Home
JAQForum Ver 19.10.27
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 11:07 19 Feb 2020 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : BMS Revisited

     Page 3 of 3    
Author Message
Warpspeed
Guru

Joined: 09/08/2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 3000
Posted: 02:48pm 15 Feb 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I prefer to manually place all my components, then manually run anything that is high voltage, high current, or high frequency, or a bit unusual.
Then let the auto router loose on whatever remains.

I use Protel, and on a big board, something with perhaps 500+ nodes, it does in about one minute what would literally take me at least a very frustrating week to lay out and check manually. Even better still, the electrical and design rule checkers are a huge help in laying out a board that has zero layout errors.

Any other mistakes after that always seem to be due to fundamental design stuff ups by the project idiot.

We have come a very long way from the original tape and doughnuts era.
Cheers, Tony.
 
Solar Mike
Guru

Joined: 08/02/2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 554
Posted: 02:21am 16 Feb 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Warpspeed said  ...I use Protel, and on a big board, something with perhaps 500+ nodes, it does in about one minute what would literally take me at least a very frustrating week to lay out and check manually. Even better still, the electrical and design rule checkers are a huge help in laying out a board that has zero layout errors.

Any other mistakes after that always seem to be due to fundamental design stuff ups by the project idiot.

We have come a very long way from the original tape and doughnuts era.



Agree the electrical and design rule checks are great and cut down on mistakes.

Years ago I used use the DOS version of Protel PCB and Schematic, had a dongle card that fitted in a slot inside the PC for activation, still have it, doubt it would run on any PC's today; Probably did several thousand hours of design work using it. Had a windows version Protel 99SE for awhile, but it was a bit of a pain to use, now that Altium has taken its place, I couldn't justify the cost for hobbyist use, so went to DipTrace which had about 1 hr of learning time to get up to speed with it and I find very easy to use; albeit doesn't do some things as well as I would like.

I remember those tape and doughnuts, "Bishop Graphics brand" and a big light table, we used to make the layouts double size, then reduce photographically using a plate camera to 1:1. I had made my own plate camera using the lenses from a photographic enlarger, used to work quite well.

Cheers
Mike
 
     Page 3 of 3    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2020