Home
JAQForum Ver 19.10.27
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:04 20 Nov 2019 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : H743Zi2 Board

     Page 4 of 4    
Author Message
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 521
Posted: 09:09pm 13 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

Hi, Page 2 has the links I'm using. I'll post them here as well.  



480MHz NUCLEO-HZ43Z12 board.

LINK STATUS PIN

JP6  OFF PB13 E-NET
SB27 OFF PG11 " "
SB29 OFF PC5 " "
SB30 OFF PG13 " "
SB31 OFF PA7 " "

SB21 OFF PA11 USB D-
SB22 OFF PA12 USB D+
SB23 OFF PA9 USB vBus
SB24 OFF PA10 USB ID

SB36 OFF PC4

SB52 OFF If VBat is from external backup source.

SB57 OFF PA1 E-NET
SB64 OFF PC1 " "
SB72 OFF PA2 " "

SB76 OFF PG7 general IO and not connected to USB Over current.
SB77 ON  PD10 (DEFAULT) PD10 is reserved for USB power on timing.

SB15 ON  PC9 (99) to CN12 pin 1
SB14 ON  PC8 (98) to CN12 pin 2

There may be another link or two required as I've only focused on "every pin" on the inner rows of CN11 and CN12. Obviously the pins on the outer Rows of CN11 / CN12 that are used for LCD (16 bit), Touch and the SD card are also working correctly.

I also remember seeing something about PIN PF11 is not to be used as an AD input, only as a digital IO.

It appears that there are interactions between some Pins that exclude ADC on other pins depending on links, so what I hinted about PF11 above is likely incorrect


Edited 2019-11-14 07:15 by KeepIS
It's all too hard.
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 521
Posted: 10:27pm 13 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

FYI for anyone new to the ARM H7.

One thing to keep in mind when programming the ARM H7 via USB CN1 connector using the Embedded STR-LINK / File system (copying the XXX.BIN file to the NODE Drive).

If you are loading new firmware into a H7 board that is part of a working device, with power hungry large LCD's etc, these usually require a power source other then the limited power available via the USB connection to CN1. In this case the H7 Board must be powered up BEFORE the USB connection to CN1 is connected to the PC (+5V).

Failure to do so can cause any BIN file copy to fail. If using ST-CUBE / ST-LINK software, it may fail to connect or become unstable.

Mike.

BTW:

I have a mix of Z1 and Z2 boards:

A simple way to tell what board in being used (if inside a case or not visible) is to connect CN1 USB skt to the PC, the virtual drive Node name has something like:

NOD_H743ZI2 or NODE_H743ZI depending on the board.

.
Edited 2019-11-14 08:36 by KeepIS
It's all too hard.
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 521
Posted: 09:41pm 16 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

I now detect the Z1 or Z12 boards in my app. I also modified the transfer of a Basic program to device Memory, in this case H712.

Up-loads a 244Kb to the H7 in 10.9 seconds.

Sending the typical small program file is just ridiculously fast, even on an M100+.

BTW: Time to download 244Kb of program memory to the PC is just under 15 seconds.


It's all too hard.
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 643
Posted: 02:44pm 17 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

What is the above a screen shot of?
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 521
Posted: 10:01pm 17 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

Hello lizby,

This is a program I wrote to consolidate all the programming apps, an Editor, Terminal, loading firmware, quickly uploading code files and downloading them from memory to the PC, having selectable option lists available for my various MMBasic platforms (M100, ARM and others) and being able to upload the complete option list with one click. Lastly, having common setup options like GUI calibrate, test, reset, RUN etc at the touch of a button.

EG: I use Tera Term as the terminal editor, when launched from my app, Tera Term is automatically set to 132 columns wide, the device port (open in my program) is then handed over to Tera Term and Tera Term opens connected to the device and ready to go.

So swapping between Devices with different ports makes no difference to Tera Term, it's always set the current selected device. Com ports and connection speeds are remembered for around 10 devices by my program. Port speed changes are mostly automatic with my program handling the opening, closing reset and changing and reconnection of the selected baud rate.          

A while back I thought I'd share it in case anyone found it useful, however I really think most people have there own way of doing things and are not really interested, but I'll post the link to the current version in any case, it's a ZIP file, just make a directory then copy the ZIP contents into the directory.
 
Program ZIP


Mike.
It's all too hard.
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 643
Posted: 11:52pm 17 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

Sweet. Don't know if I'll use it, since I'm not doing that much development now, but it looks like a very good compilation of things most often needed to be done with a micromite.

Thanks for sharing.
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 235
Posted: 10:08pm 18 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

  KeepIS said  Hello lizby,

A while back I thought I'd share it in case anyone found it useful, however I really think most people have there own way of doing things and are not really interested, but I'll post the link to the current version in any case, it's a ZIP file, just make a directory then copy the ZIP contents into the directory.
 
Program ZIP


Mike.


Heck I am always interested in new/different approaches. I just didn't want to be a PITA by asking what this was about.

Many thanks, Mike
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 521
Posted: 01:30am 19 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 

Really, there is no such thing as a PITA when it comes to things like this, only people who are rude, nasty or mean are a PITA.

BTW The help in that program is just thrown together as I go along (not even spell checked) I have a hidden key that allows me to edit and add to help pages on the fly.

The program started out as something I needed for myself and sort of grew as I realised how useful it was and how quickly I could experiment / switch between the M100, ARM, UBW32 etc. So apology to anyone who tries it and has trouble getting started with it, can always PM me.

Mike.
It's all too hard.
 
     Page 4 of 4    


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2019