Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 12:04 06 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite/PicoMiteVGA/WebMite V5.07.07 release candidates

     Page 1 of 13    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 08:05am 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.07RC1

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Note rename of PicoMiteWeb to WebMite in preparation for magazine articles

Fixes bug in PLAY SOUND when switching from B to L or R
Implements PLAY FLAC - same as PLAY WAV but for FLAC files

I did have one more go at mp3 but the m0+ core just can't hack it

Known issues:
There is something strange with DATA/READ statements in the Library. This is with Gerry for further investigation and will be sorted or the limitations documented before final release
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 11:06am 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.07RC2

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Bug in DATA/READ in library now fixed - thanks Gerry
Now works like MM2
  Quote  You can use READ commands in the library but they will default to reading DATA statements in the
main program memory. If you want to read from DATA statements in the library you must use the
RESTORE command before the first READ command. This will reset the pointer to the library space.


Change to using a MCP48n2 DAC for audio output
OPTION AUDIO SPI CSpin, CLKpin, SDIpin
Tie LDAC to GND
This saves a pin and with a tweak to timing is now working
Minor tweaks to PLAY WAV and PLAY FLAC to avoid unnecessary extra interrupts
 
okwatts
Regular Member

Joined: 27/09/2022
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Posted: 05:11pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

IN reference to an oddity that I noticed between different versions(Picomite vs Webmite) in beta34, this still exists in RC2.
picocom v3.1

port is        : /dev/ttyACM1
flowcontrol    : none
baudrate is    : 115200
parity is      : none
databits are   : 8
stopbits are   : 1
escape is      : C-a
local echo is  : no
noinit is      : no
noreset is     : no
hangup is      : no
nolock is      : no
send_cmd is    : sx -vv
receive_cmd is : rx -vv
imap is        :
omap is        :
emap is        : crcrlf,delbs,
logfile is     : none
initstring     : none
exit_after is  : not set
exit is        : no

Type [C-a] [C-h] to see available commands
Terminal ready

> option list
PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.07RC2
OPTION FLASH SIZE 16777216
> xmodem receive

*** file: mmandel2.bas
$ sx -vv mmandel2.bas
Sending mmandel2.bas, 9 blocks: Give your local XMODEM receive command now.
Xmodem sectors/kbytes sent:   0/ 0kRetry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: Retry Count Exceeded

Transfer incomplete

*** exit status: 128 ***
Error : Remote did not respond
>
> files
A:/
  <DIR>  .
  <DIR>  ..
00:00 01-01-2000          4  bootcount
2 directories, 1 file
> memory
Program:
  0K ( 0%) Program (0 lines)
128K (100%) Free

Saved Variables:
 16K (100%) Free

RAM:
  0K ( 0%) 0 Variables
  0K ( 0%) General
156K (100%) Free
>
picocom v3.1

port is        : /dev/ttyACM0
flowcontrol    : none
baudrate is    : 115200
parity is      : none
databits are   : 8
stopbits are   : 1
escape is      : C-a
local echo is  : no
noinit is      : no
noreset is     : no
hangup is      : no
nolock is      : no
send_cmd is    : sx -vv
receive_cmd is : rx -vv
imap is        :
omap is        :
emap is        : crcrlf,delbs,
logfile is     : none
initstring     : none
exit_after is  : not set
exit is        : no

Type [C-a] [C-h] to see available commands
Terminal ready

> option list
PicoMiteWEB MMBasic Version 5.07.07RC2
> xmodem receive

*** file: mmandel2.bas
$ sx -vv mmandel2.bas
Sending mmandel2.bas, 9 blocks: Give your local XMODEM receive command now.
Xmodem sectors/kbytes sent:   0/ 0kRetry 0: NAK on sector
Retry 0: NAK on sector
Bytes Sent:   1152   BPS:62898                          

Transfer complete

*** exit status: 0 ***
Saved 1137 bytes
>
> files
A:/
  <DIR>  .
  <DIR>  ..
00:00 01-01-2000          4  bootcount
2 directories, 1 file
> memory
Program:
  1K ( 1%) Program (46 lines)
 79K (99%) Free

Saved Variables:
 16K (100%) Free

RAM:
  0K ( 0%) 0 Variables
  0K ( 0%) General
106K (100%) Free
>




Is it just me or have others noted this.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 05:32pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is correct
XMODEM R loads the program into memory

MMEDIT uses
XMODEM R fname$

which saves the file to the A: drive unless otherwise specified in fname$

This is all explained in the manual
 
JanVolk
Regular Member

Joined: 28/01/2023
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 100
Posted: 08:49pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,

Thanks for the hard work and the wonderful version and now running on 4 of my systems with the latest versions and no problems seen yet.

Now to update the manual, everything has been translated into Dutch and is already over 375 pages and is only for the standard PicoMite.
Haven't worked with the PicoMiteVGA yet, but collected the hardware and have been working on the PicoMiteWeb version and it also runs fine, but still a lot to learn.

Jan.
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5914
Posted: 09:27pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Webmite new name has not filtered through to the option list etc

> OPTION LIST
PicoMiteWEB MMBasic Version 5.07.07RC2
> print mm.device$
PicoMiteWeb
>


(Just to show I am awake)

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 09:41pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim - I've updated the download - still RC2
 
okwatts
Regular Member

Joined: 27/09/2022
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Posted: 09:55pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It maybe that I am not understanding but the xmodem receive used to work for version 5.07.06, it did not save to the flash but it did reside in "memory" and could be listed as in the webmite instance but this is not the case for the Picomite version in RC2. I have not checked with PicomiteVGA to see which way it behaves.
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5914
Posted: 10:07pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

XMODEM RECEIVE works as usual here on my 'standard' picomite


>
Processing file: C:\Users\Jim\Documents\myapps\maximite\apps - Copy\desk_clock.bas

>
2 directories, 1 file
Blocks: 4
XMODEM RECEIVE "desk_clock.bas"
Transfer completed OK!
Finished
2 directories, 2 files

>


MMEdit uses AUTOSAVE to save to active program memory (much quicker) so I haven't tested that.

