Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 19:11 30 Sep 2022 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite(VGA) V5.07.05 draft manuals - please review

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6491
Posted: 10:35am 28 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

PicoMite_User_ManualV5.07.05draft1.pdf

PicoMiteVGA_User_ManualV5.07.05draft1.pdf


Please find attached draft manuals for V5.07.05. These should include the new functionality as specified in this thread. Nearly all of this relates to the VGA version but there are minor enhancements to the standard PicoMite as well.

In addition Geoff and I have tried to deal with the various comments on the manuals received since V5.07.04.

If you had specific comments please review the manuals to see if they have been dealt with and post if their are still omissions

Thanks
Edited 2022-08-28 20:39 by matherp
 
twofingers
Guru

Joined: 02/06/2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1044
Posted: 11:01am 28 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Peter and Geoff!

There is something that confuses me (Flash ALL).



I think it should be FLASH LIST

Best regards
Michael
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2975
Posted: 12:23pm 28 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I notice that the VGA manual tends to refer to SPRITE but the other still refers to BLIT. Is this deliberate?

I know it's more work to support two manuals, but it's certainly a lot less confusing not having to sort out which bits are likely to work. Thanks lads. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 12:58pm 28 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This one probably doesn't matter.
P 81 PicoMiteVGA manual, P 112 PicoMite manual
PWM command - Minimum frequency = (cpuspeed + 1) / (2^24) Hz
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1649
Posted: 05:10pm 28 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,

About the VGA manual. First of all, congratulations on this manual. It was dearly missed, and we do appreciate a lot that you and Geoff found time to complete and update it. Thank you.

1/ The manual only shows the 8 color and complex 16 color VGA connection (P6). Not the simple 16 color one. Same for the audio circuit (P26)

2/ there is no mention that digital input can also be read when assigned to PIO (P23)

3/ The RTC part could use an explanation of OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE

to be continued....

EDIT: continued

4/ Page 81 (PULSE command) refers to 40MHz clock frequency

5/ TIME$ will default to RTC when OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE (P90) same for DATE$ (P61)

6/ EXP, the formatting of the text says "ex" where it should be "e^x" or e raised to the power x

7/ PIO EXECCTRL and PIO FLEVEL miss closing brackets (P102)

8/ Maybe the PASM and PREVAS program should not be mentioned, since they do not work in their current form. Effort has to be spend to make them work again (P120) according Mick. If you have working versions, maybe these should be made available somewhere (fruitoftheshed).

9/ There is some duplicate text in P12 and P124 (program structure). Maybe that is intended ? It uses the same examples.

10 Although there is mention of BLIT and SPRITE being identical, the command section uses BLIT  and SPRITE , where the function section only uses SPRITE.

I noticed (yes, I noticed only now, so late in the game) that drawing LINE diagonally sets the linewidth to 1. Is that something that can be changed, that lines can be drawn at any line width ? Or should I uses polygons when drawing diaginally ?
Edited 2022-08-29 06:21 by Volhout
If nothing goes right ... turn left
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 10:22pm 28 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

My previous post needs amending as CPUSPEED can be either kHz or Hz

> option list
OPTION CPUSPEED (KHz) 378000

or

> ? mm.info(cpuspeed)
378000000
>

P 81 PicoMiteVGA manual, P 112 PicoMite manual

PWM command - Minimum frequency Hz = (cpuspeed + 1) Hz / (2^24)

or

PWM command - Minimum frequency Hz = (Val(mm.info(cpuspeed)) + 1) / (2^24)


Non relevant Edit
" Or should I uses polygons when drawing diaginally ?"
Two right angle triangles using TRIANGLE easier than POLYGON when calculating corners of the angle.
Edited 2022-08-29 09:20 by phil99
 
Andrew_G
Guru

Joined: 18/10/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 651
Posted: 12:53am 29 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter (and Geoff?),
I appreciate that not all bugs have been fixed but I thought I'd check the bug I reported here (Textbox from a subroutine nor ACTIVATE not working as per the manual). I used the code at the beginning of the thread.

It is not working. Not nagging - just testing.

Regards,

Andrew


> OPTION LIST
OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP18,GP19,GP16
OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP2,GP3
OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9488, PORTRAIT,GP15,GP14,GP13,GP20
OPTION GUI CONTROLS 60
OPTION TOUCH GP12,GP11
GUI CALIBRATE 1, 306, 3745, 985, -1447
OPTION SDCARD GP22
OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE
> print mm.ver
5.070517
>

Edited 2022-08-29 10:59 by Andrew_G
 
Andrew_G
Guru

Joined: 18/10/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 651
Posted: 07:23am 29 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,
Trivial, but the image of example GUI controls on page 56 is truncated at the bottom.
(at least on my download)

Cheers,

Andrew
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6491
Posted: 08:20am 29 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for the updates. Re the circuit drawings I need Geoff for them. I don't know what he uses to create them.

  Quote  I noticed (yes, I noticed only now, so late in the game) that drawing LINE diagonally sets the linewidth to 1. Is that something that can be changed,


No: there is no sensible algorithm for diagonal lines of width > 1. This is the same in all versions of MMBasic.

  Quote  TIME$ will default to RTC when OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE (P90) same for DATE$ (P61)


Don't understand. This is not true - does the manual somewhere imply it is? All the option does is update the internal clock every hour.

