Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 04:16 29 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Hardware Standards

Page 1 of 3    
captainbill

Posted: 05:51pm 26 Jun 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Howdy Don and other Maximite designers and merchants.

The early users of this forum are witnessing the likely birth of a phenomenal amateur, hacker, and professional developer system. It has so much power and I/O capability, its uses and usefulness will be amazing.

I have been an Arduino hobbyist for a few years now. It has been connected to user generated boards for things from UAV autopilot to videogame systems.

One of the beauties of Arduino has been the plugin shields. This is a completely standardized, widely accepted form factor. Both protoboard shields and turnkey hardware shields are available. Even later Arduinos with more pins and power can connect to and support early shields.

I realize the commercial considerations of first to market are huge. However, I am adamant in believing that we MUST arrive at consistent standards. To let the process be splintered into a "Beta/VHS War" standards competition will ultimately be counterproductive for the Maximite's potential for greatness. I appreciate the concept of letting the marketplace vote with its dollars but I personally hope we can arrive at standards through thoughtful discussion, negotiation and cooperation between you hardware gurus who will make this happen.