Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 11:42 29 Nov 2023 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Picomite/PicoMiteVGA V5.07.05 release candidates

     Page 2 of 9    
Author Message
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3599
Posted: 03:13pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  The default font after switching to mode 2 in a program is 7 (8x6) ...


Thanks for your patience Peter, that explains everything.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8034
Posted: 09:42pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.05RC4

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Various tidying
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 8850
Posted: 03:58am 26 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  The 24bit BMP files are huge, and especially if you are using only 8 or 16 colors the JPG's should be significantly smaller.


Agreed, and further to Peter saying this is a non-starter, with the capacity of modern SD cards, even GIGANTIC bitmap image files should not really pose a problem due to the capacity of modern SD cards.

Could be an issue, if you were using some old tiny capacity cards like I am for one project(just cos I have them and don't NEED lots of space), but in that case, you would simply have to use a larger capacity card if you need to support large sized BMP images.

AFAIK, none of the MMBASIC ports to any hardware, have supported anything other then BMP.  I may be wrong on that, but I don't recall seeing in any of the manuals for the likes of the MM+ series or the ARMmite, that JPG or GIF formats were supported.  Standard uncompressed BMP image data is easy to use I guess, as you don't need any kind of image CODEC.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2959
Posted: 07:48am 27 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,

Can you confirm that the IO pin "open collector" function still works. OA47 reported a problem, that I can confirm with RC4.

setpin 5,dout,oc
pin(5)=0 'is a hard low
pin(5)=1 'should be high impedance, but is hard high

Edited 2022-09-27 17:49 by Volhout
PETSCII ROBOTS for PicoMiteVGA
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8034
Posted: 08:35am 27 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The RP2040 does not have a "normal" open collector mode. The option will be removed from the manual. The programmer can simulate it by swapping between SETPIN DIN and SETPIN DOUT
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3097
Posted: 08:59am 27 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  The RP2040 does not have a "normal" open collector mode. The option will be removed from the manual. The programmer can simulate it by swapping between SETPIN DIN and SETPIN DOUT

Made the changes to the draft manuals.
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2959
Posted: 09:35am 27 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Peter,

What is blocking you to do the SETPIN DIN, SETPIN DOUT in the firmware? There is a lot of benefit by keeping the MMBasic code as much as possible transparent between platforms. In stead of removing it from the manual, which people that use micromite for decennia find confusing.

Just a question...

Volhout
Edited 2022-09-27 19:36 by Volhout
PETSCII ROBOTS for PicoMiteVGA
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8034
Posted: 09:43am 27 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  What is blocking you to do the SETPIN DIN, SETPIN DOUT in the firmware?


The PicoMite code is finished subject to bug fixes. The change is non-trivial because the pin command then has to know if the DOUT is OC or not which is not tracked (not required to be on PIC or STM32) . The RP2040 does not have a true OC electrical mode like the other chips (no 5V compliant pins) so it is not unreasonable for the programmer to understand this and deal with it differently.
Edited 2022-09-27 19:44 by matherp
 
Bleep
Senior Member

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 278
Posted: 11:37am 27 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  OPTION DEFAULT MODE 2 ' defaults command line font to 7
OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE 8 'make it really small (6x4)
OPTION COLOURCODE ON

Hi Peter,
These are excellent options, I had been using DEFAULT MODE 1, LCDPANEL CONSOLE 7 but these are a much better compromise, especially if you like colour editing. :-)
Thanks for your suggestion.
Regards Kevin.
Edited 2022-09-27 21:38 by Bleep
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3599
Posted: 05:55pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,

XMODEM may be borked.

Demonstrated with PicoMiteVGA + TeraTerm on Windows 10
(but originally seen with PicoMiteVGA + MMB4L as the XMODEM sender)

  1. Start TeraTerm, connect to PicoMiteVGA
  2. On the PicoMiteVGA: XMODEM RECEIVE "lazer-cycle.bas"
  3. From TeraTerm: [Transfer->XMODEM->Send...] "lazer-cycle.bas"
  4. On the PicoMiteVGA: RUN "lazer-cycle.bas"
     - don't look too closely it's not cooked yet.
  5. On the PicoMiteVGA: CTRL-C
  6. On the PicoMiteVGA: XMODEM RECEIVE "lazer-cycle.bas"
  7. From TeraTerm: [Transfer->XMODEM->Send...] "lazer-cycle.bas"
  8. The transfer hangs without getting past the first 512 bytes.

I think you need to be sending a reasonably large program, and I suppose it is possible that "lazer-cycle.bas" is doing something that breaks it, but what could that be ?

