![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite V6.00.02 betas
Page 1 of 12 ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9512 |
V6.00.02b0 is available on https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip Bugs fixed Fixes bug in forward references in PIO assembler when the starting line number is > 1 Fixes bug in PRINT @(x,y) when outputting to a computer console By default disables heartbeat and enables access to all pins on RP2350B Allows selection of GP19 for PSRAM PIN Fixes bug in TILE HEIGHT 12 command in PicoMiteVGA Fixes bug in TILE HEIGHT command in PicoMiteHDMI[USB] setting the screen to white Fixes bug in LINSTR changing the regular expression if a variable General The firmware now implements the ability to save the entire variable space to the A: drive or PSRAM (if available) and subsequently restore it. This is completely transparent to the user although saving to the A: drive does take a second or so and there must be free space of just less than 256KB available. This allows commands that historically have required access to the complete variable space to be run from within a program (e.g. FILES). Specifically, this allows the implementation of a CHAIN command When PSRAM is enabled 2MB of the available PSRAM is reserved for system use. The remaining space(typically 6MB) is available as normal MMBasic variable space This allows 5 RAM program slots to be created and used both from within a program and at the command line. Of course RAM program slots will not survive a power cycle but they will survive a system reset. New functionality Layer buffer now available in VGA mode 1 (252MHz and above) and all HDMI mode 1 resolutions Supports ; at the end of LONGSTRING PRINT to suppress the CR/LF I2C(2) OPEN now supports 1000 as a speed FILE command can now be used in a program CHAIN fname$ [,cmdline$] ' Allows the program to run another program with the variable space preserved - command is recommended to be used in top level program and not from within a subroutine (may work OK but not tested for side-effects) EDIT FILE command used in a program will now only be memory limited the same as EDIT SAVE CONTEXT [CLEAR]' saves the variable space and optionally clears it - command should be used in top level program and not from within a subroutine (may work OK but not tested for side-effects). If used in a subroutine a subsequent LOAD CONTEXT must DEFINITELY be in the same subroutine or a crash/corruption will DEFINITELY happen. LOAD CONTEXT [KEEP]' restores the variable space to the previously saved state and optionally preserves the stored variables to allow a second LOAD if required. RAM command (RP2350 with PSRAM only) functions like the FLASH command with 5 program slots available in PSRAM. All commands except RAM LOAD (copies a RAM slot to the main flash program space) can be used in a program. RAM FILE LOAD n,fname$ [,O[VERWRITE]] can be used to load a RAM slot from a standard disk .BAS file SHIFT-F3 to F10 now work for computer console. NB: Shift-F1, F2, F11, and F12 don't appear to send codes so can't work PLAY MODFILE will preferentially use space in PSRAM if enabled for the file buffer (RP2350 only). In this case a modbuffer does not need to be enabled with the OPTION command Edited 2025-01-16 21:41 by matherp |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7106 |
I'm *SO* glad I didn't reprint my manual.... :) (It always goes in a ring binder now anyway - just in case!) Many thanks! Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
javavi![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 01/10/2023 Location: UkrainePosts: 365 |
PicoMiteHDMI MMBasic RP2350A Edition V6.00.02b0 When performing function A$=Dir$("*",DIR) the list of files is printed to the screen.When performing function A$=Dir$("*",VOL) Error : Invalid flag specification https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?TID=17283&P=7#232617 Edited 2025-01-17 07:40 by javavi |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9512 |
The error message with VOL is correct. Valid are DIR FILE and ALL The list is me leaving a diagnostic in. |
||||
javavi![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 01/10/2023 Location: UkrainePosts: 365 |
in PicoMite User Manual MMBasic BASIC Interpreter Ver 6.00.01 Revision 3 (29 December 2024) DIR$( fspec, type ) 'type' is the type of entry to return and can be one of: VOL Search for the volume label only DIR Search for directories only FILE Search for files only (the default if 'type' is not specified) This diagnostic conclusion is making my FM go crazy. ![]() FM_V120 Edited 2025-01-17 16:23 by javavi |
||||
ville56 Senior Member ![]() Joined: 08/06/2022 Location: AustriaPosts: 150 |
