Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 00:55 17 May 2022 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Help please - Picomite with SPI LCD

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6117
Posted: 07:57am 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

AFAIK there are no 3.2" ili9341 - try ILI9488.
 
cosmic frog
Senior Member

Joined: 09/02/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 219
Posted: 08:52am 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Could this just be a case of a weak power supply/USB cable?

Dave.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2185
Posted: 11:38am 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I've seen the 3.2" ILI9341 advertised for a long time. It's still 320x240 though, you don't get any extra pixels. I must admit that I've never actually seen one in real life though - it may be just markings and measurements!

If the display is fed from the 5V line it should be ok. I've often run PicoMite / LCD combinations from all sorts of USB ports & cables. They are pretty forgiving.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 483
Posted: 11:52am 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

3.2" ILI9341 320x240 do exist, there is one in front of me now. I have a 33 ohm resistor to +5V for the backlight LED, haven't tried PWM on it yet. If using PWM start with 50% and something should be visible.

In the photo the LED is a grey wire but does not go to the breadboard. What is it connected to?
Edited 2022-02-02 22:00 by phil99
 
Glen0
Regular Member

Joined: 12/10/2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 46
Posted: 08:28pm 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

WORKING AT LAST
Big thanks for all your contributions.
In the end it was as Peter said, ILI9488
I will be writing this in bold permanent ink on the back of each display. I suppose it's easy for the seller to make the mistake of typing the wrong controller number in the description. I am once again reminded to keep an open mind when faced with such issues.

Luckily the display and Pico can tolerate/survive having 5V shoved down their throats.

It appears to work with or without the MISO pin connected. (Grey wire in the photo)

I have the LED pin connected directly to "VSYS". (3.3V or 100% duty cycle)

Now to get Touch and SD working..
Edited 2022-02-03 06:30 by Glen0
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2185
Posted: 08:35pm 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Excellent news! :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6117
Posted: 08:40pm 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

To get touch and SD working you must disconnect MISO or connect it via a 680 ohm resistor
 
Glen0
Regular Member

Joined: 12/10/2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 46
Posted: 08:53pm 02 Feb 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Will do thanks
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2022