![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Introducing the Colour Maximite 2
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10071 |
How about, as an example, 100 trapezoids each containing 7500 pixels in 14.4 mSec? Coming soon to a release near you ![]() Edited 2020-05-18 22:07 by matherp |
||||
thwill![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4251 |
That will do. Now I suppose you'll expect me to write the bl**dy thing ![]() MMBasic for Linux, Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Andrew_G Guru ![]() Joined: 18/10/2016 Location: AustraliaPosts: 868 |
Ahhhhhh Jim - many thanks. Spurred on by your reassurance I probed deeper (into the schematic, the pictures AND the parts list). The USB for the keyboard is a vertical Type A - not a Type B as I had interpreted from the photograph. What I thought was an A to its right is in fact the B. It all makes sense now - because it has always been right. I can use a spare USB A keyboard and swap it out for a male-male to program. Cheers, Andrew Edited 2020-05-19 11:21 by Andrew_G |
||||
Chopperp![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 03/01/2018 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1090 |
If you use a RPi breakout board, make sure it is used the correct way around. I had to re-terminate the cable on mine to get the orientation correct. Jim @TassyJim Did you happen to check if the cable supplied was actually correct for a RPi? I received a couple of breakout boards similar to yours from a Aussie supplier & it appears that the supplied cable transposes the pins. I don't have either a RPi or my CMM-2 yet to check things out. Just going by diagrams. I'd hate to think that incorrectly wired cables are being supplied for the RPi Brian ChopperP |
||||
cdeagle Senior Member ![]() Joined: 22/06/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 265 |
I now have a CMM2 that works. The keyboard exchange of " and @ has gone away. The number-crunching is going well. Sometimes seeing a difference in the last decimal place between the Micromite Extreme version and the CMM2 version. Thanks again everyone for creating the CMM2. |
||||
CircuitGizmos![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 08/09/2011 Location: United StatesPosts: 1427 |
The number-crunching is going well. Sometimes seeing a difference in the last decimal place between the Micromite Extreme version and the CMM2 version. Thanks again everyone for creating the CMM2. Glad to hear! Not sure how the universe worked against us on the first CMM2. Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10071 |
Please find attached V5.05.02RC32 CMM2V5.05.02RC32.zip Geoff will update the official download when he has an opportunity This has the following changes over V5.05.02RC28 Bug fixes: Fixes bug in ERROR command Fixes bug where input$ reads 1 character past the end of a file Fixes bug in select & delete/copy/cut multiple lines when start line is blank Fixes bug in code underlying BLIT and SPRITE SCROLLR that could cause a processor hang Changes: Change to SAVE IMAGE: new optional parameters SAVE IMAGE fname$ [,x, y, w, h] Save the current image on the VGA screen as a BMP file.'file$' is the name of the file. If an extension is not specified “.BMP” will be added to the file name.The image is saved as a true colour 24-bit image The x ,y, w, and h parameters allow you to save a part of the image rather than all of it. The new parameters are optional and the whole screen is saved if not specified. The additional parameters are all or none. x and y are the coordinates of the top left pixel to be saved and w and h are the width and height of the area to be saved. Change to POLYGON command + huge performance increase WARNING new syntax will break existing programs POLYGON n, xarray%(), yarray%() [, bordercolour] [, fillcolour] Draws a filled or outline polygon with n xy-coordinate pairs in xarray%() and yarray%(). If fill colour is omitted then just the polygon outline is drawn. If bordercolour is omitted then it will default to the current gui foreground colour. If the last xy-coordinate pair is not the same as the first the firmware will automatically create an additional xy-coordinate pair to complete the polygon The size of the arrays should be at least as big as the number of x,y coordinate pairs POLYGON n(), xarray%(), yarray%() [, bordercolour()] [, fillcolour()] POLYGON n(), xarray%(), yarray%() [, bordercolour] [, fillcolour] Draws multiple polygons. The size of the n array determines the number of polygons that will be drawn. The elements of array n() define the number of xy-coordinate pairs in each of the polygons. e.g DIM n(1)=(3,3) would define that 2 polygons are to be drawn with three vertices each. The xy-coordinate pairs for all the polygons are stored in xarray%() and yarray%(). The xarray%() and yarray%() parameters must have at least as many elements as the total of the values in the n array. Each polygon can be closed with the first and last elements the same. If the last element is not the same as the first the firmware will automatically create an additional xy-coordinate pair to complete the polygon. If fill colour is omitted then just the polygon outlines are drawn. The colour parameters can be a single value in which case all polygons are drawn in the same colour or they can be arrays with the same cardinality as n. In this case each polygon drawn can have a different colour of both border and/or fill. For information the polygon fill uses a modified Scan Line Algorithm. This is extremely robust, not always the fastest but will not miss pixels and even copes with crossing lines. My performance test of polygons cls dim c%(99) dim x%(399) dim y%(399) dim fc%(99) for i=0 to 99:c%(i)=4:fc%(i)=rgb(green):next i for i=0 to 99 step 2:fc%(i)=rgb(red):next i for i=0 to 399 step 4: x%(i)=25+i:next i for i=1 to 399 step 4: x%(i)=75+i:next i for i=2 to 399 step 4: x%(i)=100+i:next i for i=3 to 399 step 4: x%(i)=0+i:next i for i=0 to 399 step 4: y%(i)=0+i:next i for i=1 to 399 step 4: y%(i)=-1+i:next i for i=2 to 399 step 4: y%(i)=100+i:next i for i=3 to 399 step 4: y%(i)=99+i:next i timer=0 polygon c%(),x%(),y%(),fc%(),fc%() print timer |