Small bug in OPTION LIST on RP2350B (and also RP2040) after OPTION HEARTBEAT ENABLE GP0 and OPTION HEARTBEAT DISABLE (or OFF) OPTION LIST still says "OPTION HEARTBEAT PIN GP0". Despite this, GP0 can be used as normal I/O pin, so it seems to affect only the option list command. 73 de OE1HGA, Gerald |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4528 |
@Peter, The PIO assembler fix works. Thanks. Pitty this could not get into 6.00.01. But I understand your position. Volhout Edited 2025-01-17 17:49 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9512 |
The manual needs updating - I'll ask Geoff. AFAIK that has never been available - certainly not in the PicoMite I'll post an update later today Small bug in OPTION LIST on RP2350B (and also RP2040) after OPTION HEARTBEAT ENABLE GP0 and OPTION HEARTBEAT DISABLE (or OFF) OPTION LIST still says "OPTION HEARTBEAT PIN GP0". Despite this, GP0 can be used as normal I/O pin, so it seems to affect only the option list command. Please could you do OPTION RESET and see if it still happens. |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9512 |
Download now updated to remove diagnostic in DIR$ command - no version change |
||||
ville56 Senior Member ![]() Joined: 08/06/2022 Location: AustriaPosts: 150 |
|
||||
ville56 Senior Member ![]() Joined: 08/06/2022 Location: AustriaPosts: 150 |
Another strange behaviour found: PicoMite MMBasic RP2040 Edition V6.00.01, Pico-restouch-lcd-3.5 After resetting options and re-establishing options for the panel AND setting OPTION GUI CONTROLS 71 the old problem with GUI CALIBRATE occurs ... Error : Touch not calibrated in a loop after the first calibration point is touched. If GUI CONTROLS is set to 0, calibration works ... Edited 2025-01-18 06:16 by ville56 73 de OE1HGA, Gerald |
||||
javavi![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 01/10/2023 Location: UkrainePosts: 365 |
Is it possible to implement in V6.00.02 sound on I2S DAC? PCM5102 TDA1387 |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9512 |
PCM5102 TDA1387 I have looked at this but to work properly it relies on the processor running at specific speeds to allow the 44100*64*8 master clock rate for the PIO. These speeds are incompatible with VGA and HDMI. Given that VS1053 is fully supported I don't intend to pursue this further Can't replicate ![]() Edited 2025-01-18 18:28 by matherp |
||||
javavi![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 01/10/2023 Location: UkrainePosts: 365 |
PCM5102 TDA1387 Given that VS1053 is fully supported I don't intend to pursue this further And at what sampling frequency is the data updated for sound on PWM or for SPI DAC? For the I2S bus, it is not at all necessary to adhere to the exact flow frequency; it is possible to transmit data packets at a higher clock frequency with the required sampling period. ![]() Edited 2025-01-18 22:38 by javavi |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9512 |
Sorry, but I've had a look at it and made a decision. If you want to pursue it further the PicoMite source is on github. The MMX port of MMbasic fully supports I2S output as that chip has a proper I2S module. The Rp2404/2350 can only do it using PIO |
||||
ville56 Senior Member ![]() Joined: 08/06/2022 Location: AustriaPosts: 150 |
Can't replicate ok, can't either anymore after a clear_flash. Must have been some garbage left over in the options area, sorry to bother you .... 73 de OE1HGA, Gerald |
||||
javavi![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 01/10/2023 Location: UkrainePosts: 365 |
It looks like diagnostics in the DIR$ command is disabled only for disk B: but for disk A: it is still enabled. |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9512 |
Sorry - will fix I was trying to update LFS and FatFS to the latest versions but hit problems hence the diagnostics. Eventually I backed the changes out but not after they rendered two SD cards dead and on the A: drive neither FILES nor DIR$ gave any output even though you could load and save files and the free space changed - bizarre ![]() NB: PIO DMA TX and PIO DMA RX don't work for RP2350 PIO2 - bug in sdk Edited 2025-01-19 04:18 by matherp |
||||
phil99![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 11/02/2018 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2281 |
WeAct RP2350A_V20 Completely replace the original PICO2 Raspberry Pi RP2350 RISC-V Hazard3 520KByte SRAM 4 or 16MByte QSPI Flash Color: RP2350A-V20-16MB AU$7.21 Tax excluded, add at checkout if applicable. Shipping: AU$6.86 https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005008117237405.html Edited 2025-01-19 10:34 by phil99 |
||||
javavi![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 01/10/2023 Location: UkrainePosts: 365 |
Here is a QSPI flash installed in a large case, onto which a PSRAM microcircuit can be soldered on top. ![]() |
||||
Page 1 of 12 ![]() ![]() |
![]() |