Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 11:29 17 Jun 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MMEdit V5.2

     Page 2 of 7    
Author Message
Andrew_G
Guru

Joined: 18/10/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 847
Posted: 08:36pm 13 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Jim,
True to my word I've updated MMEdit - totally seamless. Thanks.
You've been up a while! Leave some time for chasing cows . . .

Cheers,

Andrew
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3691
Posted: 09:09pm 15 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Jim,

Good job. Have been using 5.2.2 for few hours now, and very stable, no surprzes. This is on ubuntu 20.04.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 09:12pm 15 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That's good to hear.

I think I have most of the major bugs squashed.
Time to tidy up a few more areas.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
disco4now

Guru

Joined: 18/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 854
Posted: 11:00am 18 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Jim,
I am using 5.2.2
I just had a self induced problem but you might consider a new way to get out of it.

Attempting to load a large program and for what ever reason you loose the connection or reset the target device while MMCC is downloading it seems to resume the download when the connection is restored, but autosave is lost so the device spits many lines back as errors. It goes very slow and seems like you need to close MMCC to start afresh. (Well that is what I think happened).

Could Action-->Abort be made to kill a download?

Regards
Gerry
Latest F4 Latest H7
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 11:16am 18 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  disco4now said  Hi Jim,
I am using 5.2.2
I just had a self induced problem but you might consider a new way to get out of it.

Attempting to load a large program and for what ever reason you loose the connection or reset the target device while MMCC is downloading it seems to resume the download when the connection is restored, but autosave is lost so the device spits many lines back as errors. It goes very slow and seems like you need to close MMCC to start afresh. (Well that is what I think happened).

Could Action-->Abort be made to kill a download?

Regards
Gerry

Yes, When using AUTOLOAD, it just looks for a <LF> before sending the next line.
I will see what I can do with the abort.
I am away from the main PC for a week so it will be a while.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 08:21pm 31 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

MMEdit V 5.2.3 is out.

In the editor the main changes are
Search now has the option to not search/replace in strings and/or comments.
Options for 'Wordwrap' and 'use spaces for tabs' can now be changed in preferences.

In the MMCC file manager the main change is the option to extract ZIP archives and transfer the contents to the target 'mite in one click. Paths are preserved.
It also works with .tar.gz and .tgz files. There are numerous versions of tar/gz archives and I have not been able to test them all.

There have been a number of cosmetic changes and bug fixes.

I will update the keyword lists once the current betas are finalised.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3691
Posted: 10:01pm 31 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have been using MMEdit continuous during the development of petscii robots, and it behaved super stable. Good work Jim. Congratulations.
And the coloring, and automatic identing help spot programming errors fast. Very good.

For picomite there is one thing that could be added and is of real value in working on larger programs. Since pico cannot work with include files, you always work in a huge text document, and it helps to fold subs that are final.
If MMEdit could memorize what subs where folded, that would be great. With a single button to fold and unfold the subs/function of the last saved version.

I really love MMEdit!

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 11:15pm 31 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  
If MMEdit could memorize what subs where folded, that would be great.
Volhout

It does now, for the files in the 'Recent files' list and files that were open when you close MMEdit.

I can increase the number of 'recent' files or perhaps have a 'current projects' list .
Doing it that way is more compatible with other editors compared with adding extra text to the code (like I used to do).

Jim

ps. unzipping your petscii files is easy now.
Edited 2023-11-01 09:16 by TassyJim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Chopperp

Guru

Joined: 03/01/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1033
Posted: 12:08am 01 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim.

Be lost without it.

BTW Help About and MM Edit heading still display V5.2.2

Brian
ChopperP
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 01:31am 01 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Chopperp said  
BTW Help About and MM Edit heading still display V5.2.2

Brian


Bugger, I do that often.
I will update the files later today.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 06:36am 01 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

MMEdit has been updated with the correct version number.
Now the exes should report version 5.2.3

I also fixed a bug with mouse click reporting in MMCC.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3691
Posted: 10:17am 01 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Jim,

Thanks for your response. Now you mention it.. yes, that is how it works.

