Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 15:43 10 May 2025 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Colour Maximite 2 Deluxe Edition with USB mouse support

     Page 6 of 9    
Author Message
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 127
Posted: 03:59pm 28 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Holger said  That's what I also tried, but when it is not connected, I get

Error in line 1: Nunchuck not connected

when it is connected I get:

Error in line 1: Nunchuck not responding

I tested that with both devices I got from you and both act like that.


All I can say is sorry. I bought like 10pcs of those controllers  from Aliexpress. It looks like some of them do not work. What I was expecting when buying from Ali...

Sen me Your order no. I will refund
You for faulty controllers.
 
William Leue
Guru

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 405
Posted: 09:02pm 28 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Piotr,

I was successful in updating the firmware on the Deluxe CMM2 to the new 5.06.00, using the A-A cable and the flash/reset button combo. Worked like a charm!

BTW, I had the same experience with the USB cables that were supplied with the Deluxe: dim green LED and no connectivity. I tossed them both. Sorry you are having trouble with your suppliers.

-Bill
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 127
Posted: 10:06pm 28 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  William Leue said  Piotr,

I was successful in updating the firmware on the Deluxe CMM2 to the new 5.06.00, using the A-A cable and the flash/reset button combo. Worked like a charm!

BTW, I had the same experience with the USB cables that were supplied with the Deluxe: dim green LED and no connectivity. I tossed them both. Sorry you are having trouble with your suppliers.

-Bill


I already changed supplier of USB cables. Controllers was more like a gift to first customer but it did not worked apparently...
 
MauroXavier
Guru

Joined: 06/03/2016
Location: Brazil
Posts: 303
Posted: 01:21pm 29 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  siwypiotr said  
  Holger said  That's what I also tried, but when it is not connected, I get

Error in line 1: Nunchuck not connected

when it is connected I get:

Error in line 1: Nunchuck not responding

I tested that with both devices I got from you and both act like that.


All I can say is sorry. I bought like 10pcs of those controllers  from Aliexpress. It looks like some of them do not work. What I was expecting when buying from Ali...

Sen me Your order no. I will refund
You for faulty controllers.


I had the same problem on many occasions buying these controllers from China. Try to look at the controller connector, see if some pin is sunk back or absent, open the connector with a screwdriver and fix the pin position, and try again.
Edited 2020-12-29 23:24 by MauroXavier
 
William Leue
Guru

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 405
Posted: 03:57pm 29 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Piotr, that kind of supplier problem can happen to anyone. The good news is, the Deluxe unit works great.

I was looking at the Atari joystick DB9 port and remembering that I have such a joystick buried in the attic somewhere. I was thinking of digging it out. But I looked at the 5.06.00 manual and noticed that it has commands for:

controller mouse
controller nunchuk
controller classic

but no controller joystick, nor can I find a joystick mentioned anywhere else.

Does the controller classic or nunchuk or whatever work when you use an Atari-type joystick?

-Bill
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 127
Posted: 05:02pm 29 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Bill

  William Leue said  
...
but no controller joystick, nor can I find a joystick mentioned anywhere else.
...


Joystick does not need to have firmware libraries, this are standard inputs, please try this code:


SETPIN 35, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 36, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 38, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 40, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 32, DIN, PULLUP

DO
 IF PIN(35) = 0 THEN PRINT"UP"
 IF PIN(36) = 0 THEN PRINT"DOWN"
 IF PIN(38) = 0 THEN PRINT"LEFT"
 IF PIN(40) = 0 THEN PRINT"RIGHT"
 IF PIN(32) = 0 THEN PRINT"FIRE"
 PAUSE 100
LOOP




  Quote  
Does the controller classic or nunchuk or whatever work when you use an Atari-type joystick?


Yes, all types of controllers can work in the same time, they use different set of pins.
Edited 2020-12-30 03:03 by siwypiotr
 
mkopack73
Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 261
Posted: 06:19pm 29 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  siwypiotr said  Hi Bill

  William Leue said  
...
but no controller joystick, nor can I find a joystick mentioned anywhere else.
...


Joystick does not need to have firmware libraries, this are standard inputs, please try this code:


SETPIN 35, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 36, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 38, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 40, DIN, PULLUP
SETPIN 32, DIN, PULLUP

DO
 IF PIN(35) = 0 THEN PRINT"UP"
 IF PIN(36) = 0 THEN PRINT"DOWN"
 IF PIN(38) = 0 THEN PRINT"LEFT"
 IF PIN(40) = 0 THEN PRINT"RIGHT"
 IF PIN(32) = 0 THEN PRINT"FIRE"
 PAUSE 100
LOOP




  Quote  
Does the controller classic or nunchuk or whatever work when you use an Atari-type joystick?


Yes, all types of controllers can work in the same time, they use different set of pins.


Might be a good idea for a little document explaining all the extra add-on things like this for reference purposes to be put together and available somewhere. Otherwise folks need to know which threads these additions were originally discussed that you then integrated into the Deluxe model...

For example, things specific to the networking (like my question back a page or so), the differences with firmware updating, the DB-9 joystick stuff, the mouse stuff, etc.


