Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Armmite F4: programming the firmware Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 12 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2855
Posted: 07 June 2019 at 9:23pm | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote matherp

There is nothing in the flash memory. You can easily use it from Basic using normal SPI commands.



Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
CaptainBoing
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 September 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 920
Posted: 07 June 2019 at 11:02pm | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CaptainBoing

top news! Thanks
Back to Top View CaptainBoing's Profile Search for other posts by CaptainBoing
 
lizby
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 566
Posted: 08 June 2019 at 6:13am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote lizby

matherp wrote:
If you post the file I'll have a look


Thanks for the offer. Since someone else has developed half the code I'd rather not post it here. I tried to send you a PM with a dropbox link, but your mailbox is full. What's the best way to get it to you?
Back to Top View lizby's Profile Search for other posts by lizby
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2855
Posted: 08 June 2019 at 7:46am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote matherp

Quote:
but your mailbox is full


Cleared now
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
lizby
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 566
Posted: 08 June 2019 at 9:35am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote lizby

Is there a 480x320 (or larger) lcd with the footprint to plug into this module?

Or is there a supported 480x320 SPI LCD?
Back to Top View lizby's Profile Search for other posts by lizby
 
lizby
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 566
Posted: 09 June 2019 at 12:02am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote lizby

Here's my labeling of the usable pin numbers. I didn't include labels for the display or SD, and various others.

Please let me know if any corrections or additions should be made.


Back to Top View lizby's Profile Search for other posts by lizby
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2855
Posted: 09 June 2019 at 1:41am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote matherp

You don't need to worry about pin numbers. Just use the pin names in all of the relevant commands

? tempr(PE2)
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
lizby
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 566
Posted: 09 June 2019 at 6:38am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote lizby

matherp wrote:
You don't need to worry about pin numbers. Just use the pin names in all of the relevant commands

I have a program which runs on pi, H7, F4, and L4 (and formerly on MM-64). It reads in 20-some pin numbers from a file so that it knows what to use on which platform (also DOS where pin numbers don't apply, but I/Os can still be simulated).
Back to Top View lizby's Profile Search for other posts by lizby
 
lizby
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 566
Posted: 10 June 2019 at 7:44am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote lizby

With a new cable, I was able to flash a second F4 and get to the ">" prompt with the USB connection. A little experimenting gave some likely clues to my problems downloading a large basic program. Memory shown is 114K. The program is 121K.

If I try F10 and copy and paste the entire program, it stalls at 114K. Makes, sense--all ram is used. If I try F11 and in teraterm, xmodem send the file, it goes to about 93% and stalls--same explanation. If I omit the last 140 lines of comments and use F10, it succeeds (barely--114K-odd downloaded--112K flash used for program, 9K for fonts, 23K free).

So I guess instead of using teraterm I need to use MMEdit and crunch the comments out, especially since the program is likely to grow more.

I suspect this is also the reason why I can SAVE the file to the SD, but not LOAD it--some amount of ram overhead in the load routine. MMEdit to the rescue.

(74K program with MMEdit.)

Edited by lizby on 10 June 2019 at 8:00am
Back to Top View lizby's Profile Search for other posts by lizby
 
Paul_L
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 March 2016
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 526
Posted: 12 June 2019 at 9:11am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote Paul_L

lizby wrote:
matherp wrote:
If you post the file I'll have a look


Thanks for the offer. Since someone else has developed half the code I'd rather not post it here. I tried to send you a PM with a dropbox link, but your mailbox is full. What's the best way to get it to you?

I suppose lizby is talking about a code abortion written partially by yours truly.

That's what happens when you let a Polock ex mainframer from Brooklyn with a propensity for obfuscatory prose write a program for a micro. My half of the code is definitely the messiest.

I am slowly trying to clean the mess up a little bit. When it gets a little bit better organized and if lizby is agreeable we will post it and give you guys a good laugh.

Paul in NY
Back to Top View Paul_L's Profile Search for other posts by Paul_L
 
lizby
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 566
Posted: 13 June 2019 at 2:07am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote lizby

Trying to set the DAC pins, 29 and 30, as digital outputs fails. May they not be used for digital I/O?

> setpin 29,dout
Error: Pin Px32 is invalid
> setpin 30, dout
Error: Pin Px32 is invalid
>

(For the "invalid pin" message, which I've gotten before, is it possible to print the actual pin number?)
Back to Top View lizby's Profile Search for other posts by lizby
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2855
Posted: 13 June 2019 at 2:30am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote matherp

New release:

2019-06-13_022213_ArmmiteF4.zip

New functionality:

Playing FLAC files now supported on the DACs. See the H7 manual for more details.

PLAY FLAC filename$ [,interrupt_on_completion]



Changed functionality:

Major rewrite of SDcard handling. Tested transferring multi-megabyte files over both UART and USB using XModem. Note MMEdit seems less robust than teraterm for this.

Bugs fixed:
Incorrect handling of programs too-big for memory. This should now give an out-of-memory error.
Error reporting of pin numbers for invalid pins

Quote:
May they not be used for digital I/O?


No: sorry they are dedicated for DAC use

Quote:
Or is there a supported 480x320 SPI LCD?


Yes the ILI9481 Raspberry Pi display is supported. See H7 manual for syntax


Edited by matherp on 13 June 2019 at 2:31am
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 


<< Prev Page of 12 Next >>
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1367 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.14