Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 05:44 19 Jun 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : An other model of RP2040

     Page 3 of 3    
Author Message
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5857
Posted: 07:40pm 10 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If it was a *powered* USB hub then it would probably power the Pico just fine. Obviously a non-powered hub can't do that.

The main thing is to be very careful with your supplies. The best way is to make sure that there can only ever be one supply in place.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1667
Posted: 08:13pm 10 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  If it was a *powered* USB hub then it would probably power the Pico just fine. Obviously a non-powered hub can't do that.

The main thing is to be very careful with your supplies. The best way is to make sure that there can only ever be one supply in place.

it was powered 5v usb hub but they don't send 5v to the connector cable as it would damage a pc. no 5v on the type c connector when powered hub


Edited 2024-04-11 06:27 by stanleyella
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5857
Posted: 08:52pm 10 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Good point. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1667
Posted: 11:18pm 10 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

soldered headers on another new pico, flashed picomite rc3 and substituted existing normal pico for new on lcd display board, set options and worked so pins except mentioned all ok
new pico seems cool. stan

 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1667
Posted: 09:16pm 11 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I flashed the blobbed diodes board rc3 vga usb and substituted for normal pico but vbus on old is vin on new but works fine rewired to next pin.
nice board.
I thought 378000 cpu was dropped for pico vga but repowered and seems happy
> option list
PicoMiteVGA MMBasic USB Edition  5.09.00RC3
OPTION SERIAL CONSOLE COM2,GP8,GP9
OPTION FLASH SIZE 4194304
OPTION COLOURCODE ON
OPTION KEYBOARD US
OPTION CPUSPEED (KHz) 378000
OPTION DISPLAY 20, 40
OPTION SDCARD GP13, GP10, GP11, GP12
OPTION AUDIO GP0,GP1', ON PWM CHANNEL 0
>
memory
Program:
  0K ( 0%) Program (0 lines)
 96K (100%) Free

Saved Variables:
 16K (100%) Free

RAM:
  0K ( 0%) 0 Variables
  0K ( 0%) General
124K (100%) Free

 
     Page 3 of 3    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024