Home  |  Contents 
Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Pi-cromite V5.4.14: Direct output to HDMI Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 2 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1893
Posted: 30 October 2017 at 7:06pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Please find attached version 5.4.14

2017-10-30_185432_mmbasicjessie.zip

2017-10-30_185448_mmbasicstretch.zip

This includes the ability to use a conected HDMI display as a LCDPANEL

OPTION LCDPANEL HDMI


See the video to watch GUI test running on a 1600x1200 HDMI display



The code automatically reads in the display size and MM.HRES and MM.VRES are set automatically for you. The display is in full 32-bit colour (RGBA).

The code works best on a Pi running Raspbian Lite as the Pixel GUI will break through the Pi-cromite display - anyone know how to fix this?

On a Lite install it works best if you disable the login prompt and the cursor

To disable the login prompt use

sudo systemctl disable getty@tty1.service


to disable the flashing cursor use:

sudo su
setterm -cursor off > /dev/tty1



All normal graphics commands are available including transparent text and BLIT and GUI commands will work as normal. Of course there is no TOUCH capability and mouse control of the cursor is a problem for another day.




Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 April 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2455
Posted: 30 October 2017 at 7:45pm | IP Logged Quote WhiteWizzard

BRILLIANT!

Do you know what the performance is like on a RPi ZeroW? I don't want to erase my test SD card if its 'too slow' (i.e. best run on a RPi3 only).

Regarding TOUCH; there are many RPi 7" capacitive Touch TFTs. Do you think a single point TOUCH could be implemented somehow on these screens (i.e. no need for all the fancy multi-touch stuff that a capacitive allows for). These TFTs are much less 'reflective' as they don't have the horrible shiny resistive 'overlay' making for a much better colour contrast.

I will email you some more Q's . . .

__________________
For everything MicroMite visit MicroMite.org

Direct Email: WhiteWizzard@MicroMite.org
Back to Top View WhiteWizzard's Profile Search for other posts by WhiteWizzard Visit WhiteWizzard's Homepage
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 April 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2455
Posted: 30 October 2017 at 8:30pm | IP Logged Quote WhiteWizzard

Peter,

Will OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE work by any chance?

__________________
For everything MicroMite visit MicroMite.org

Direct Email: WhiteWizzard@MicroMite.org
Back to Top View WhiteWizzard's Profile Search for other posts by WhiteWizzard Visit WhiteWizzard's Homepage
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 April 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2455
Posted: 30 October 2017 at 8:44pm | IP Logged Quote WhiteWizzard

matherp wrote:
The code automatically reads in the display size and MM.HRES and MM.VRES are set automatically for you.


Sorry if this seems like a silly question; so in the above example, is MM.HRES = 1600, and MM.VRES=1200?

IF SO, then does this mean we can use LOAD IMAGE to display much higher resolution images?

Thanks . . .

__________________
For everything MicroMite visit MicroMite.org

Direct Email: WhiteWizzard@MicroMite.org
Back to Top View WhiteWizzard's Profile Search for other posts by WhiteWizzard Visit WhiteWizzard's Homepage
 
Phil23
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 March 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1217
Posted: 30 October 2017 at 8:44pm | IP Logged Quote Phil23

Superb,

Before reading the entire post I felt a Touch feature coming on,
somewhere down the track.

Phil.
Back to Top View Phil23's Profile Search for other posts by Phil23
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1893
Posted: 30 October 2017 at 9:15pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
Do you think a single point TOUCH could be implemented somehow on these screens

Yes but I don't have one to develop/test
Quote:
Will OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE work by any chance?

No. that is a lot of boring grunt work and I'm not sure it gives any advantage over a separate SSH session
Quote:
IF SO, then does this mean we can use LOAD IMAGE to display much higher resolution images?

Yes, works perfectly now
Quote:
are there any other 'niggles' you have with this version?

Raspberry Pi blanks the screen after a timeout if no kbd/mouse input. Haven't solved this yet for Lite but have for Pixel
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 April 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2455
Posted: 30 October 2017 at 9:35pm | IP Logged Quote WhiteWizzard

OK - thanks for those answers.

I will try and arrange a capacitive Touch Screen for you but it won't be this week I'm afraid (funds tied up already).

Let me know if you have a preference in type of TFT - I was thinking of the 'Official RPi Touch Screen', but there are others!

Last question tonight - can you measure how long (in mS) to load a 1600x1200 hi-res bmp when you get a chance. I am curious as to the speed for use as a digital photo frame for my kiddies

(RPi 3 coming tomorrow from RS)

WW



__________________
For everything MicroMite visit MicroMite.org

Direct Email: WhiteWizzard@MicroMite.org
Back to Top View WhiteWizzard's Profile Search for other posts by WhiteWizzard Visit WhiteWizzard's Homepage
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1893
Posted: 31 October 2017 at 8:19am | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
Last question tonight - can you measure how long (in mS) to load a 1600x1200 hi-res bmp


241mSec on a Pi Zero W
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 April 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2455
Posted: 31 October 2017 at 8:29am | IP Logged Quote WhiteWizzard

Thanks for that info - thats great.

I have a RPi3 coming today and was going to put on Lite OS. However, IF I were to install full GUI OS instead, you mentioned about the GUI 'breaking through'. What do you mean by this? Put another way; is MMBASIC useable on a full GUI install enough to see the graphics on the HDMI output.

Courier just been but wasn't the Pi3

WW

__________________
For everything MicroMite visit MicroMite.org

Direct Email: WhiteWizzard@MicroMite.org
Back to Top View WhiteWizzard's Profile Search for other posts by WhiteWizzard Visit WhiteWizzard's Homepage
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1893
Posted: 31 October 2017 at 8:48am | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
is MMBASIC useable on a full GUI install enough to see the graphics on the HDMI output.


It is fully usable but the clock and the load meter update in the top right and overlay the image - only a tiny area on a 1920x1080 screen. This can be largely negated by doing BLIT READ of this area and then BLIT WRITE at frequent intervals. This restores the contents of the mmbasic framebuffer to the screen

Of course, if you start clicking with the mouse other areas of the desktop will "break through".

To stop screen blanking on Lite

sudo nano /boot/cmdline.txt


Append " consoleblank=0" to the end of the line

To stop screen blanking on Pixel (Stetch: not tried on Jessie)

sudo nano /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf


in the "[Seat:*]" section insert the line

"xserver-command=X -s 0 dpms"

In both cases reboot for the change to take effect



Edited by matherp on 31 October 2017 at 8:57am
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1893
Posted: 31 October 2017 at 10:32am | IP Logged Quote matherp

Updated manual with OPTION LCDPANEL HDMI and details of helpful Raspbian mods in Appendix E

2017-10-31_110439_Pi-cromite_Manual.pdf

I've also now found how to get a clear screen on a Pi with the Pixel desktop

First stop the desktop:

sudo systemctl stop lightdm


Then stop the flashing cursor:

sudo su
setterm -cursor off > /dev/tty0


NB this is a different tty device than used in Lite

To re-enable the desktop

sudo systemctl start lightdm



This version of the manual also includes details of the JSON$() function

Edited by matherp on 31 October 2017 at 11:07am
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
plasma
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 April 2012
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 431
Posted: 31 October 2017 at 7:30pm | IP Logged Quote plasma

Wow , great Work matherp

Edited by plasma on 31 October 2017 at 7:31pm
Back to Top View plasma's Profile Search for other posts by plasma
 


Page of 2 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1289 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.12