Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 14:24 04 Dec 2022 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : CMM2 Max-E-Man

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
realmnm

Newbie

Joined: 07/07/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Posted: 11:48am 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi everyone,
  I've been working on this game for the last week or so now, so thought it was time to show off the progress so far.  There is still a fair bit to do, but I'm pretty happy with how it is coming along.

So I present to you CMM2 Max-E-Man.  It is playable, there are things that are not working or not implemented yet, see the todo list in the readme.tx file for what I know needs to be done.

Any feedback appreciated.

Enjoy,
Martin

Max-E-Man.zip
This signature intentionally left blank.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6619
Posted: 03:35pm 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Looking good  
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2367
Posted: 05:55pm 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Good format and nice movement.

  realmnm said  It is playable


How? I got no response with a nunchuk, and didn't find that arrow keys did anything. I haven't played this since it was an arcade game when it first came out, so wondering how it should work?
PicoMite on fruitoftheshed
 
Atomizer_Zero
Senior Member

Joined: 04/07/2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 134
Posted: 07:16pm 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nicely done. You can tell the AI isn't spot on yet, but it is close!. player movement super smooth and the game functions great.

Looking forward to trying it out again when its finished

  lizby said  
How? I got no response with a nunchuk, and didn't find that arrow keys did anything. I haven't played this since it was an arcade game when it first came out, so wondering how it should work?


The readme states that you need to enable the nunchuk support in the top of the program. regarding movement, it worked fine with the arrow keys for me, through USB. didnt respond through serial though.
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2367
Posted: 08:48pm 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks. I read the readme and saw "nunchuk", so went and dug mine out, unused for years. Then it was several hours until I got to where my monitor is, and I had forgotten about having to enable it. And I don't have a keyboard connected, just the laptop.

Now it works--great job--and I have to remember what it is I'm trying to do and how to accomplish it.
PicoMite on fruitoftheshed
 
Sasquatch

Senior Member

Joined: 08/05/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 264
Posted: 09:08pm 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

WOW Looks great and plays ok.  Almost hard to believe it's all done in BASIC!
-Carl
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2652
Posted: 07:55am 28 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Great work in progress Martin,

I now have to find my Nunchuk and give it a try..

I havent seen it since I bought one to test the alignment of my cutouts for the front panel.

It needs sound but I am sure it is in the ToDo list..

Keep up the good work

Kind Regards

Mick
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
Andrew_G
Guru

Joined: 18/10/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 673
Posted: 06:33am 29 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Martin,

Great effort. Looking forward to the next version!
Cheers,

Andrew
 
realmnm

Newbie

Joined: 07/07/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Posted: 10:44am 17 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ok, it's finally here, the new and greatly improved version of Max-E-Man (V0.7).  It has a lot less bugs, and a lot more features, including sound.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I have had in getting it to this point.  It's still not finished yet, but the todo list is getting shorter.

Support for the Nuckchuck in the front port if detected.

Press the 1 key or the Z button on the Nunchuck to start, use the arrow keys or Nunchuck joystick to move, press ESC to quit.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Martin


Max-E-Man.zip
This signature intentionally left blank.
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2652
Posted: 04:56am 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Martin,

Great job I think this is `almost perfect'

I does need a volume level control.. I run my sound through a logitech bluetooth speaker and it seems the touch volume buttons dont work when fed via the AUX input so the roof tiles get blasted off my roof.

I tried adding a volume command in at the start but I assume you have set the volumes when you play  sounds

Looking great anyway.

If you feeling bored... A good rendition of Galaxians would go down well

Kind Regards

Mick
Edited 2020-08-18 14:56 by bigmik
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
realmnm

Newbie

Joined: 07/07/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Posted: 05:07am 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  bigmik said  Hi Martin,

Great job I think this is `almost perfect'

Thanks.  it still needs some more before I am happy with it.

  bigmik said  
I does need a volume level control..
.....
I tried adding a volume command in at the start but I assume you have set the volumes when you play  sounds

Unfortunately, I had to use the DAC command to play the sound without killing performance, and that doesn't use the volume commands.  I would have to adjust the samples to change the volume.

  bigmik said  
If you feeling bored... A good rendition of Galaxians would go down well

I can neither confirm nor deny that it is on the to do list.

