Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 21:04 19 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Relais controlled  via Serial RS232

Page 1 of 3    
athlon1900

Posted: 10:44am 15 Jun 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello @all !

First i'm only a hobbyist in electronis.  
But i'll share my relais project.

The story :
There are many relay cards to buy, but they all have one disadvantage.
They are using too many pins. 1 pin per relay.
Sure, there are I2C / SPI gpio extenders such as MCP23017, the control for beginners is a bit difficult.

That's why I made a relay card with control via RS232.
it is very easy to control, just send a string to the card to switch the relays.
Fast, uncomplicated, only 1 pin!
Since RS232 is used, an ESP8266 or ESP32 can also be used for control.
It's easy with the esp-link firmware.

I realized it with a Pic18F84A, which I still had lying around.

If someone is interested, I can upload the hex file.

best regards ,
athlon1900

Edited 2021-06-15 20:45 by athlon1900

circuit

Posted: 12:23pm 15 Jun 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

athlon1900 said  Hello @all !

There are many relay cards to buy, but they all have one disadvantage.
They are using too many pins. 1 pin per relay.
Sure, there are I2C / SPI gpio extenders such as MCP23017, the control for beginners is a bit difficult.

That's why I made a relay card with control via RS232.
it is very easy to control, just send a string to the card to switch the relays.
Fast, uncomplicated, only 1 pin!