Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:35 14 Apr 2021 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : stmF7Mite repport

     Page 1 of 6    
Author Message
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 08:49am 17 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi

After some time of hard work with Uwe Becker on the port of MMBasic to the new
STM32F7 Discovery board , here are the advancement.

Basic command :
Clear,Delete,List,New,Run,Copyright,Memory,Drive,Files,Load,Save,Kill
MKDir, RMDir, CHDir, Edit
?,Dim,Do,Else,Elseif,End Function,End Sub,End,EndIf,Exit,For,Function,
GoSub,GoTo,If,Next,Print,Print @,Return,While, Font, CLR$, Option

Basic Functions :
Abs(,Asc(,Atn(,Bin$(,Chr$(,Cos(,Exp(,Hex$(,Left$(,Len(,Mid$(,
Pi,Right$(,Rnd(,Sin(
i added this : acos( , asin( , IntRnd this one return a real random number from internal rnd generator
CalcSin , CalcCos , precalculated (0 to 360deg) sin and cos and directly in Degree.
It's a little faster than the Hardware FPU.

Basic Operators
+,-,*,/,^,Mod,Not,<>,<,>,<=,>=,=,AND,OR,XOR

Timer Functions
Timer, Pause

Graphic Functions
Color, CLS, Circle, Line, Pixel
added : Triangle, Ellipse, Quad, JPG
SetLayer, ShowLayer, CopyLayer , Map , Obj3D (not finish)
Remade : Sprite

Keyboard Functions
Keydown

GPIO Functions
Setpin, Pin()
Actually the GPIO are only digital.

For save or load , you can use USB Stick or MMC Card.(onboard)
And if you dont like tera term , use a usb keyboard to the 2nd usb port

Uwe Becker have made a short video from Sprite running in front of a 800x600 pixels map moving in background that you can see the graphics perf : https://youtu.be/5g3-ztufoNM

If you want to test it , just go to : stmF7Mite and get the binary to download on your st7 disco board (if you have one).

Next will be to work on GPIO , finish Graphics , add Audio , and , and , and ...

The Sprite Editor is Upgraded too , the st7 Sprites and Maps use argb1555 color format that allow real transparency
A Picture (jpg,bmp,png ....) converter is available too for made your map or convert picture in binary loaded from the Map Load function.
The map can have 1.000.000 16bits pixels (can be upgraded too) that is enough in most case.
I have limited to 500 Sprite of 32x32 pixels ... i never see a game with so much

This is all done with System Workbench for STM32

So , see you here on the next advancement

Cheers.
Edited by darthmite 2015-09-18
Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
Justplayin

Senior Member

Joined: 31/01/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 272
Posted: 10:25am 17 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Wow! The video is very impressive. The graphics look great and are very smooth. I'll have to add this to my Christmas wish list.

--Curtis
I am not a Mad Scientist... It makes me happy inventing new ways to take over the world!!

CGCOLORMAX2, CGMMSTICK1, DUINOMITE-MINI, MICROMITE-150, MICROMITE-170, SKINNYMITE, Explore64
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 10:39am 17 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks

But why wait Xmas ? , in other case , I'm sure that for Xmas we will have made more improvements

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
DaQue
Newbie

Joined: 18/09/2015
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Posted: 03:15am 19 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is exciting. I have the STM32F7 Discovery board and haven't been able to do anything with it because Mbed still doesn't work on it.
I see you used System Workbench, I will have to get that too. Any chance you will add basic touchscreen input extensions?
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 10:20am 19 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi ,
I'm sure Uwe Becker will look at this when we finish the actual work.
It will be nonsense to not use the capacitive multitouch capability from the screen
I have actually some problem to made a 'fast' 3D engine to integrate on MMBasic ... but it will work soon or latter

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
viscomjim
Guru

Joined: 08/01/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 925
Posted: 04:30pm 19 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That video capability is really impressive. I'm floored. This is a great port of mmbasic. GREAT WORK!!!!
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 11:48pm 19 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well , not really , it's normal for the stm32f7 and dma2d
And what you see in the video is compiled for Debug at optimization -o0 ... with
no debug parameter and optimization at -o3 it's so fast that we need dma2d interrupt or the screen flick some times.


Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 08:05am 20 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@DaQue 5 points Multitouch is ready on the new Alpha release 33 posted today here :
Uwe Becker

Enjoy

Edited by darthmite 2015-09-21
Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
derexponent
Newbie

Joined: 20/09/2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Posted: 09:19pm 20 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hi @All,

i am Uwe and try to give a little hint whats comming next
for the stmF7Mite (the name is only a wildcard

i have just added support for the touch screen with the standard
command "Touched()" and to improve speed a new command "MTouched()"

the suffix "MTouched(#s)" returns the number of touch positions (up to five)
and is the only new command who really poll the touch hardware.

after that you can use "MTouched(#x,1)" to "MTouched(#x,5)"
to get the five x positions (same for the y positions)

at the moment i work with the UART (COM1+COM2), thats comming next

and open major features are (no special order) :

1. SPI
2. I2C
3. remaining GPIO modes (Analog, Frq...)
4. Interrupts
5. File Handling from Basic-Prg
6. store settings in Flash
7. Sound
8. LoadBMP
9. LoadJPG
10. SpriteCollision

please give a comment if i missed a major feature
and let me know your favorite one.

thats it for now...
dont forget to test and report bugs

Uwe
 
derexponent
Newbie

Joined: 20/09/2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Posted: 07:45am 21 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

update : A34

COM1+COM2 with 4800 to 115200 baud
(without FC, OC, DE, Interrupt)

i have also uploaded a documentation template
with a list of all BASIC commands
to insert "working / not working"
(and the syntax if needed)

but i dont have the time to write
test cases for all of them

maybe in a rainy day

 
viscomjim
Guru

Joined: 08/01/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 925
Posted: 07:52am 21 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Does the serial have the buffer like the uMite?

Great effort by the way. This is like a supermite or something like that....
 
derexponent
Newbie

Joined: 20/09/2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Posted: 08:06am 21 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

yes, at the moment fix 256 Bytes RX-Buffer for every Com-Port

but i uploaded the version to early
(i dont have time for testing :-)

the sprite graphic is flickering
thats not what i wanted

 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 11:26am 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi ,

I just finished the base for 3D Object and it work well for 100% software 3D
We can load up to 25 object , each can have 600 points and 600 faces.
But try to keep this value lower as possible to be fast.
In same time Uwe resolved the COM1 and 2 issue and made the SPI Library work !!

Some more next time ...

Cheers.

Edited by darthmite 2015-09-27
Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
phantomnet
Newbie

Joined: 21/09/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9
Posted: 11:31am 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

if i’ll write :
10 color red,black
20 cls 0
30 color blue,white
40 print “anything”

it should to be printed on lcd as fore color: blue and background color: white
but is not?! :(
lines 10 and 20 doing their job but line 30 isnt
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 11:51am 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I don't know what version you using , but here it's ok on version a34

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
phantomnet
Newbie

Joined: 21/09/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9
Posted: 12:22pm 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm using latest version A35
I've check on A34 and is not ok !!
it just print fore:white, Bacground:blue (system colors) and
you cannot have to change Print command colors, only system colors!!

If you type separate commands like
> color blue,white
> print "232323"
232323
>
it's working

BUT

> 10 color blue,white
> 20 print "asdasda"
> run
asdasda
>
its not working !!!

 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 12:29pm 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Strange

Something for Uwe to try out.
First time I tried in console , it's why it worked.

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
phantomnet
Newbie

Joined: 21/09/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9
Posted: 01:04pm 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is my test setup:

STM32F746 Discovery
Arduino proto shield
CC1101 board


Rear view

Front view

Connectors

Prototype Shield

Work in progress:
CC1101 432Mhz scanner (thanks for SPI1/SPI2 implementation )


 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 723
Posted: 04:19pm 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Humm... Awesome setup...! But what type of display unit are you using..? I see ST on it... Not sure how it interfaces... I have a discovery board, but no touch display for it... Looks like the firmware package is shaping up nicely..! I was wondering if support for the A/D and D/A hardware would be included...

Anyway.. Nice work Gent's..!
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4738
Posted: 08:57pm 26 Sep 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Great work Edited by matherp 2015-09-28
 
     Page 1 of 6    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2021