I was confused because I do not use the same workstation each time.
At home I use a linux system, and at work a windows system. I transfer the "project" between them. And since each session (at home, or at work during lunch) ends up with a new revision of the single xxx.bas file, I loose the editor settings (folded subs).

So it is completely my way of doing things.

Sorry for bothering you, thanks for the quick response.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 10:35am 01 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  Hi Jim,

Thanks for your response. Now you mention it.. yes, that is how it works.

I was confused because I do not use the same workstation each time.
At home I use a linux system, and at work a windows system. I transfer the "project" between them. And since each session (at home, or at work during lunch) ends up with a new revision of the single xxx.bas file, I loose the editor settings (folded subs).

So it is completely my way of doing things.

Sorry for bothering you, thanks for the quick response.

Volhout


Not a bother at all.
I have thought of a way to store the folding in the file without causing confusion when working with other editors.
I could add a comment to the end of the sub/function entry line and scan the file on loading to rebuild the folding list.

It won't slow the loading down too much and will be optional.
I will have a play

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 09:12pm 04 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

MMEdit V 5.2.4
One for Volhout.
Changes to code folding.
F9 now restores folding to the folds configured on last save (or BAS file load)
F10 now toggles between all folded and no folds.

There is a new option in Preferences to save folding data in the BAS files. Normally this is remembered for all 'recent' files.
This allows users to modify the BAS file in a different editor without loosing folding information.
The downside is, if you distribute your files, there may be a few extra comments in the file.
 '
SUB doKey 'FoldHere
 cmd$ = ""
 DO
   PAUSE 50
   cmd$ = cmd$+k$
   k$=INKEY$
 LOOP UNTIL k$="" OR k$ = CHR$(13) OR LEN(cmd$)>=255
 DoCMD
END SUB
 
SUB DoCMD 'FoldHere

They are stripped out as files are loaded into MMEdit so you will not normally see them.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Chopperp

Guru

Joined: 03/01/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1033
Posted: 02:36am 05 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Jim

Thanks for the update.

Just wondering why I am losing my bookmarks on Load & Run and on Save

Brian
ChopperP
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 06:47am 05 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Chopperp said  
Just wondering why I am losing my bookmarks on Load & Run and on Save

Brian


That is strange. I can't see why immediately but I will track it down eventually.

I have noticed a couple of other oddities with the folding so I have a bit of tidying up to do.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 08:52am 05 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Still can't see why the bookmarks get lost so I will record them before saving then put them back afterwards. Crude but effective.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Chopperp

Guru

Joined: 03/01/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1033
Posted: 09:53am 05 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TassyJim said  Still can't see why the bookmarks get lost so I will record them before saving then put them back afterwards. Crude but effective.
Jim


That sounds like a good plan. I was going to ask if the bookmarks could be saved between sessions.

Thanks
Brian
ChopperP
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5950
Posted: 10:57am 05 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Chopperp said  
  TassyJim said  Still can't see why the bookmarks get lost so I will record them before saving then put them back afterwards. Crude but effective.
Jim


That sounds like a good plan. I was going to ask if the bookmarks could be saved between sessions.

Thanks
Brian

The quick way is to save the line numbers but it all goes astray if you edit the code somewhere else.
I could do the same as the folding and put a comment at the end of the lines.

I just have to find time to play. Busy time of the year down here.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Chopperp

Guru

Joined: 03/01/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1033
Posted: 11:07am 05 Nov 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No Problems Jim

I've mainly been using Crunch lately leaving the original intact.

Speaking of Crunch, it no longer asks you if you want to save it before you go to delete it, which is a good thing in my opinion. Only a temp file.

Brian
ChopperP
 
     Page 2 of 7    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024