Martin
This signature intentionally left blank.
 
vegipete

Guru

Joined: 29/01/2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 938
Posted: 05:48am 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  realmnm said  Unfortunately, I had to use the DAC command to play the sound without killing performance, and that doesn't use the volume commands.  I would have to adjust the samples to change the volume.

The "MATH SCALE XXXnoise(), scale_amount, XXnoise()" command should work perfectly for this. Arrays with 1 dimension work fine for scaling.

==============
Alas, Max-E-Man (V0.7) falls over and plays dead when I try to run it.
The error is line 69: data chase, scatter, chase, scatter ...
'Error: chase is not declared'
Looks like the variables/constants in data statements issue.

MMBasic v 5.05.05b10
Visit Vegipete's *Mite Library for cool programs.
 
realmnm

Newbie

Joined: 07/07/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Posted: 05:58am 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  vegipete said  
  realmnm said  Unfortunately, I had to use the DAC command to play the sound without killing performance, and that doesn't use the volume commands.  I would have to adjust the samples to change the volume.

The "MATH SCALE XXXnoise(), scale_amount, XXnoise()" command should work perfectly for this. Arrays with 1 dimension work fine for scaling.


Thanks, I will look into it.

  vegipete said  
==============
Alas, Max-E-Man (V0.7) falls over and plays dead when I try to run it.
The error is line 69: data chase, scatter, chase, scatter ...
'Error: chase is not declared'
Looks like the variables/constants in data statements issue.

MMBasic v 5.05.05b10

Me too since I did the upgrade.

Martin
This signature intentionally left blank.
 
vegipete

Guru

Joined: 29/01/2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 938
Posted: 06:15am 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If I fill the const values into the data statements, change the rgb colour words to capitals and ensure I run it from the correct directory, it runs beautifully.

Very nicely done!

About the only annoyance to me is the keypress handling. Your code only checks the first keydown so cornering is sometimes slightly difficult if I've ham-fisted multiple direction keys.

My nunchuk also has trouble hitting the down direction. I often overshoot my desired passageway and end up as fodder. At least I don't have to feed it quarters.

All in all, pretty spectacular in my mind. You are setting the bar very high for the rest of us! (I love the ghost names. Especially Bruce. Did ELO sing about him?)
Visit Vegipete's *Mite Library for cool programs.
 
Sasquatch

Senior Member

Joined: 08/05/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 264
Posted: 02:31pm 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

WoW    This is amazing!!!  And 60FPS in MMBasic???  Great Work!!!  I'll no doubt spend waaay too much time testing this  
-Carl
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2830
Posted: 02:52pm 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I agree with everyone else, that is awesome, just like the real thing

I must sort out a sound solution for my CMM2 so I can enjoy it fully

Tom
CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Jamesk
Newbie

Joined: 04/08/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Posted: 08:44pm 18 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  realmnm said  Ok, it's finally here, the new and greatly improved version of Max-E-Man (V0.7).  It has a lot less bugs, and a lot more features, including sound.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I have had in getting it to this point.  It's still not finished yet, but the todo list is getting shorter.


This is amazing work.    A "pixel perfect" port of this game was something I wanted to create back when I was learning BASIC. I decided it was impossible. 40 years later ...
 
realmnm

Newbie

Joined: 07/07/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Posted: 11:01am 19 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

New version 0.71 fixes issues with CONST used in DATA statements.

Requires firmware Version 5.05.05b4 or higher.

I tried to put in a check for firmware versions, but that didn't work as well as I would like, so for now it is not being used.

Enjoy.

Martin
Max-E-Man.zip
This signature intentionally left blank.
 
ZXKIM81

Newbie

Joined: 17/08/2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Posted: 11:16am 19 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

i get the [1418]error Sintax
i am on mmbasic version 5.05.4

can any one shed some light on this as i wanna play it
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2367
Posted: 11:23am 19 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  ZXKIM81 said  i get the [1418]error Sintax
i am on mmbasic version 5.05.4

can any one shed some light on this as i wanna play it


  realmnm said  Requires firmware Version 5.05.05b4 or higher.
?
PicoMite on fruitoftheshed
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2022