||||
cdeagle Senior Member ![]() Joined: 22/06/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 265 |
Ran several of the astronomy programs for 100,000 days without any problems. I'm flashing back to the QuickBASIC days. Trying to find the QB program that scaled x-y data for plotting. |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10071 |
Excellent news. I routinely use the solar eclipse program both as a functional and performance test. If it does that OK there can't be too much wrong :-) |
||||
cdeagle Senior Member ![]() Joined: 22/06/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 265 |
I am looking for a case for the Waveshare module version of the CMM2. |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6221 |
Element14 have the case as stock number 1526699 G738A - Plastic Enclosure, Instrument, ABS, 35 mm, 140 mm, 110 mm Manufacturer Multicomp Pro In Australia, it is cheaper Jaycar CAT.NO: HB5970 In US Newark Part No.: 74M2314 A google search for G738A should give you some options. Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
cdeagle Senior Member ![]() Joined: 22/06/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 265 |
Thanks Jim. |
||||
cTrix Newbie ![]() Joined: 04/05/2020 Location: AustraliaPosts: 16 |
Hey all. I've just bought the parts for 5 Colour Maximites to build as kits (for some friends as well). Mainly because I couldn't order half the parts in less than quantities of 5! I've also rendered a set of Gerbers to layers and rendered them out of Photoshop. I just hadn't seen the board rendered anywhere yet. Sorry the holes are slightly out of calibration (probably true to real world!) Happy to render it again in higher res if it's of any use to anyone. ![]() One thing I noticed in the Parts List: Thehas the part number "FC1" (numeral 1) where it should be "FCI" (the letter I). So it should be the Amphenol FCI 61729-0010BLF. Consequently the Mouser part is 61729-0010BLF. I made a video about the Maximite 1.0 a few weeks ago which I'm on the fence about if I should release now the 2.0 is coming out.... but I might change the voice over at the start and put it out for legacy. I literally finished making my 1.0 a week before Version 2 was announced. I'm extra excited though... only thing I wanted to change was to go from 8 colours to 64 and this is way more. Can't wait to start making demos on it :-) Edited 2020-05-21 03:45 by cTrix Link: YouTube Colour MaxiMite 2 Intro Video | ctrix.net |
||||
Poppy![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 25/07/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 486 |
Hi cTrix, ... and many of us can´t wait to see your videos and demos! And about the "old" CMM as well! Just go on and rock it! ![]() ![]() ![]() | ||||
Cyber![]() Senior Member ![]() Joined: 13/01/2019 Location: UkrainePosts: 161 |
Share, please. |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10071 |
Please find attached V5.05.02RC35 CMM2V5.05.02RC35.zip Changes from RC32 Fixed an issue introduced in RC31 where USB keyboard enumeration was less reliable than in previous versions Fixed bug in array state after running editor and also in other conditions Improved Circle drawing algorithm Fixed various bugs in graphics commands when scalar colours are used with arrayed coordinates Modified POLYGON command so x and y coordinate arrays can each be float or integer as required |
||||
cTrix Newbie ![]() Joined: 04/05/2020 Location: AustraliaPosts: 16 |
Hi all! I just got a pretty interesting email from my PCB peeps. > Dear Sir, > For PCB order xxxxxxx, please notice the picture attached, on > non-plated-hole layer,there is one drill hole is connected with the > copper trace,should we make it plated hole? ![]() From what I can see of the traces... that's digital ground on top, and a "nothing" plane on bottom - but I figured the two probably don't want to connect? ![]() I advised them not to make it a plated hole. Although, is there any issue with a screw going down that hole and potentially shorting the two? For those interested, I put this up an hour ago. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mv99JO52FJo Sorry if it's bit critical of version 1! I re-edited it to include reference to V2 as the announcement was the morning I was going to release it. I'll do a video on V2 when all my parts arrive. :-) Hopefully the info at the end screen is all good. Edited 2020-05-22 04:46 by cTrix Link: YouTube Colour MaxiMite 2 Intro Video | ctrix.net |
||||
Poppy![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 25/07/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 486 |
CMM2V5.05.02RC35.zip = uploads/matherp/2020-05-22_035449_CMM2V5.05.02RC35.zip]CMM2V5.05.02RC35.zip Wouldn´t it be better to keep all revisions under the same download-link being constantly updated: http://geoffg.net/Downloads/Maximite/Colour_Maximite_2_MMBasic.zip ??! ![]() ![]() | ||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10071 |
The 4 mounting holes are in the "unplated" drill file so why would they think to plate them? The copper fill on the top is 3V3, on the bottom it is GND In a perfect world, the screws should have a fibre washer under the head on the top but the solder mask is pretty robust unless excessive force is used. Unfortunately the mounting holes are too close to the I/O connector to use a bigger safer surround Yes, of course, but Geoff and I are on different timezones. All key releases will be uploaded to his site and once the SC articles hit the street I will stop posting firmware to TBS Edited 2020-05-22 04:57 by matherp |
||||
thwill![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4251 |
Great video. Very jealous of what you got the original CMM to do graphically. Best wishes, Tom MMBasic for Linux, Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |