Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 02:06 25 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : CMM2 Floppy Drive, Is it possible?

Page 1 of 3    
Kingeorg

Posted: 11:27pm 27 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello.
I am brand new to the world of Color Maximite 2, but I'd like to know if it's possible to connect a Floppy Drive to the Color Maximite 2 to add the perfect touch of "age" I think it needs (Besides, I have hundreds of floppy disks that are sitting around).
Can I connect it directly to the 40pin with a ribbon? (I noticed that the floppy ribbons are smaller...) Is it even feasible?
Thank you for your help in advance.

TassyJim

Guru

Posted: 01:25am 28 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Short answer - No.

Long answer:
If you had a USB floppy drive you might be able to find a version of the HobbyTronics host board that can talk to it.
The HobbyTronics firmware does support USB flash drives so that's part way there.
There are a few USB host devices out there so you might have a long search.
Look for something for Arduino or RPi.

Much easier to transfer the floppy data onto SDcards.

You certainly can't plug the floppy drive into the expansion port.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help

Grogster

Admin Group

Posted: 02:19am 28 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello and welcome.

I concur with Jim.
I'm not saying it is impossible, but it is pretty much the next thing to impossible.

You might have more luck using a CMM2 to build a floppy-drive music machine like this one here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oGfkPCZYfFw[/YRL]

These are clever!

But back to your original question - no, I don't ever see that happening.