Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Arduino Environment for PIC32 Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 2 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
CircuitGizmos
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 6:18am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CircuitGizmos

I've had someone request to use the Arduino IDE with the CGMICROKIT. This would forgo the MMBASIC that is loaded on the chip and load it with the code developed in the Arduino IDE.

I've found that there is support for the '120, the '250, and the '270 in a board support package called chipKIT. I've tried using the IDE to make a hex file and PICKIT3 to load that hex file. I thought that one of these would work at least with some simple blinky test code. But nope.

So I tried a copy/edit of one of the boards to make a '170 flavor, but still no blinky.

Still going down a rabbit hole trying to see what I missed, but I thought I would ask here if anyone has done this.

__________________
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite


Back to Top View CircuitGizmos's Profile Search for other posts by CircuitGizmos Visit CircuitGizmos's Homepage
 
JohnS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 November 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1848
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 6:48am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote JohnS

Probably a daft question but I suspect a chipKit-specific/Arduino-specific bootloader is needed (and is probably CPU-specific).

Is one, and did you install it?

John
Back to Top View JohnS's Profile Search for other posts by JohnS
 
CircuitGizmos
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 6:58am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CircuitGizmos

JohnS wrote:
Probably a daft question but I suspect a chipKit-specific/Arduino-specific bootloader is needed (and is probably CPU-specific).

Is one, and did you install it?

John


There are some ugly files that I modified that end in ".ld" that have bootloader and non-bootloader options. I modified the nobootloader file.

For example:
chipKIT-application-32MX250F128.ld
chipKIT-application-32MX250F128-nobootloader.ld

No need for bootloader if I'm using the PICKIT 3 to program. I amuse.


__________________
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
Back to Top View CircuitGizmos's Profile Search for other posts by CircuitGizmos Visit CircuitGizmos's Homepage
 
CircuitGizmos
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 7:09am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CircuitGizmos

I don't want the bootloader because the console pins won't be right.

__________________
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
Back to Top View CircuitGizmos's Profile Search for other posts by CircuitGizmos Visit CircuitGizmos's Homepage
 
JohnS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 November 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1848
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 7:30am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote JohnS

You're right that you don't need a bootloader with the PICkit3 but I suspect the Arduino IDE expects the right bootloader.

Unless it can talk direct to a PICkit3, but I think not and anyway typical Arduino users would not have or want a PICkit.

John
Back to Top View JohnS's Profile Search for other posts by JohnS
 
vegipete
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 January 2013
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 142
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 7:30am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote vegipete

Does anything at fubarino.org help?
Back to Top View vegipete's Profile Search for other posts by vegipete
 
CircuitGizmos
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 7:34am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CircuitGizmos

JohnS wrote:
You're right that you don't need a bootloader with the PICkit3 but I suspect the Arduino IDE expects the right bootloader.

Unless it can talk direct to a PICkit3, but I think not and anyway typical Arduino users would not have or want a PICkit.

John


The Arduino IDE has an option to build a hex file that I can read using the PICKIT3 software. I'm not sure what programmer would integrate with the Arduino IDE.

__________________
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
Back to Top View CircuitGizmos's Profile Search for other posts by CircuitGizmos Visit CircuitGizmos's Homepage
 
CircuitGizmos
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 7:37am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CircuitGizmos

vegipete wrote:
Does anything at fubarino.org help?


Fubarino is a subset of the chipKIT stuff. I didn't find anything at the site.


__________________
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
Back to Top View CircuitGizmos's Profile Search for other posts by CircuitGizmos Visit CircuitGizmos's Homepage
 
JohnS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 November 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1848
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 7:41am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote JohnS

Well... if the user will have a PICkit3 then all should be OK - though rather painful.

So... why did you need to change any .ld file? None already that targetted your board or what?

(Yes they're horrible.)

John
Back to Top View JohnS's Profile Search for other posts by JohnS
 
JohnS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 November 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1848
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 8:08am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote JohnS

You can probably look at a few hex files that work (ones not from your new Arduino system) and compare with one that's from the Arduino system to figure what's wrong.

As you'll know, you'll need the DEVCFGn bytes with sane values.

John
Back to Top View JohnS's Profile Search for other posts by JohnS
 
CircuitGizmos
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 9:33am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CircuitGizmos

JohnS wrote:
Well... if the user will have a PICkit3 then all should be OK - though rather painful.


True that, but perhaps improvement later.

JohnS wrote:
So... why did you need to change any .ld file? None already that targetted your board or what?


Correct.

__________________
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
Back to Top View CircuitGizmos's Profile Search for other posts by CircuitGizmos Visit CircuitGizmos's Homepage
 
CircuitGizmos
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 September 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Posted: 27 April 2019 at 9:34am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote CircuitGizmos

JohnS wrote:
You can probably look at a few hex files that work (ones not from your new Arduino system) and compare with one that's from the Arduino system to figure what's wrong.

As you'll know, you'll need the DEVCFGn bytes with sane values.

John


I'm sure I'm zigging when I should be zagging.

__________________
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
Back to Top View CircuitGizmos's Profile Search for other posts by CircuitGizmos Visit CircuitGizmos's Homepage
 


Page of 2 Next >>
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1289 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.12