I think this may have been working in one of the late betas, but it is possible that something in "lazer-cycle.bas" has changed since then, it has certainly got bigger.

   lazer-cycle.zip

Apologies that I won't be available to answer any follow-up questions this evening.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8034
Posted: 06:14pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Worked perfectly when transferring/running 73000 byte file exactly as above (solar_eclipse) so you will need to try and find what you are doing that causes the problem in order for me to have a look
Edited 2022-09-30 04:17 by matherp
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3599
Posted: 06:18pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Worked perfectly when transferring/running 73000 byte file exactly as above (solar_eclipse)


Thanks Peter can you provide download/link to exactly that file so I can do some more investigation on my side over the weekend.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8034
Posted: 06:23pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

solar_eclipse.zip

 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5687
Posted: 09:34pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Tom,
I have used the XMODEM command a lot in all devices. It is a long time since there has been any problem.

I don't have a picomiteVGA with sdcard so can't run it there.
I tried on my CMM2G2 and had an error HIGHSCORE_FILENAME$ not declared so didn't get very far.

I notice that you change OPTION BREAK and do not restore it in your break-handler. I don't think that matters but...

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1459
Posted: 10:27pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Following @thwill's procedure it does hang on the second transfer.

> XMODEM RECEIVE "lazer-cycle.bas"  <-------OK
> RUN

> XMODEM RECEIVE "lazer-cycle.bas"  <-------Hangs at 512 bytes

Typing CLEAR after running does not restore normal XMODEM operation.
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3599
Posted: 10:33pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TassyJim said  Tom,
I have used the XMODEM command a lot in all devices. It is a long time since there has been any problem.


Hi Jim. Yes, I was a bit surprised myself. I first saw this when SENDing from MMB4L so naturally thought it was me, however since reproduced with Tera Term.

  TassyJim said  I don't have a picomiteVGA with sdcard so can't run it there.
I tried on my CMM2G2 and had an error HIGHSCORE_FILENAME$ not declared so didn't get very far.


Yes, it's not quite cooked yet and I haven't run it up on the CMM2 for some time; the PicoMiteVGA is for me a more interesting target.

  TassyJim said   notice that you change OPTION BREAK and do not restore it in your break-handler. I don't think that matters but...


I wonder if that's it? The timeline would fit, the appearance of this problem and adding the break-handling code are both events of the last week. I will check first thing in the morning.

Peter, this reminds me, should the PicoMiteVGA not automatically do the equivalent of a PLAY STOP on a break or error, the CMM2 does?

Thanks, Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3599
Posted: 10:35pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  phil99 said  Following @thwill's procedure it does hang on the second transfer.

> XMODEM RECEIVE "lazer-cycle.bas" <-------OK
> RUN

> XMODEM RECEIVE "lazer-cycle.bas" <-------Hangs at 512 bytes

Typing CLEAR after running does not restore normal XMODEM operation.


Thanks for confirming Phil. I suspect a NEW would do the trick.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5687
Posted: 10:43pm 29 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  thwill said  
  TassyJim said   notice that you change OPTION BREAK and do not restore it in your break-handler. I don't think that matters but...


I wonder if that's it? The timeline would fit, the appearance of this problem and adding the break-handling code are both events of the last week. I will check first thing in the morning.

<EOT>, CHR$(4) is sent by xmodem but only at the end of all text so it shouldn't be doing anything at the time.

Phil has confirmed the problem so I might change the firmware to VGA and do some investigating if time permits today. Spring time so lots to do.

My guess is, there is something that gets cleaned up with a ^C that doesn't get cleaned up with a simple END. I am not sure if there is any way to simulate a ^C from within a program. 'ERROR' seems the closest but not very nice for the end user to see.

Jim
Edited 2022-09-30 09:05 by TassyJim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1411
Posted: 12:15am 30 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Tom said   4. On the PicoMiteVGA: RUN "lazer-cycle.bas"
    - don't look too closely it's not cooked yet.
 5. On the PicoMiteVGA: CTRL-C

  lazer_cycle.bas said  Option Break 4
On Key 3, break_handler

(later)

' Break handler to stop music & fx when Ctrl-C pressed.
Sub break_handler()
 Play Stop
 End
End Sub

  the manual said  OPTION BREAK 4 will set the break key to the CTRL-D key

So what does typing Control_C do? What it says I guess but is the program still running?

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1459
Posted: 12:41am 30 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

> LOAD "lazer-cycle.bas"

Loading from SD locks up the Pico. Power off / on required.

Discovered previous SAVE "lazer-cycle.bas" after original XMODEM RECEIVE produced a 0 byte file.

Something in there messes things up properly!
 
     Page 2 of 9    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2023