Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 14:18 09 Mar 2021 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Russian deluxe version of the CMM2

     Page 3 of 3    
Author Message
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 102
Posted: 05:02pm 29 Oct 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

USB version of Maximite is working!

Latest version USB controller installation:
https://youtu.be/lRGXsFi5QTs

Latest version USB mouse functionality presentation:
https://youtu.be/Tf0sAGK0CPM

More information available on this thread:
https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?FID=16&TID=13005
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2414
Posted: 05:36am 30 Oct 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi siwypiotr

Do you have the Eeprom for the HT chip? I cant see it in any of your pictures.

Kind Regards

Mick
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 102
Posted: 08:41am 30 Oct 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  bigmik said  Hi siwypiotr

Do you have the Eeprom for the HT chip? I cant see it in any of your pictures.

Kind Regards

Mick


Hi

What do You mean by Eeprom? Eeprom is inside this pic microcontroller:




This microcontroller You have to buy from https://hobbytronics.co.uk/ and it comes flashed with USB firmware.

I have on stock couple pcs and I can sell them together with Maximite
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2414
Posted: 02:21pm 30 Oct 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Siwypiotr,

It is the 24LC02 in this schematic from HT..

Schematic

I have a home built unit with a HobbyTronics SOIC chip..

Without the eeprom the error led is permanently lit (pin 12 is high on the PIC chip).

Whether or not that is really important or not remains to be seen..

I suspect PeterM sets all the settings for the mode that the HT chip is going to be used in so maybe it is superfluous....

Regards,

MICK
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 102
Posted: 03:02pm 30 Oct 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  bigmik said  Hi Siwypiotr,

Whether or not that is really important or not remains to be seen..

I suspect PeterM sets all the settings for the mode that the HT chip is going to be used in so maybe it is superfluous....

MICK


I used minimal schematic for my design:
https://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/datasheets/usb-host-v2-basic-IC.pdf

If You look closer on HT web page:
https://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/usb-host-dip

You will find that:
  Quote  The EEprom on the USB Host Board is not needed for normal functionality. All settings will be stored in flash memory on the chip itself if the eeprom is not detected. The reason for the eeprom on the board is that the flash memory is erased when new firmware is uploaded, so settings will be lost (the settings will go back to defaults). The eeprom on the board avoids this.


That is why in my opinion eeprom is absolutely not needed.
Edited 2020-10-31 01:02 by siwypiotr
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2414
Posted: 06:09am 01 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi siwypiotr,

That is a good find about not really needing the Eeprom..

I have two new PCBs in DHL's hands coming down under to me. I did cater for the EEprom to be installed and have added the ERROR LED..  I can put in the instruction manual that these are optional and dont need to be installed.

Honestly reading the link you found I dont see the point in having the Eeprom, why save settings for say a MOUSE and then flash say a KEYBOARD code in? The settings would not in most case make much sense.

Anyway Good job on your design you are really doing well there.. Keep it up


Kind Regards

Mick
Edited 2020-11-01 16:10 by bigmik
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 102
Posted: 09:04pm 02 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  bigmik said  
Anyway Good job on your design you are really doing well there.. Keep it up
Mick


Thank You for kind words. My newest version will have WiFi support, there will be socket for ESP module. Available in aprox. 10 days.
 
gob333
Newbie

Joined: 31/10/2020
Location: France
Posts: 2
Posted: 01:33pm 03 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ok some criticism now:

Why 3 + 1 joystick sockets when 2 + 2 would have made more sense ?

Is the external GPIO connector pin compatible with the Raspberry Pi?
With the release of the Pi 400, it would be better to be compatible with its future external extensions on this port and to put the Maximite GPIO internally.

No HDMI output or standard USB 3.0 sockets like the Pi 400.

The Chinese manufacture many STM32H742x and STM32H743x development boards which are filled with all possible interfaces on STM32, much more complete than the Maximite 2: example
Edited 2020-11-03 23:43 by gob333
 
MauroXavier
Senior Member

Joined: 06/03/2016
Location: Brazil
Posts: 268
Posted: 02:04pm 03 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  gob333 said  Ok some criticism now:

Why 3 + 1 joystick sockets when 2 + 2 would have made more sense ?

Is the external GPIO connector pin compatible with the Raspberry Pi?
With the release of the Pi 400, it would be better to be compatible with its future external extensions on this port and to put the Maximite GPIO internally.