Edit: Ok, putting my money where my mouth is... Started putting together a document here. Feel free to add comments with additional information and I'll approve them for insertion... I think I've captured all the pertinent info from this thread in there. I'm just missing the I2C channel number that Nunchuck #2 is connected to...

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1GxLlAIYY49C1VYhqHUMQDsNH0qktKDL4UmRUpln8GmY/edit?usp=sharing
Edited 2020-12-30 05:49 by mkopack73
 
mkopack73
Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 261
Posted: 09:52pm 29 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The spec sheet for the Deluxe lists a "Temp sensor". I assume we access this via the TEMPR() function call. But that call requires a pin number. What pin # is the built in sensor hooked to?
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6220
Posted: 10:51pm 29 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  mkopack73 said  The spec sheet for the Deluxe lists a "Temp sensor". I assume we access this via the TEMPR() function call. But that call requires a pin number. What pin # is the built in sensor hooked to?

Try pin 42.
print tempr(42)
VK7JH
MMedit
 
mkopack73
Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 261
Posted: 10:59pm 29 Dec 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TassyJim said  
  mkopack73 said  The spec sheet for the Deluxe lists a "Temp sensor". I assume we access this via the TEMPR() function call. But that call requires a pin number. What pin # is the built in sensor hooked to?

Try pin 42.
print tempr(42)



Cool. Thanks! Document updated...
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 127
Posted: 08:13pm 04 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post



New Batch of Colour Maximite 2 Deluxe Edition have arrived! Shipment in 24h from order.



https://sklep.pslabs.pl/Maximite-c91

Offer includes:
- Colour Maximite 2 Deluxe Edition
- HobbyTronics mouse host chip (depends from offer You choose)
- ESP WiFi module
- USB A-B cable
- USB A-A cable
- 16GB SD CARD
Edited 2021-01-05 17:24 by siwypiotr
 
elk1984

Senior Member

Joined: 11/07/2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 228
Posted: 07:44pm 07 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  siwypiotr said  
New Batch of Colour Maximite 2 Deluxe Edition have arrived! Shipment in 24h from order.


Hi - any news on your plans for a set of expansion boards for the CMM2?  I'd be especially interested in the Wifi addon module that wasn't in the first gen CMM2 Deluxe.
 
mkopack73
Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 261
Posted: 11:05pm 07 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  elk1984 said  
  siwypiotr said  
New Batch of Colour Maximite 2 Deluxe Edition have arrived! Shipment in 24h from order.


Hi - any news on your plans for a set of expansion boards for the CMM2?  I'd be especially interested in the Wifi addon module that wasn't in the first gen CMM2 Deluxe.


Actually, that's not a bad idea - Maybe a singular add-on board that hooks in via the 40 pin expansion board that adds in the 2nd+3rd Nunchuck, DB9 joystick, wifi and other things that you added to the Deluxe to augment those who bought the original designs but want those features.

Could sell it alongside the deluxe model...
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 127
Posted: 07:24am 08 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  mkopack73 said  
  elk1984 said  
  siwypiotr said  
New Batch of Colour Maximite 2 Deluxe Edition have arrived! Shipment in 24h from order.


Hi - any news on your plans for a set of expansion boards for the CMM2?  I'd be especially interested in the Wifi addon module that wasn't in the first gen CMM2 Deluxe.


Actually, that's not a bad idea - Maybe a singular add-on board that hooks in via the 40 pin expansion board that adds in the 2nd+3rd Nunchuck, DB9 joystick, wifi and other things that you added to the Deluxe to augment those who bought the original designs but want those features.

Could sell it alongside the deluxe model...


Good morning,

Im still working on this, unfortunately Im unable to give it 100% of my time. But it will be done sooner or later. Most probably till end of the month I will have the design ready and order the first test batch.
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 127
Posted: 07:22pm 16 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Having ESP WiFi module in my Maximite Deluxe was a big success. Unfortunately each of my customers wanted different firmware to be flashed on ESP. I can not make everyone happy but I can help them to be happy. You can change ESP firmware Yourself! No additional tools required:

https://youtu.be/inHeLNZdrXQ
 
jirsoft

Guru

Joined: 18/09/2020
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 533
Posted: 04:22pm 17 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I wrote first version of FW for ESP in Maximite Deluxe (or any other CMM2 connected with ESP over serial port):
CMM2ESP
Jiri
Napoleon Commander and SimplEd for CMM2 (GitHub),  CMM2.fun
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1702
Posted: 11:48am 30 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Has anyone with one of these Delux units able to tell me the processor part number on it please? STM32H7.....
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3998
Posted: 11:58am 30 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Same as CMM2.

John
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1702
Posted: 12:09pm 30 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  JohnS said  Same as CMM2.
John

Can't be if it's 480Mhz,? the CMM2 is 400Mhz
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 12:13pm 30 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Can't be if it's 480Mhz,? the CMM2 is 400Mhz


Try reading page 4 (Introduction) of the CMM2 manual
 
     Page 6 of 9    
Print this page
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia.
© JAQ Software 2025