Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:12 06 Dec 2022 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite(VGA) V5.07.05 draft manuals - please review

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
Bleep
Senior Member

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Posted: 09:58am 21 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have noticed a minor problem.
The TILE command, says that the first 2 parameters are the X Y position in pixels where the tile will start from. "'x' and 'y' are the coordinates of the block in pixels."
This does not appear to be the case, it is actually the start Tile position in number of Tiles, I'm unsure if it is the manual that is wrong or the code? because pixels, would allow much finer control, but I can understand why it would be Tiles.
Regards, Kevin.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3141
Posted: 10:40am 21 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You are correct. The manual is incorrect to refer to x and y as being in pixels, they are tile co-ordinates.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5005
Posted: 09:07pm 21 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

GUI CALIBRATE doesn't mention that you can save your calibration values (from OPTION LIST) and use them to avoid having to re-calibrate next time.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Lightrock
Newbie

Joined: 19/05/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 25
Posted: 11:57am 24 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The last two pins specified in the SETPIN a, b, c, SPI command in both examples in Appendix D SPI Communications of the Draft 1 User Manual MMBasic Ver 5.07.05 are incorrect. GP20 is a SPI Rx pin but GP4 is also another Rx pin instead of a SPI Tx pin and GP1 is not available for SPI.

Suitable pins are on the previous page e.g. SETPIN GP20, GP3, GP2, SPI could be used.

Roy
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6619
Posted: 03:41pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks - have reported to Geoff

Also missing from the VGA manual

OPTION DEFAULT MODE n (NB permanent option)
N can be 1 or 2. This sets the default display mode on boot. Setting the mode to 1 will give a 640x480 monochrome display and the default font will be set to 1 (12x8). Setting n to 2 will give a 320x240 colour display and the default font will be set to 7 (8x6)

OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE [ fnt] [, foreground] [, background] (NB permanent option)
Turns on console output to the VGA screen and optionally set the default font and the foreground and background colours

OPTION LCDPANEL NOCONSOLE (NB tick in manual should be in square brackets)
If used in a program this is a temporary option (useful for debugging with a USB/serial console) and disables PRINT output to the VGA display. Graphics commands will continue to work.
If used at the command prompt this option is permanent, both print output and console output will be disabled and only graphics commands will output to the VGA screen
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1120
Posted: 11:06pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

A minor point, the manual has no bookmarks for easy navigation.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
aargee
Senior Member

Joined: 21/08/2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 255
Posted: 12:49am 27 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Also, it would be good to have a change indicator to show changes from the last revision.
Maybe a bar or highlight on text/titles that have changed?
For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED.
 
ville56
Newbie

Joined: 08/06/2022
Location: Austria
Posts: 26
Posted: 08:28am 30 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

just cosmetics ... Appendix B, I2C Examples page 139 reads

First the master:
SETPIN GP2, GP3, i

should read

First the master:
SETPIN GP2, GP3, i2c2

not an issue except for lazy guys like me, copy-and-paste addicted

Regards,
Gerald
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2972
Posted: 01:28pm 30 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Gerald, I will fix that.

  Turbo46 said  A minor point, the manual has no bookmarks for easy navigation.

Peter's draft did not have bookmarks but the final version will.  It is a bit of a black art generating bookmarks.

  aargee said  Also, it would be good to have a change indicator to show changes from the last revision.  Maybe a bar or highlight on text/titles that have changed?

This is an ongoing battle with Word that I am loosing.  A while ago I upgraded from ancient Word 2003 to Office 365 and I cannot get the new version to do change bars without screwing up the formatting and pagination.  I will have another go at it for the final version but I don't hold out much hope.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6619
Posted: 04:43pm 30 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Note to readers

The manual for BLIT and SPRITE need rationalising and fixing. There is only one command “SPRITE”. For compatibility reasons BLIT in the Basic source is converted to SPRITE
There are three LOAD variants
LOAD ‘ Maximite equivalent
LOADARRAY
And
LOADBMP
 
panky

Guru

Joined: 02/10/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 991
Posted: 12:03am 01 Oct 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Geoffg said  

  aargee said  Also, it would be good to have a change indicator to show changes from the last revision.  Maybe a bar or highlight on text/titles that have changed?


Geoff

Geoff, the video here from Microsoft may be helpfull.

Doug.

PS. LibreOffice Writer, which is a pretty good alternative to MS Word also has extensive markup/change capabilities (and it's free!). Doug.
... almost all of the Maximites, the MicromMites, the MM Extremes, the ArmMites, the PicoMite and loving it!
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2972
Posted: 01:59am 01 Oct 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  panky said  LibreOffice Writer, which is a pretty good alternative to MS Word also has extensive markup/change capabilities (and it's free!). Doug.

The reason I upgraded to Office 365 was that I also got 1TB of cloud storage.  Now, when I save a file, my NAS automatically copies it to the cloud within seconds.  No more offsite backup tapes, disks, etc... wonderful.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1120
Posted: 02:01am 01 Oct 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  panky said  LibreOffice Writer, which is a pretty good alternative to MS Word

I agree. When Microsoft changed to the subscription scheme I tried LibreOffice. It imported some complex Word documents perfectly, so I stuck with that and abandoned MS Office.

I noticed that your "GRAPHICS Programming on the Colour MaxiMite 2" document was produced using LibreOffice.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2830
Posted: 03:38pm 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The INC command is documented in the regular PicoMite manual but not the PicoMiteVGA manual.

Tom
CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2022