Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 22:25 03 Dec 2021 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : User Manual for the Picomite (draft)

     Page 2 of 4    
Author Message
robert.rozee
Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1824
Posted: 02:59pm 20 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  You can also use control keys instead of the functions keys listed above. These control keystrokes are:
LEFT Ctrl-S RIGHT Ctrl-D UP Ctrl-E DOWN Ctrl-X
HOME Ctrl-U END Ctrl-K PageUp Ctrl-P PageDn Ctrl-L
DEL Ctrl-] INSERT Ctrl-N F1 Ctrl-Q F2 Ctrl-W
F3 Ctrl-R ShiftF3 Ctrl-G F4 Ctrl-T F5 Ctrl-Y


hi peter,
   the attached contains a .pdf map of the control keys, along with a .odg (libre office) source file:
MM Editor Control Keys.zip
(edit: swapped in slightly changed version - i had misread ] as J)

the .odg file contains two different layouts ('normal' and 'big'). each of the two sizes of layout consists of two object groups, one group containing the text, the other the background colour coding. the groups sit one above the other.

anyone should feel free to use these files wherever, however, or for whatever they wish. ie, feel free to use in the mmbasic manual.


cheers,
rob   :-)
Edited 2021-09-21 01:29 by robert.rozee
 
disco4now

Guru

Joined: 18/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 552
Posted: 06:40am 21 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Error in pinout Diagram Page 9

Some of the  orange labels for SPI CLK,SPI TX and SPI RX have slipped down one pin. Its incorrect in the TINMAN as well.

GP2 is SPI CLK
GP3 is SPI TX
GP4 is SPI RX
GP5 should be empty as far as SPI goes

GP6 is SPI CLK
GP7 is SPI TX
GP8 is SPI2 RX
GP9 should be empty as far as SPI goes

GP10 is SPI2 CLK
GP11 is SPI2 TX
GP12 is SPI2 RX
GP13 should be empty as far as SPI goes
 
astroboy
Newbie

Joined: 28/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 36
Posted: 07:13am 21 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The first page has the following link:

http://geoffg.net/picomite.html

this page does not appear to exist.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 07:27am 21 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

We know about the pinout diagram problem. I've provided Geoff with the correct one now.

You wouldn't believe the hassle I've gone through with that diagram! A lot of it of my own making, unfortunately. :(

TINAM is no more now. It's no longer supported as it has been replaced by the manual.

I've replaced it with this: PicoMite 101.zip
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2885
Posted: 08:58am 21 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  astroboy said  The first page has the following link:
http://geoffg.net/picomite.html
this page does not appear to exist.

It will when we go live (ie, out of beta).
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
scruss
Newbie

Joined: 20/09/2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 34
Posted: 11:23pm 22 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  You wouldn't believe the hassle I've gone through with that diagram! A lot of it of my own making, unfortunately. :(

Why not use the official pinout diagram?
 
Poppy

Guru

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 484
Posted: 06:33am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Please tell me what "the TINMAN" is.
 
Andre ... such a GURU?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 06:38am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Because it doesn't comply with our requirements. :)

We've tried to keep the PicoMite as compatible as is reasonably possible with the other MMBasic platforms. That means no UARTn for a start, it's always been COMn in line with GW-BASIC. Also, SPI & SPI2 and I2C & I2C2 appeared when platforms with more then one SPI and I2C port appeared, the PicoMite continues with this format.

If the above seems a bit pedantic, just consider - you can take a lot of existing MMBasic programs, add a few SETPIN statements at the beginning and they will run on a PicoMite with very little additional modification (maybe screen handling in some cases).
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 06:45am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Lol! TINMAN?

It was TINAM: This Is Not A Manual
A temporary document that started off as a text file I put together while the PicoMite was being developed just to keep the useful stuff all together in one place. It was in a similar format to the manual, hence the name. :)
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 952
Posted: 06:49am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Poppy,

TINMAN is a fairytale figure from Wizard of Oz.
TINAM is and acronym of "This Is Not A Manual". When Mixtel90 combined all information Peter wrote in the development thread for the PicoMite, he invented that name, as to point out is was not an official manual.

I have used it as the only manual ever since.....
Thanks Mixtel90 !

