Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 22:33 03 Dec 2021 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite V5.07.01 betas

     Page 1 of 4    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 10:23am 30 Oct 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

http://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

V5.07.01b1
Fixed Bug in epoch function which changed date$.
Changed maximum WS2812 LEDs to 256
MM.INFO(pinno GPnn) implemented to give physical pin number for a given GP number
 
robscott
Newbie

Joined: 20/10/2021
Location: United States
Posts: 22
Posted: 02:03pm 30 Oct 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

All tested , works as advertised  

Thanks Again

Rob
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 02:43pm 31 Oct 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

http://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Implements a logarithmic scale for the volume control so that PLAY VOLUME 50,50 should sound half as loud as 100,100
Also applies to PLAY SOUND n, ch, type, freq [,vol]

Must also do this for the CMM2
 
wolfme
Newbie

Joined: 26/10/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Posted: 06:20pm 31 Oct 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks very much!
I noticed the epoch bug earlier and now already fixed...

Wolfgang
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 06:44pm 31 Oct 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hmmm... so now I'll need an antilog table if I feel the urge to use a 'mite as a signal generator with calibrated output voltage...   ;)
Edited 2021-11-01 04:45 by Mixtel90
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1487
Posted: 08:22pm 31 Oct 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  Hmmm... so now I'll need an antilog table if I feel the urge to use a 'mite as a signal generator with calibrated output voltage...   ;)

Why?
it's only the sound output that's been changed to log, as per radio colume controls
normal functions should still be linear
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 07:31am 01 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Because, with a log function, you couldn't easily set fixed outputs of, say, 100mV, 300mV and 500mV. 1V doesn't sound twice as loud as 500mV. This is only of interest for audio test signal generation, where you are more interested in the signal level than its apparent volume. Your ears have a logarithmic level response (hence log volume controls), devices under test rarely are (even when you want them to be!). PLAY SOUND is of interest because it produces useful waveforms.

TBH, it's probably of very little interest really. Far more people will be interested in "double the number to make it twice as loud" than are interested in audio signal generation. :)  In any case, the output from the 'mites is unlikely to be clean enough (at low levels) because of the computer "hash" noise on the signal. That means filters, those mean non-linearity.
Edited 2021-11-01 17:47 by Mixtel90
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 07:48am 01 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Because, with a log function, you couldn't easily set fixed outputs of, say, 100mV, 300mV and 500mV.


PWM ?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 07:53am 01 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

And add more noise to the signal?  ;)

It's not really an issue. It was just an alternative view. If I wanted a few fixed level outputs that's easy - just put the scope on and set up a table of values for the levels I want.
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 08:24am 02 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

http://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Fixes bug in SETPIN pinno,IR
Fixes bug in parameters following subcommands/sub-functions that are enclosed in brackets e.g. POKE WORD (anything),anything or ? PEEK(WORD (anytthing))
Allows variables or string literals in the SOUND command for both the channel and sound type. The original syntax is still also allowed
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 08:38am 02 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yay!  
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 03:41pm 02 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.01b4

YOU MUST EXECUTE OPTION RESET BEFORE LOADING THIS VERSION

http://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

Implements the option of using a standard uart as the console

OPTION SERIAL CONSOLE uartapin, uartbpin


uartapin and uartbpin can be any valid pair of rx and tx pins for either com1 (uart0) or com2( uart1). The order you specify them is not important

Use

OPTION SERIAL CONSOLE DISABLE


to revert to normal the USB console
Edited 2021-11-03 01:42 by matherp
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 1786
Posted: 04:34pm 02 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Implements the option of using a standard uart as the console


Well ok.



Though I'm not exactly sure where I would go next with this.

(Better put a note on this to remind me that it's on UART console; otherwise I'll be befuddled if I try to access it through USB.)
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1196
Posted: 04:40pm 02 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well, the next stage is probably to connect it to Geoff's VT100 terminal. :)
-- Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
 
bigfix
Regular Member

Joined: 20/02/2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 100
Posted: 04:57pm 02 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Or use ESPterm on a ESP8266 and get a WEB interface to any browser

ESPterm on Backshed

I cannot test it as I am refurbing some rooms and my parts are boxed up somewhere...
Edited 2021-11-03 03:00 by bigfix
 
karlelch
Newbie

Joined: 30/10/2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Posted: 05:42pm 02 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Very cool!
Now I can program via a simple bluetooth link using two HC-05 modules :-)


 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 11:38am 03 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.01b5

YOU MUST EXECUTE OPTION RESET BEFORE LOADING THIS VERSION IF PREVIOUSLY USING LESS THAN b4

http://geoffg.net/Downloads/picomite/PicoMite_Beta.zip

This is a re-compile using the latest sdk. Please report any issues
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 1786
Posted: 11:56am 03 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Out of curiosity, how much firmware flash space remains available on the PicoMite, and how much has been used?
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 12:03pm 03 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

478K out of 1024K
 
Calli
Newbie

Joined: 20/10/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
Posted: 02:55pm 03 Nov 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  karlelch said  Very cool!
Now I can program via a simple bluetooth link using two HC-05 modules :-)


That sensor array is impressive!

Greets from the evil twin:



I have few time at my hands these days, but... SOME DAY...

atm there is a Tiny RP2040 in there, time to test PicoMite on it.

Carsten
 
     Page 1 of 4    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2021