  Quote  Textbox from a subroutine nor ACTIVATE not working as per the manual

Since NUMBERBOX ACTIVATE and FORMATBOX ACIVATE are not implemented at all and TEXTBOX ACTIVATE is buggy I intend to remove it completely.
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1649
Posted: 11:38am 29 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
  Quote  TIME$ will default to RTC when OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE (P90) same for DATE$ (P61)


Don't understand. This is not true - does the manual somewhere imply it is? All the option does is update the internal clock every hour.


1/ With OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE the picomite starts with the TIME$ according time programmed in RTC.
2/ Without OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLE the picomite starts with TIME$="00:00:00"

I may be confused, but only 2/ is listed in the manual (unless I missed something).
Above behavior is that what I experience playing with the V5.07.05b17 on a normal pico (not the VGA version).
If nothing goes right ... turn left
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6491
Posted: 11:57am 29 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OK understand - I though you meant that TIME$/DATE$ functions always read the RTC when enabled. I'll update the commands to mention RTC AUTO ENABLE
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 06:59am 31 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

BLIT x1, y1, x2, y2, w, h

On an LCD appears to only copy 3 bit colour - RGB(1,1,1).
I imagine that is to save memory.
If it is meant to be that way is it worth noting in the manual?

This test produces a 6 bit colour bar pattern with the component colours along the bottom.
A stripe along the top of the screen is then BLITed to the middle for comparison.

'Colour bars. RGB(2,2,2) 6 bit with R G & B components at the bottom
Dim integer R,G,B,x,y=1
Dim integer xx=MM.HRes/64,yi=MM.VRes-1
For R=0 To 255 Step 85
 For G=0 To 255 Step 85
   For B=0 To 255 Step 85
     Box x,y,xx,yi,,RGB(R,G,B),RGB(R,G,B)
     Box x,yi-60,xx,yi,,RGB(R,0,0),RGB(R,0,0)
     Box x,yi-40,xx,yi,,RGB(0,G,0),RGB(0,G,0)
     Box x,yi-20,xx,yi,,RGB(0,0,B),RGB(0,0,B)
     x=x+xx
   Next
 Next
Next
blit 1, 1, 1,yi/2, MM.HRES, yi/10
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6491
Posted: 07:18am 31 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  On an LCD appears to only copy 3 bit colour - RGB(1,1,1).


Not sure what you mean - seems to work for me (ILI9341) - pic?
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 08:15am 31 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

On an ILI9488

 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6491
Posted: 08:19am 31 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Do you have MISO connected through a 680 ohm resistor and touch configured?
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 08:21am 31 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6491
Posted: 08:45am 31 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Try this


PicoMite.zip

Slowed down the read
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 09:30am 31 Aug 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You are a genius! Perfect!
 
circuit
Senior Member

Joined: 10/01/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 138
Posted: 08:09pm 02 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There are several cross-references that say 'See the chapter "Basic Drawing Commands"' within the chapter "Commands" but there is no chapter heading of "Basic Drawing Commands" in the contents nor in the text.  

There is a chapter "Graphics Commands and Functions" and it appears that this is the chapter referred to.  There is a paragraph within this chapter headed "Drawing Commands", but this makes no sense if one is following the cross-reference from the Fonts entry in the "Commands" chapter; fonts are dealt with in the pages before the "Drawing Commands" paragraph.  

This is rather confusing for the new user and would be better tidied up.

The Contents pages would benefit enormously from adopting the comprehensive structure of the "Armmite F4 User Manual" which is vastly more informative in guiding the reader around the manual.  

The structure of the document is excellent for two-sided printing and binding - I get my Micromite manuals printed out this way; I find that I still like to browse a printed manual when travelling or just for general revision.  To this end, could the page footer be re-formatted so that the page numbers are set correctly to the right for odd-page numbers and to the left for even page numbers?  Easily done in most word-processors and makes printed copy so much better-looking.  This applies also, when reading the .PDF file in two-page format on a 4K screen.  

Syntactical coherence; the OPTION HEARTBEAT ON/OFF is used in the PicoMite, but in the MMBasic language for the MicroMite eXtreme the same option uses OPTION HEARTBEAT ENABLE/DISABLE.  A minor point, but there is some merit in keeping the same syntax across the Micromite sub-groups within MMBasic.  (Perhaps best addressed in the next iteration of MicroMite eXtreme....he says mischievously).
 
capsikin
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 341
Posted: 04:04pm 03 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  PicoMite_User_ManualV5.07.05draft1.pdf

PicoMiteVGA_User_ManualV5.07.05draft1.pdf


Please find attached draft manuals for V5.07.05. These should include the new functionality as specified in this thread. Nearly all of this relates to the VGA version but there are minor enhancements to the standard PicoMite as well.

In addition Geoff and I have tried to deal with the various comments on the manuals received since V5.07.04.

If you had specific comments please review the manuals to see if they have been dealt with and post if their are still omissions

Thanks


I noticed a couple of issues on the contents page of the PicoMiteVGA manual, regarding p18.
Using the I/O pins is listed as p18, incorrectly.
Graphics Commands and Functions is listed out of order. It correctly says p18.
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2022