Volhout
If nothing goes right ... turn left
 
Poppy

Guru

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 484
Posted: 09:56am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  disco4now said  Its incorrect in the TINMAN as well.


Yes it really was "TINMAN", thanks for the explanation.

Of course I know the Wiz of Oz.

And parallelly here is a Member around calling himself "TINMAN", that is why this all confused me.

But I also did not know the Acronym at all before.

By the way thanks for all the efforts, I am currently studying all that new (to me) stuff and keep following ... and will happily start up my own PICOMITE next week.
Andre ... such a GURU?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 10:41am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Poppy,
If you've already used MMBasic the PicoMite isn't all that different really. Have a look at the PicoMite 101 file that I posted in this thread a couple of days ago.

The draft manual has a few problems (as expected), but it covers just about everything. The fixed version probably won't be all that far off now.
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
Poppy

Guru

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 484
Posted: 10:59am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks.

I am already quite into it.

Now, if the PICOMITE also had VGA available then it could even beat my beloved DUINOMITE (just as an easily available substitute for the MAXIMITE) for embedding.

Besides the MMBASIC capabilities the hardware itself is really astonishing and the price as well.

Does MMBASIC really work easily with other RP2040-Boards or are there problems? (e.g.: Pimoroni Tiny 2040 or Adafruit QT Py RP2040 or SparkFum Thing Plus or Adafruit Feather)

The Draft says something like that.
Andre ... such a GURU?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 11:17am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry, you can't have VGA for 3.60 UKP. :)

MMBasic should work fine on anything using an RP2040 if you stick with the GPn designations. Some I/O pins will be pre-allocated on other boards and some of the allocated pins on the PicoMite might be free so you'll obviously have to take that into account and use SETPIN to allocate things correctly.
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 1786
Posted: 11:53am 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Poppy said  I am currently studying all that new (to me) stuff


You might also find useful tidbits and links here: PicoMite on FruitOfTheShed
 
Poppy

Guru

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 484
Posted: 12:57pm 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  Sorry, you can't have VGA for 3.60 UKP. :)


Of course not (right here it is 3,95 Euros), I meant just with additional circuitry and supported by MMBASIC.

Something like this:
https://picockpit.com/raspberry-pi/raspberry-pi-pico-video-output/

It is just that my not-so-young eyes are getting too weary by all those tiny displays.

  lizby said  
  Poppy said  I am currently studying all that new (to me) stuff


You might also find useful tidbits and links here: PicoMite on FruitOfTheShed


Thanks!

Andre ... such a GURU?
 
Poppy

Guru

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 484
Posted: 01:15pm 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry for being brief, just having posting-trouble.

What about this for MMBASIC
https://picockpit.com/raspberry-pi/raspberry-pi-pico-video-output/
Andre ... such a GURU?
 
Poppy

Guru

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 484
Posted: 01:29pm 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

PS:

I just was actually thinking about prototyping a CMM 1 - Mini, but the Pico just makes it unnecessary (except the VGA)
Andre ... such a GURU?
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 952
Posted: 03:10pm 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Poppy

Thanks for sharing the link. Reading through the text I think the VGA (and DVI) outputs they implemented are RGB565 (16 bits per color) in 320x240 resolution (although they may upscale to 640x480). In essence a ILI9341 display, but just a bit bigger.

And still this will consume some 2/3 of the available RAM.

If this would have to run MMBasic, you will have a maximum program size of 16k, maybe 24k, and limitted variable storage.

No Go... (I think Peter looked at this before also).
If nothing goes right ... turn left
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 03:48pm 23 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter did look at this, yeah. I'm not sure if there's even room for MMBasic once you've allocated RAM for a VGA frame buffer. You *can* produce flashy VGA and DVI demos on the Pico, but they aren't doing anything useful.

RAM in the RP2040 is paged in and out in blocks. Even handling a frame buffer is an art when you can only access part of it at once. :)

The PicoMite isn't intended as a computer anyway so video and keyboard support isn't important. User interface via LCD / touch screen is pretty much ideal. If you *have* to have a bigger screen then use the USB for VT100 console. The only problem is that you've no proper graphics support.
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
     Page 2 of 4    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2021