
like trying to learn 3 or more languages at once.

Some basic tutorials would be nice explaining the many ways the setup can be done.

Quazee137

Keep up the good work. I have sent a few friends to the site.


 
viscomjim
Guru

Joined: 08/01/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 925
Posted: 05:22pm 16 Apr 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

there are a few demo videos added to the sight. I am really liking annex. The html learning curve is there since I have little experience, however the basic is quite powerful and reminds me a lot of mmbasic.

Demo Videos
 
     Page 2 of 5    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024