Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:35 05 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MM+: Display an 800x480 image in <1s

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 06:20am 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

See video

This code builds on this thread but uses a custom loadable driver for the SSD1963. This will only work on the 100-pin Micromite and uses a full 16-bit parallel interface.
Unfortunately the required pinout cannot be achieved on a Explore-100 but can be prototyped on a snadpic or similar.



If anyone is interested in playing with the code reply to the thread and I'll post everything needed
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1676
Posted: 07:57am 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That really is brilliant work
You do an amazing work with your codes
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 10:34am 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
If anyone is interested in playing with the code reply to the thread and I'll post everything needed


Yes please

Regards
Jman
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9066
Posted: 06:06pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

How do you do it?!(rhetorical)

Perhaps I should look at making the E100 version 1C use the 16-bit LCD interface....

We'd have to sacrifice something though, so perhaps not. Very useful for fast image display. I guess even just redrawing the GUI would probably be much faster too, yes?
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 07:55pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,

where did you buy the board from etteam?

THX
 
MicroBlocks

Guru

Joined: 12/05/2012
Location: Thailand
Posts: 2209
Posted: 08:16pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

ETTEAM is from Bangkok. I used to live 100m from them. :)
Just google it or go to the website that is on the silkscreen.
www.etteam.com

Ebay also has lots of sellers of their products and offers payment option more suitable like paypal.

Edited by MicroBlocks 2016-09-25
Microblocks. Build with logic.
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 08:43pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This website is a wild mixture of Thai and english.

No chance...
 
Phil23
Guru

Joined: 27/03/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 1664
Posted: 09:46pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Pure curiosity...

What's that?





Phil.
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9066
Posted: 09:53pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yeah, I was eyeing that thing up myself!

I expect it is an encapsulated USB-serial converter thing that matherp may have baked at home.....

EDIT: On second thought, it is probably the 20MHz oscillator for the PIC32. I think I see what looks like a crystal outline under that heatshrink. Edited by Grogster 2016-09-25
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5913
Posted: 10:08pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Grogster said  
EDIT: On second thought, it is probably the 20MHz oscillator for the PIC32. I think I see what looks like a crystal outline under that heatshrink.


Especially when it's connected to the oscillator pins of the MCU (RC12 and RC15).

VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Phil23
Guru

Joined: 27/03/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 1664
Posted: 10:15pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Grogster said   Yeah, I was eyeing that thing up myself!

EDIT: On second thought, it is probably the 20MHz oscillator for the PIC32. I think I see what looks like a crystal outline under that heatshrink.


You're right!

Pins 63, 64 & 65.

Probably the oscillator & a couple of Caps going of the E100 schematic.

Phil.
 
Phil23
Guru

Joined: 27/03/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 1664
Posted: 10:20pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Grogster said  Perhaps I should look at making the E100 version 1C use the 16-bit LCD interface....

We'd have to sacrifice something though, so perhaps not.


What about a "Chippy Thing" that can switch the additional 8 bits off if they are not desired?

Jump the port for 8 or 18 bit mode?



Phil.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 10:33pm 23 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Probably the oscillator & a couple of Caps going of the E100 schematic.


Correct. The other thing needed to get the ETTEAM board going is a wire from pin-37 (AVCC) to VCC as this isn't included in the layout.

Here, as requested, is the complete set of program files for the above demo, including the C source of the driver. The driver now includes all extended functionality previously presented (overlay text, paging for 4.3" displays, triangle read/restore for gauges etc., conditional compilation for 100-pin RGB888, 100-pin RGB565, 64-pin RGB888, 44-pin RGB888)

2016-09-24_082156_SSD1963_loadable.zip

The process is as follows:

Start with a clean 100-pin MM+ (no options set)
wire the SSD1963 display as per normal for a 100-pin but also connect DB8-DB15 as per the instructions in SSD1963driver.bas
Load the file SSD1963driver.bas save it in the library
restart the MM+ and you will see the driver loaded message
Check all is well with GUI TEST LCDPANEL - note how fast it runs!!!

Copy some image files saved in binary .PPM to a SDcard on your PC. Move the SDcard to the Micromite.
Set up OPTION SDCARD as per normal, check you can see the files using the FILES command

Load and run the program 565conv.bas. This converts the .PPM files into .565 format.
This is just 4 ascii bytes for each of the width and height followed by width*height*2 bytes of image data which has been converted from RGB888 to RGB565.

Load and run fastpic565.bas. This runs a slideshow of all .565 files it finds on the SDcard
 
isochronic
Guru

Joined: 21/01/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 689
Posted: 11:57pm 24 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If the ETTEAM pcb runs it ok I guess my sn-5x (pcb thread) board probable will..
I have a few spare to give out as freebies if wanted
BTW Is the sd card on the display ?? Edited by chronic 2016-09-26
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 12:18am 25 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  BTW Is the sd card on the display ?


Yes, the demo video has the MX470 running at 100MHz with a Class-4 4GB SDcardEdited by matherp 2016-09-26
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1328
Posted: 03:06am 25 Sep 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
  Quote  Probably the oscillator & a couple of Caps going of the E100 schematic.

Correct. The other thing needed to get the ETTEAM board going is a wire from pin-37 (AVCC) to VCC as this isn't included in the layout.

Another option using the ETTEAM board, but which makes it a bit more stand-alone is shown in this old thread - see particularly photos 3&4 and the mod list after photo 4 which includes Peter's comment above. It takes a bit of fiddling but it works. Note though that this was using an MX795 Maximite chip not the MX470 so make sure if you do it that you use the correct MX470 pins Peter gives.

Greg
 
TrevorH
Senior Member

Joined: 06/04/2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 142
Posted: 04:50pm 05 May 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@ matherp,

I am using an Explore 100 pcb with D8 - D15 wired as given in .bas file
Does the RD pin on the TFT have to goto Processor pin 1 in your 16 bit cfunction as it is already tied to pin 6. Can pin 6 be substituted for pin 1 in the code?
I guess this is why I can't get it to work.

TrevorH.
 
TrevorH
Senior Member

Joined: 06/04/2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 142
Posted: 11:53am 21 May 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I am trying to compile 2016-09-24_082157_SSD1963_loadable.zip source C file using MPlabx following the CFunctions tutorials given by matherp.

The pre-compiled version works without fault as expected, but MY compiled version doesn't give the console message correctly when processor rebooted. It puts to the console many CHR$(156) 'a "Y" with 2 dots above it' in a row , any Ideas???

I wonder if I missed a setting or something or as it is fairly old code has there been some changes I don't know about?

Trevor
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 01:31pm 21 May 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  I wonder if I missed a setting or something


Things to check

You must use XC32 V1.33
Additional compile options must be:

-fPIC -mno-abicalls -fno-toplevel-reorder -shared -membedded-data -mno-long-calls -fno-jump-tables -mno-jals -mgpopt -Wuninitialized -Wunused-variable -Wunused-value -Wunreachable-code


Optimisation set to 1

All other setting as below - check loader options carefully










 
TrevorH
Senior Member

Joined: 06/04/2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 142
Posted: 03:17pm 21 May 2018
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  You must use XC32 V1.33


I am using these versions but only using "-fPIC -mno-abicalls" in options and optimization set to 1.
Will try extra settings, many Thanks in advance.

Trevor

PS. have got CPLD driver working on a 16bit E100 with DrawRectangle(), now I need to get the DrawBitmap() working.
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024