![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite Alpha Firmware - a27 onwards - starting on displays
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7458 |
I found this: https://github.com/Bodmer/TFT_eSPI/discussions/898 It *might* be possible to make the MISO signal work correctly by shorting out a diode. I've never tried this, just did a search. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9992 |
I just removed the pin from the display - same effect Different display, the ILI9488 doesn't have the diode it is the controller itself that is faulty |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3298 |
I'm having trouble with GUI CALIBRATE on my setup. I get the target, but no response to touching it. Here's my option setup. PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.00a37 Copyright 2011-2021 Geoff Graham Copyright 2016-2021 Peter Mather >option list OPTION SDCARD GP5, 10 OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP2,GP3,GP4 OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP10,GP11 OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9341, LANDSCAPE,GP20,GP19,GP18 OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLED OPTION GUI CONTROLS 59 OPTION MEMORY 60160, 100608 OPTION TOUCH GP22,GP21 I also tried with a ILI9488, MISO pin snipped from the LCD. I triple-checked the wires, re-touched with the soldering iron, and finally checked for continuity with the Pico plugged in (I know there's a risk) not powered, and I have continuity between Pico pin 29, GP22 and T_IRQ, and between Pico pin 27, GP21 and T_CS. Checked again for pin to pin continuity with the LCD plugged in--both good. I also checked for continuity between pins adjacent to T_IRQ and T_CS on both the LDC header and the PicoMite header--no unwanted connection there. What else should I check for? ~ Edited 2021-06-26 01:16 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7458 |
OOPS! Sorry if I raised hopes... :( Just going to install a37. It appears to be a thing of beauty. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9992 |
a38 PicomiteV5.07.00a38.zip This now supports setpin n, FIN, PIN, and CIN To use these you need to set up the pins that will be used for counting OPTION COUNT pin1, pin2, pin3, pin4 After an option reset or on a new Picomite these will be set to GP6, GP7, GP8, and GP9 If you load A38 to an existing PicoMite you will need to execute the option command So you can now have up to 4 counting pins and an IR pin with complete flexibility of pin usage In addition a38 now supports VAR SAVE, VAR RESTORE and VAR CLEAR. The area available for variable storage is 16Kbytes With a38 most of the key functionality is now implemented other than things I've forgotten. I haven't implemented the keypad or the character LCD commands as these are easy to do in Basic. Any thoughts on this? I'm trying to save command and function slots for future expansion. There is no limit on firmware flash usage at the moment |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7458 |
Hmmm... a37 and ILI9341 Can't get the thing to play now. If I try GUI CALIBRATE I get the screen, but on the first touch I get multiple "ERROR: Touch not calibrated" messages. Also, it's killing SD card access. If I disable Touch by disconnecting T_CS and fitting a pullup resistor then everything is fine. If I try to disable it with OPTION TOUCH DISABLE it doesn't help. I'm still experimenting as this is on a breadboard - checking wiring. I had it working last night with a36 though. I've just tested the display with a Micromite backpack and it's still working ok with touch. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9992 |
Start with OPTION RESET and FLASH ERASE ALL then set up afresh |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7458 |
Did that & VAR CLEAR then a power cycle. > option system spi 4,5,1 > option sdcard 2,15 > files Error : SD Card not found > Tried a power cycle, same result. Disabled touch with 10k pullup & files works. Re-enabled Touch and SD card is dead again. :( I've not attempted to set up either the LCD or Touch at this point, merely connect the T_CS pin. If I initialise the display I can print to it, so that's working. SD card is still working. Edited 2021-06-26 03:46 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3298 |
I'd still like to see FLASH WRITE # "filename.bas" for programmatically moving programs from SD card to flash. It looks as if with OPTION SYSTEM I2C #,# "I2C" and "I2C1" are the valid I2C commands. Since I2C1 was not valid on other platforms, would it be possible for I2C2 to be an alias for I2C1 (perhaps with preprocessing so as not to take up a token slot)? Can BLIT buffers be cleared on program startup? Also, BLIT LOAD # "file.bmp" would allow tile images to be moved into the BLIT buffers on the ILI9488. If "There is no limit on firmware flash usage at the moment", would it be possible to add in the keyboard code and (asking a lot here, I know), OPTION LCDPANEL CONSOLE. Since the PicoMite is in many ways a more capable MM+, having this functionality would be consistent with past usage. The 480x320 ILI9488 would provide a decent screen, even if scrolling would be slow over SPI. This could make a quite inexpensive standalone Basic computer. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
thwill![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4240 |
If that is something we can have then could you please support the filename being provided from a string variable and not just a hard-coded string. Any chance of an OPTION F11|F12 so that with one keystroke we can jump to a menu or shell program from the BASIC command-line ? Best wishes, Tom Edited 2021-06-26 05:13 by thwill MMBasic for Linux, Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4811 |
Touch not working, maybe try sd card and spi lower speed. It is possible the touch controller cannot keep up with the clock, even when not selected. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7458 |
The annoying thing is that it was working last night! I ran a little LCD/Touch test program on it that I wrote on the Micromite. I've just rewired the display module to tidy up the wiring a lot. Having Touch connected isn't preventing the SD card from working now. Calibrate is still failing with multiple "ERROR: Touch not calibrated" messages on the first touch though. > option list OPTION CPUSPEED (KHz) 250000 OPTION SDCARD GP1, 15 OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP2,GP3,GP0 OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP20,GP21 OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9341, RLANDSCAPE,GP15,GP14,GP13 OPTION RTC AUTO ENABLED OPTION TOUCH GP12,GP11 > > gui calibrate Error : Touch not calibrated > Error : Touch not calibrated > Error : Touch not calibrated > Error : Touch not calibrated > Error : Touch not calibrated > It's certainly detecting the touch, but it's not doing the right thing with it by the looks of things. I'll dig a cap out for the 5v rail and see if that helps. Edited 2021-06-26 05:34 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Plasmamac![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 31/01/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 570 |
hi; iam totaly confused atm . can anyone schow me how to wire an ili9341 to the pico and a small demo ? thx Plasma |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
Hello, what is the max Baudrate for the Terminal? Is there autobaud mechanism? How to import code in the editor? Cut and paste doesn't work with teraterm. THX |
||||
Plasmamac![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 31/01/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 570 |
paste works in teraterm , change the serial port transmit delay several baud rate are ok so i guess its autobaud Plasma |
||||
TrevorC Newbie ![]() Joined: 15/07/2020 Location: United KingdomPosts: 14 |
Hi, I am also having problems with gui calibrate with picomite a37 and a38. I get the screen, but on the first touch I get multiple "ERROR: Touch not calibrated" There is no problem with a36. |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7458 |
@Plasmamac Even more confusing because there's no one "right" way. :) I'd recommend that you have a look on Geoff's site to get some information (manuals) on the MicroMite+ and have a read. In function it's quite similar. https://geoffg.net/MicromiteMX470.html Also look at the circuit of the Micromite LCD Backpack - link on the same page. The manuals and this circuit detail how the display is connected. OPTION LCDPANEL defines which pins will be used for the display. OPTION TOUCH defines the pins used for the touch screen function. These are documented in the manuals and briefly in the PicoMite.docs file that I keep updating. Eventually there'll probably be a specific PicoMite manual, but not until it's out of alpha. @atmega8 My PicoMites default to 230400,8,N,1 with no flow control. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3298 |
Copy and then right click works to paste. Alt+V also works to paste. In TeraTerm, after mouse-sweeping to select, Alt+C works to copy without the effects of Ctrl+C. PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7458 |
Sounds similar. I've not tried a38 yet so I don't know what effect that would have. Now I've rewired I'll put a36 back on. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
lizby Guru ![]() Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3298 |
How are people wiring the LED (backlight) pin on their ili9341s? PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |