Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:06 26 Jun 2022 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : New version of PicoMite/PicoMiteVGA V5.07.03

     Page 2 of 3    
Author Message
flasherror
Senior Member

Joined: 07/01/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 155
Posted: 03:33pm 22 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Geoffg said  I have updated the manual


Just a suggestion: Manual should have revision date in addition to version #. It's easy to be using an older manual and no easy way to know (since version # is the same).
Edited 2022-01-23 01:33 by flasherror
 
flasherror
Senior Member

Joined: 07/01/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 155
Posted: 06:21pm 22 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have just noticed a possible mistake in Picomite manual 5.07.03

SOUND OUTPUT P29

Manual says:
The PicoMite can play stereo WAV files located on the SD card or generate precise sine waves using the PLAY command.
Before these commands can be used the output pins to be used must be allocated as audio outputs. This is done  using the OPTION AUDIO command. For example:
OPTION AUDIO GP0, GP1
will configure pin GP0 to be the left channel and GP1 as the right channel


The Picomite hardware diagram on P9 shows GP0 (Pin1) as PWM0A and GP1(Pin2) as PWM0B.

According to OPTION AUDIO description above, GP0 should be the LEFT channel.

But the Sound output diagram shows PWM A as connected to the RIGHT channel:




1. Which one is correct? The description or the diagram? Is PWM A the left or right channel?
2. Also, the description for OPTION AUDIO on P75 does not indicate Left/Right channels.
Edited 2022-01-23 04:36 by flasherror
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2443
Posted: 06:53pm 22 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Should OPTION DEFAULT FONT 8,1 work now?
It refuses to set as default in colour mode, but OPTION DEFAULT 7,1 works and FONT 8,1 works at the command line until you enter the editor, when it changes to the normal font. On leaving the editor the font has reset to FONT 7,1.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1584
Posted: 06:11pm 23 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter
Is it possible you could consider making access to sending data using SPI easier?
I mean like sending and receiving strings

I've been doing a lot of reading of the manual and I noticed that accessing SD cards by SPI "almost" does what I wanted

If we know the pins we wanted to use say for example

miso gp8
mosi gp11
clk gp10
cs gp9
handshake gp21

Could it be possible to simply send and receive text strings over SPI the same as we would using UART?

The reason I ask is as I'm sure you know I'm still playing with a couple of versions of RP2040 that have built in wifi but they communicate with the wifi chip using SPI and not uart

As it's only text commands thats needed to be sent ie "AT+GMR"  and I cannot find a way to do this and receive the reply using SPI "as it is" could you please consider adding this functionality?
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6225
Posted: 06:24pm 23 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  SPI WRITE nbr, string$


to send

Use the SPI function to read and I assume throw away the 0 returns. SPI is triggered by the master so it has no way of knowing when/if a slave will reply with useful data. All it does is receive a byte for every one sent

The SPI functionality is common across all MMbasic and not up for change
 
mobluse

Newbie

Joined: 10/02/2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 24
Posted: 07:21pm 23 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I believe this is still wrong in the current manual:
"GPIO pins GP21, GP22, and GP26 are reserved to drive the VGA display in monochrome mode" and should be:
"GPIO pins GP16, GP17, and GP20 are reserved to drive the VGA display in monochrome mode".

I downloaded the file using curl on another Linux computer and searched the file so there shouldn't be a problem with cache:
curl -o PicoMite_User_Manual.pdf https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_User_Manual.pdf ; pdftotext PicoMite_User_Manual.pdf - | grep -i 'gp26'


You can install pdftotext in Debian-type Linux using:
sudo apt install poppler-utils
.
Maker Pi Pico Rev1.2, DuinoMite-Mini, Raspberry Pi 0-4, iCE40HX8K, Arduino Uno, VM111, STK500, ZX81
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2777
Posted: 07:26pm 23 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  lew247 said  As it's only text commands thats needed to be sent ie "AT+GMR"  and I cannot find a way to do this and receive the reply using SPI "as it is" could you please consider adding this functionality?

I suspect you NEED a known working example (e.g. Arduino).

Or, give this SPI way up.

The latter, really.

John
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2524
Posted: 07:41pm 23 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  JohnS said  I suspect you NEED a known working example (e.g. Arduino).

Or, give this SPI way up.

The latter, really.


That seems very defeatist. Lewis seems to know the strings to send so we write them and clock out the corresponding output with the SPI() function to see what replies it gives (this is probably all in a spec somewhere). Then we wrap it all in a bunch of function calls so we can ignore the fact that SPI is involved.

Hopefully I'm getting the device this week and we will see what I can shake out ... or at least we can all have a laugh at the egg that I'm wearing, a win either way.

Best wishes,

Tom
CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2443
Posted: 08:03pm 23 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@mobluse
The only pins used for mono VGA are Hsync, Vsync and greenH. None of the other pins are active. GP16, GP17 & GP20. Geoff already knows about this.

@lew
All SPI works the same, the MMBasic way is standard. If you want a reply then you clock out your query, throwing away any data that comes back then clock out a string of nulls equal to the length of reply that you are expecting and read the reply that comes back.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2953
Posted: 12:53am 24 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  flasherror said  I have just noticed a possible mistake in Picomite manual 5.07.03 SOUND OUTPUT P29

The description is correct.  I have updated the manual (with a revision number) to fix it and add your suggestions.