No HDMI output or standard USB 3.0 sockets like the Pi 400.


I could be wrong, but I believe that isn't the focus of the Colour Maximite 2 to be a Raspberry Pi competitor.

At least for me, I don't even see it as a competitor, as I had many versions of Raspberry and none of them got me the "retro-feeling" that CMM2 gives.
 
gob333
Newbie

Joined: 31/10/2020
Location: France
Posts: 2
Posted: 02:21pm 03 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You can have your "retro-feeling" and also be compatible with Pi extensions to profit with without reinventing the wheel.
Think this is why SiwyPiotr added the internal GPIO.
I see the Pi 400 as a modern equivalent to the ZX81 and look at how many external extensions were made for the ZX81.
Edited 2020-11-04 00:28 by gob333
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4644
Posted: 02:39pm 03 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Ok some criticism now:


It is good of you to join the forum and immediately start trying to change things. There are more than 2000 CMM2 now made and working. The basic design is not going to change. If you read some of the historical posts you will see things like HDMI have been discussed repeatedly and, for good reason, will not be implemnted. If you have a CMM2 why not start using it instead of rehashing old discussions
 
jirsoft

Guru

Joined: 18/09/2020
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 331
Posted: 02:39pm 03 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have to agree with Mauro Xavier, this 2 "computers" have maybe common just GPIO and CPU.
As I like and use RPi very much, it boots  longer and then you have complete OS with all advantages but also overheads (maybe with exception of boot to RISC OS which is still for me as previous Acorn Archimedes owner nice mix between modern OS and bare metal). And I couldn't see many bare metal projects for it, on CMM2 you boot directly to BASIC...
Have a smooth day, Jiri
Napoleon Commander and SimplEd  for CMM2 (GitHub), CMM2.fun
 
elk1984

Senior Member

Joined: 11/07/2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 205
Posted: 07:45pm 03 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  gob333 said  You can have your "retro-feeling" and also be compatible with Pi extensions to profit with without reinventing the wheel.
Think this is why SiwyPiotr added the internal GPIO.
I see the Pi 400 as a modern equivalent to the ZX81 and look at how many external extensions were made for the ZX81.


The Pi 400 is a long, long way away from a ZX81.  There's a whole OS between the Pi and the hardware - not so with any Boot to Basic machine.  If that's not the attraction, then there are cheaper more widely produced, but also rather more generic and anonymous single board computers out there.
 
elk1984

Senior Member

Joined: 11/07/2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 205
Posted: 11:42am 04 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post



New toy!  The A-B cable, power adapter and SD card were unexpected bonuses - thanks siwypiotr!
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 102
Posted: 12:07pm 04 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  elk1984 said  

New toy!  The A-B cable, power adapter and SD card were unexpected bonuses - thanks siwypiotr!


Im very happy that You received my unit. Have a lot of fun, and if You have any questions please email me.

By the way, what is "stream deck" on the top?
 
elk1984

Senior Member

Joined: 11/07/2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 205
Posted: 02:46pm 04 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  siwypiotr said  By the way, what is "stream deck" on the top?


Another toy, programmable with LCD button faces for macros etc. hooked up to my PC.
https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck


Made for streamers, but not exclusively so. Good for gaming, as an app launcher etc.
 
mclout999
Senior Member

Joined: 05/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 285
Posted: 05:41pm 04 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  elk1984 said  
  siwypiotr said  By the way, what is "stream deck" on the top?


Another toy, programmable with LCD button faces for macros etc. hooked up to my PC.
https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck


Made for streamers, but not exclusively so. Good for gaming, as an app launcher etc.
You have a dead link there!
 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1341
Posted: 06:04pm 04 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
elk1984

Senior Member

Joined: 11/07/2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 205
Posted: 07:38pm 04 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  CircuitGizmos said  https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/stream-deck


Thanks! I managed to stick a line break in the URL  
 
siwypiotr

Senior Member

Joined: 18/08/2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 102
Posted: 06:46pm 13 Nov 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have been busy building latest version of Maximite Deluxe with build in WiFi support. Im happy to announce that it is working without any problems. Thanks to power line filtering next to the module there is no power drop issues:

https://youtu.be/NcFPdyanlXw

My web page is:
https://sklep.pslabs.pl/Elektronika-c86/s_lang/en

From Tuesday I will start shipping units with WiFi.
 
     Page 3 of 3    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2021