Jim
Edited 2023-04-05 08:07 by TassyJim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
okwatts
Regular Member

Joined: 27/09/2022
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Posted: 10:58pm 04 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Perhaps it's a linux thing using picocom and the sx protocol but it does work for WebMite but not PicoMite and PicoMiteVGA (just checked that). In the last two instances xmodem fails but if I include the filename the file is created but is empty. For these last cases it did work as advertised in 5.7.06
Mysteries I guess, but if I use MMedit on linux it does work. Not knowing the source and what may have changed between versions I can only report my experience.

EDIT
Okay it does appear that in linux with my setup there is an issue that wasn't apparent before. I just tried in Teraterm on WIn 10 and it works fine! Let that be a lesson to me.
Edited 2023-04-05 09:29 by okwatts
 
robert.rozee
Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2290
Posted: 12:51am 05 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  okwatts said  Perhaps it's a linux thing [...] Mysteries I guess


try:

sudo apt-get remove modemmanager

modemmanager is a most hateful package that has no place on a modern linux computer. it handles automatic configuration of an AT compatible dialup modem plugged into a serial port, which is something almost nobody uses any more. it also sometimes 'messes' with serial port traffic when trying to decide if a modem is there.


cheers,
rob   :-),
Edited 2023-04-05 10:53 by robert.rozee
 
homa

Senior Member

Joined: 05/11/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 242
Posted: 06:06am 06 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello Peter.

First, thanks for the new release candidates!  
I was most happy about the new FLAC support. Also that now for a DAC was decided. Order to rebuild is already out.


What I do not understand now is the new naming or renaming?

PicoMite/PicoMiteVGA/WebMite

  matherp said  
Note rename of PicoMiteWeb to WebMite in preparation for magazine articles


The basic name PicoMite with the additions VGA or WEB are ideal to differentiate. Nevertheless, the platform for the microcontroller "Raspberry Pi Pico (W)" becomes clear by the naming.

WebMite does not do this in my opinion!

And google once for "picomite" ... it comes then also the suitable suggestions!



But it is of course your and Geoff his decision. And I will live with it :-) But a meaningful public relations should be logical and long-term.

By the way in the German make it was tagged with Webserver on PicoMite

Matthias
 
homa

Senior Member

Joined: 05/11/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 242
Posted: 03:48pm 08 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There is a problem with the cursor on the VGA display in Edit mode. In the case of New, it does not appear or only appears when lines of commands have been entered. Then the cursor reappears in between. It is displayed in the terminal, but slips when it is displayed in the line. Especially at the end of the source...


> option list
PicoMiteVGA MMBasic Version 5.07.07RC2
OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP14,GP15
OPTION COLOURCODE ON
OPTION KEYBOARD GR
OPTION SDCARD GP13, GP10, GP11, GP12
OPTION AUDIO GP4,GP5, ON PWM CHANNEL 2
>

 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 04:24pm 08 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  There is a problem with the cursor on the VGA display in Edit mode.


Thanks for the report - will fix
 
homa

Senior Member

Joined: 05/11/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 242
Posted: 07:50pm 08 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Found another error:


Keyword: colour defects
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 09:37pm 08 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That is correct. Colouring only happens for defined commands and functions. Pause happens to be a valid command. Resume isn't
 
aFox
Regular Member

Joined: 28/02/2023
Location: Germany
Posts: 73
Posted: 10:55pm 08 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  homa said  Hello Peter.

First, thanks for the new release candidates!  
I was most happy about the new FLAC support. Also that now for a DAC was decided. Order to rebuild is already out.


What I do not understand now is the new naming or renaming?

PicoMite/PicoMiteVGA/WebMite

  matherp said  
Note rename of PicoMiteWeb to WebMite in preparation for magazine articles


The basic name PicoMite with the additions VGA or WEB are ideal to differentiate. Nevertheless, the platform for the microcontroller "Raspberry Pi Pico (W)" becomes clear by the naming.

WebMite does not do this in my opinion!

And google once for "picomite" ... it comes then also the suitable suggestions!



But it is of course your and Geoff his decision. And I will live with it :-) But a meaningful public relations should be logical and long-term.

By the way in the German make it was tagged with Webserver on PicoMite

Matthias


I agree with Matthias.

WebMite sounds like a fork of PicoMite but it is only a different version.
The link to the Pico is lost also.

Gregor
Edited 2023-04-09 08:56 by aFox
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Posted: 12:08am 09 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I feel the same. WebMite has lost the Pico... This is not good for a search engine and since every iteration is somehow linked to the "Pico" word it indeed makes sense.

But just my opinion :) Maybe there is a good reason for that?

Greetings
Daniel
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8592
Posted: 09:50am 09 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.07RC3

https://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

WARNING: This version will erase all options and flash memory but NOT flash files

Fixes bug in editor in VGA version not showing cursor
Enhancements to WEB SCAN:
 Duplicates no longer shown
 WEB SCAN [array%()]
 Optionally sends the output to a long string
TRACE command is now Library aware. The test for the Library is corrected when TRACE ON is applied, for TRACE LIST, [Lib] is shown for the line number in the library.
LIBRARY command can now be use in compound statements allowing better use in programmable functions
 
Andrew_G
Guru

Joined: 18/10/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 842
Posted: 11:00am 09 Apr 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Peter!

Cheers,

Andrew
 
     Page 1 of 13    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024