Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 18:42 09 Jul 2020 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : CMM2 Manual Errata

     Page 1 of 4    
Author Message
vegipete

Senior Member

Joined: 29/01/2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 233
Posted: 10:23pm 12 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Page 21 of
Colour Maximite 2
User Manual
MMBasic Ver 5.05.02

Near the bottom in the example of variables being initialized when they are defined, i% is initialized to '&FHHHHHHH'   - that looks like a typo. Ought to be '&HFFFFFFF'
Edited 2020-05-13 08:24 by vegipete
 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1168
Posted: 11:04pm 12 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  vegipete said  Page 21 of
Colour Maximite 2
User Manual
MMBasic Ver 5.05.02

Near the bottom in the example of variables being initialized when they are defined, i% is initialized to '&FHHHHHHH'   - that looks like a typo. Ought to be '&HFFFFFFF'


Perhaps that is an expression in Flexidecimal?  
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
Turbo46
Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 518
Posted: 02:02am 13 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Also in the Micromite User Manual page 34:
  Micromite User Manual said  DIM INTEGER a = 5, b = 4, c = 3
DIM s$ = "World", i% = &FHHHHHHH
DIM msg AS STRING = "Hello" + " " + s$

Easy to miss.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2677
Posted: 03:37am 13 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks guys.
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
panky

Guru

Joined: 02/10/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 728
Posted: 05:06am 17 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Geoff,

Couple more manual errors I think:-

Page 46 - for the NOT INV option, the description says 'NOIT' instead of 'NOT'

Page 40 - the DHT22 is referred to as DHD22 in the program example

Page 63 - LOAD GIF has what appears to be wrongly included text at the end of the description. Also, LOAD GIF seems to be a duplicate of the lower down LOAD command?

Cheers,
Doug.
PS. Hanging out for my CMM2 to arrive  
... all the Maximites, almost all of the MicromMites, all the MM Extremes, all the ArmMites, and loving it!
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2677
Posted: 09:10am 17 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Doug.
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
Andrew_G
Guru

Joined: 18/10/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 403
Posted: 01:42am 19 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Geoff,
As I've said elsewhere, a great effort by the team and the manuals are fantastic.

Here are some picky comments:

Parts List:
Manual says "Optional Dallas DS10B20" - should be DS18B20
Resistor 4.7K if optional DS10B20 is used - should be DS18B20

Programming . . .:
Page 51 and elsewhere, is it worth saying that, in the Text statement, the use of (" ") for the alignment parameters is optional? (I didn't know until I checked it on a MM)

User Manual:
Page 19, F6 description has two "."

A brilliant effort,

Andrew
 
Turbo46
Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 518
Posted: 06:09am 19 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Not a manual error as such but the schematic in the construction pack shows an MCP2221A chip in place of the PIC16F1455-I/P and an ICSP header which I don’t think exists in the final design.

Bill

Edit: Oops I see the MCP2221A is mentioned in the parts list but so is the DS10B20 as mentioned above.

Second edit: Now I see the ICSP header in CG's board and matherp's boards but the connections to it from the USB bridge on the schematic are different to the Microbridge. I'm confused.
Edited 2020-05-19 16:29 by Turbo46
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3420
Posted: 07:21am 19 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Bill,
The MCP2221A is basically a pre-programmed Microbridge so if you have the MCP2221A, there is no use for the ICSP header.

I used a PIC16F1455-I/P but programmed it on a breadboard using a micromite so didn't need the ICSP header either.

Jim
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
 
Turbo46
Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 518
Posted: 07:41am 19 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  The MCP2221A is basically a pre-programmed Microbridge so if you have the MCP2221A, there is no use for the ICSP header.

Ah, Thanks Jim, I realised that but thought the the ICSP header was to program an external Micromite or something that's why I was confused.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
vegipete

Senior Member

Joined: 29/01/2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 233
Posted: 09:29pm 20 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Page 39 of CMM2 Manual 5.05.02
Infrared Remote Control Transmitter section, near the bottom of the page.

Text reads "Any I/O pin on the Micromite can be used..."
Ought to read "...  Colour Maximite 2 ..."
 
vegipete

Senior Member

Joined: 29/01/2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 233
Posted: 10:11pm 20 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Page 20 and 72 of CMM2 Manual 5.05.02

Number of bits for a floating point number.

Page 20 describes a floating point number as "Double Precision Floating Point" ie 64 bits

Page 72 in the POKE FLOAT command says a 32 bit float value will be stuffed into memory.

This is inconsistent.
 
Turbo46
Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 518
Posted: 04:37am 22 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just a minor thing:

In the construction pack Parts List, the two hyperlinks include the closing bracket and full stop ")." causing them to fail.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
Turbo46
Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 518
Posted: 02:16pm 23 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Not really an error but a suggestion.

In the Colour Maximite 2 User Manual under the "FILES" command description can you please add a note to point users of other 'mites and BASICs to the "LIST FILES" command. It may help avoid some confusion as "LIST FILES" is not very intuitive.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3420
Posted: 06:56am 24 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Missing form the manual:

SORT array() [,indexarray()]
This command takes an array of any type – integer, float or string and sorts it in place. It has an optional parameter indexarray. If used this must be an integer array of exactly the same size as the array to be sorted. Indexarray need not be initialised with any data but if specified will return with the original position of the value in the array being sorted.

Jim
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
 
Turbo46
Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 518
Posted: 07:30am 24 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  SORT array() [,indexarray()]

Array() is a single dimension array only? IE: not suitable for a 2 dimension array for a database?

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3434
Posted: 07:51am 24 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Array() is a single dimension array only? IE: not suitable for a 2 dimension array for a database?


Yes, but indexarray gives you everything you need and is more powerful as it can deal with different types of data:

set up any types of arrays needed to hold your data structure e.g. name$, address$, age%
copy array to be sorted to a temporary array and sort it. Then use the index into the original arrays


dim name$(100),age%(100),address$(100),sortindex%, temp%(100)
for i=0 to 100
sortindex%(i)=i
temp%(i)=age%(i)
'
sort temp%(),sortindex%()
'
for i=0 to 100
k=sortindex%(i)
print name$(k),age%(k),address$(k)
next i

Edited 2020-05-24 18:03 by matherp
 
Turbo46
Guru

Joined: 24/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 518
Posted: 08:18am 24 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Peter,

I thought it would be like that but wasn't sure. It small examples like that that help a lot with the nitty gritty details. Like your excellent graphic tutorial.

Bill
Keep safe. Live long and prosper.
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2270
Posted: 04:05am 25 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Geoff, All,

On page 49 top paragraph.
On RESETTING the CMM2 it states

(by linking pins 49 and 39 on the rear I/O connector during power up)

It should be

(by linking pins 40 and 39 on the rear I/O connector during power up)

Kind Regards

Mick
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2677
Posted: 07:56am 25 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Mick and everyone.  These reports are invaluable.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
     Page 1 of 4    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2020