Geoff
Edited 2022-01-24 10:54 by Geoffg
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
Turbo46

Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1011
Posted: 01:37am 24 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@lew247, at risk of hijacking this post further...

I'm not really familiar with SPI but I have two suggestions;

Is it possible to send a number that represents the message and use that as an index into an array to retrieve the text, or use SELECT CASE to act on that number?

If you do want to send the text, as typed or for some other reason, you could bit bang your own version in the same fashion as reading from or reading to a serial register?

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6225
Posted: 07:51am 24 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Please note Geoff has also updated the binaries to fix a bug nobody has noticed so we haven't updated the version. There was an issue with command line editing on the VGA version and the same on the PicoMite when a display was used as the console
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2443
Posted: 08:07am 24 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

-- Deleted as off topic --
See SPI thread
Edited 2022-01-24 18:12 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2777
Posted: 09:15am 24 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  thwill said  
  JohnS said  I suspect you NEED a known working example (e.g. Arduino).

Or, give this SPI way up.

The latter, really.


That seems very defeatist. Lewis seems to know the strings to send so we write them and clock out the corresponding output with the SPI() function to see what replies it gives (this is probably all in a spec somewhere). Then we wrap it all in a bunch of function calls so we can ignore the fact that SPI is involved.

Hopefully I'm getting the device this week and we will see what I can shake out ... or at least we can all have a laugh at the egg that I'm wearing, a win either way.

Best wishes,

Tom

I gather he's looked hard & there is no working example & no spec.

Hopefully you do better...

However, as they will struggle to sell devices with such lack of support, why choose them? There are others which do have examples/specs.

John
 
geobh
Newbie

Joined: 29/01/2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Posted: 03:54am 30 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

FONT 8 ISSUE

I'm trying to use FONT 8 in PicoMiteV5.07.03.uf2 but all I get is the screen erased from where the text should start to the right and down to the bottom of the screen.
It fills this part of the screen with the background colour with no text.
My command is:

Text 5, 5, "Front", L, 8, 1, RGB(yellow), RGB(BLue)

With version 5.07.01 I had a definefont #8 written in C and when I have this included the font works fine.

I'm using a Raspberry Pi Pico plugged into a 2.8" waveshare 320 x 240 screen.

Can someone help me and let me know what I'm doing wrong please?

Thanks George
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6225
Posted: 10:06am 30 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Works perfectly on Waveshare 2.8 check your option  set up and make sure you are using latest release downloaded from Geoof's site

  Quote   option list
OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP10,GP11,GP12
OPTION LCDPANEL ST7789_320, LANDSCAPE,GP8,GP15,GP9,GP13
OPTION TOUCH GP16,GP17
GUI CALIBRATE 0, 408, 3901, 900, -646
OPTION SDCARD GP22
> Text 5, 5, "Front", L, 8, 1, RGB(yellow), RGB(BLue)
>
 
geobh
Newbie

Joined: 29/01/2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Posted: 10:42am 30 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks
I have
OPTION SYSTEM spi GP10, GP11, GP12
OPTION TOUCH GP16, GP17
OPTION LCDPANEL ST7789_320, RL, GP8, GP15, GP9, GP13
OPTION SDCARD GP22

when I do GUI CALIBRATE I get
Deviation X = 2, Y = 0 (pix

When I run my program I still get the screen wiped out from the start point for text across to the right and down to the bottom.

My test program is
dim integer num, widt=320, leng=240

cls
backlight 80
for num = 0 to 120 step 10
box num,num,widt - num*2,leng - num*2,1,rgb(white)
next num
Text 5, 5, "Front", L, 8, 1, RGB(yellow), RGB(BLue)
line 118, 118, 200, 118, 4, rgb(green)
end

Is my screen rotation the issue?
Thanks
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6225
Posted: 11:11am 30 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Is my screen rotation the issue?

No

  Quote  When I run my program I still get the screen wiped out from the start point for text across to the right and down to the bottom.

I don't, tested with your settings and a fresh download of firmware from Geoff's site




Edited 2022-01-30 22:03 by matherp
 
KD5ZXG
Regular Member

Joined: 21/01/2022
Location: United States
Posts: 53
Posted: 05:17pm 30 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  @mobluse
The only pins used for mono VGA are Hsync, Vsync and greenH. None of the other pins are active. GP16, GP17 & GP20. Geoff already knows about this.


@Mixtel90
In Mono, what delivers current for Red and Blue?
One GreenH pin alone cannot drive three x 9.3mA loads, can it?
According to VGAMite-Project.pdf, GP18 and GP21 are still connected.
Is a proper Mono signal green only? Would that appear green or white?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2443
Posted: 06:35pm 30 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

In mono mode only green is driven - it's not a white display, it's green.
If you want a black and white display you have two options:

A: True black & white
Feed an emitter follower from the mono green output and take all three red, green & blue signals from it's cathode via resistors. Probably about 220R each.

B: 16 Shades of grey (sorry, can't manage 50!)
Use colour mode but use a R-2R ladder on all four outputs. That feeds an emitter follower as above.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs
 
     Page 2 of 3    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2022